We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This was my second stay at the Excelsior Vitoria and it was even better than the first. My husband, daughter and I stayed for 4 nights July 2 - 5th on our trip through Italy. We had a beautiful suite with a fabulous balcony and amazing view. The staff is wonderful! We arrived mid day and our room wasn't ready. The check in staff made accommodations for a small room so we could change and go to the pool. Everything is lovely, from the gardens to the pool, location and restaurants all wonderful. First class staff - greetings by name, very accommodating. I highly recommend this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: recommend a room with a full balcony worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank PattyDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2015

Dear Patty,
Thank you for your beautiful review and the loyalty!
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated all our services especially our Staff. I will be pleased to share your wonderful comments with the entire team!
If you'd like to stay updated with the Excelsior Vittoria events and news, please follow us on Facebook and Twitter.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Sincerely
Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

665 - 671 of 1,427 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

My family and I have just come back from a 25 days trip in Italy. Sorrento was our first stop and Excelsior Vittoria was a big plus of our trip.
The suite was amazing! Huge, very clean, great amenities with an amazing view. The service was also great and the price really good for Italy.
One night we had dinner at the hotel's restaurant and it was also incredible. Breakfast was included with our suite and it was great in a mixture of American and European.
I fell in love with Sorrento and hope to come back and stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Isabelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your beautiful review!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed our property and appreciated every aspect of it, the location, the suite, and our restaurants.
We hope to welcome you and your family back soon to the Excelsior Vittoria
Sincerely
Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria for 4 nights, and was the perfect way to kick off our 14 night "Grand Tour" of Italy. From check-in to check-out the hotel staff was exceptional. We had a beautiful junior suite with views of the Bay of Naples and the spectacular gardens. The terrace was wonderful to have a late afternoon cocktail and take in the wonderful sunsets with Mount Vesuvius across the Bay. Food at both the restaurant by the pool and the main restaurant were fabulous. They were very accomdating, and made certain that even my picky daughter, she went away very satisfied (and even got her to try a few new things).

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kcady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for publishing your kind review!
We are happy that you and your daughter had a memorable experience here at the Excelsior Vittoria and that you fully appreciated our location and services. We hope that you still keep these pleasant memories and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon in the nearer future!
Sincerely
Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here from July 03-09 2014 at the end of our cruise. It is a beautiful hotel right in the middle of the square in Sorrento, so if you want to go out at night (or daytime) you are in the middle of everything. One of our rooms over looked the marina, which was lovely to see the hussle and bussle of everyday life there. We had a wonderful view of Mount Vesuvius too. The grounds are wonderful, beautiful trees and plants with a gorgeous walk up to the hotel. It really is worth the extra. The staff couldn't do enough for us. The breakfast buffet was magnificent with a huge choice for everyone. Pool area was lovely and relaxing. Loved watching the seagulls dropping in for a quick swim, very entertaining!. There is a kids area, swings, football pitch. We were travelling with our disabled child and everybody went out of their way to help us with her. All in all a beautiful hotel with stunning views.

Room Tip: We had both a garden view room and a connecting sea view room. By far the sea view is the better ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 310Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2015

Dear Guests,
thank you for your kind review!
We are happy to learn that you had a wonderful experience with your family here at the Excelsior Vittoria. Above all, we are proud that our staff was so helpful, and this made the difference.
If you plan to visit Italy again, we’ll be honored to welcome you back to our hotel!
Warm regards
Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria for the final 2 nights of our honeymoon, and it was the perfect way to finish what had been an already wonderful time.

The hotel is located off Piazza Tasso and as soon as you walk down the driveway to the hotel, you know you are somewhere special! We arrived at the hotel entrance to be met by the concierge who knew exactly who we were, and offered us a very warm welcome to the hotel. We were then taken to reception where we were treated like movie stars before being given a tour of the hotel ending at our suite. When we entered our suite, I think both of our jaws dropped at just how beautiful the room was, and it got even better when we went out to our terrace (which was huge!) and saw the view across the Bay of Naples - it was absolutely breathtaking!

We booked a table at Bosquet for dinner on our first evening and it was quite simply the best meal we've ever had! And the view from the terrace was equally as amazing! The staff were exceptional, the food was exceptional and if you are staying at the hotel then you simply have to visit the restaurant!!

We'd had a busy trip so had decided to make the most of being at the hotel and relaxing by the pool was perfect, the pool was so nice and incredibly inviting with the temperatures soaring. We had lunch at the snack bar, but this was no snack bar - it was just amazing!! And again, the service was first class!!

We had breakfast on both mornings, and even if you're not hungry, the room is worth going to see because of its beauty!! But the breakfast buffet is certainly worth going for because of the huge choice and it was all delicious!!

Overall, if you're going to Sorrento then this is the place to stay!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SteveHibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2015

Dear Steven,

thank you for your beautiful and detailed review!
We are honored that you chose the Excelsior Vittoria to complete your honeymoon trip. We rejoice even more to have exceeded your expectations.
We hope that these lovely memories will bring you back to our hotel in the nearer future… to celebrate your anniversary or just to have the pleasure to relax again in this atmosphere.

Warm regards
Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed in the Hotel Excelsior Vittoria in May for two weeks. We had a junior suite (room 248) which was very spacious, beautifully furnished with incredible views over the Bay of Naples. It had a very large terrace complete with sun loungers, chairs, table and an electrically operated sun awning. The hotel is very impressive and full of history. The list of past guests is amazing.

The hotel is located off Piazza Tasso and the contrast between the bustle and chaos of the square and the calm of the hotel's beautiful gardens is incredible. The swimming pool is large but we found it too cold to enjoy.

The service in the breakfast room was excellent and we enjoyed the recitals by the pianist during breakfast. The service, food and atmosphere in the Michelin starred Bosquet restaurant were impeccable. On one of our three visits to the Bosquet we dined on the restaurants private outside terrace and watched the sun set during our meal. First Class!

The service in the main restaurant was very good although on one occasion several large groups were also eating there (I presume they were tour groups) and the service did suffer. However our complaint was addressed and we received a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine and chocolate coated strawberries together with a personal apology from the manager. This was a minor slip and we found the service generally to be excellent and the staff very friendly.

The area in and around Sorrento is picturesque and there are many fabulous places to visit. We came to Sorrento on our very first holiday abroad and have always promised to return. The hotel made our second trip very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank seamoon24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2015

Dear guests,
thank you for your detailed review!
We’re pleased that you enjoyed your holiday here at the Excelsior Vittoria and that you appreciated so much the hotel location, your suite, and our restaurants services.
Our aim is making guests feel both unique and welcome like being at home. So we rejoice reading your feedback.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you for the third time at the Excelsior Vittoria.
Warm regards
Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed here only 2 nights, between London and Positano - specifically to visit Vesuvius and Pompeii, and wished we had stayed longer. GHEV is, quite literally, an oasis. It is built on a cliff overlooking the Bay of Naples and we booked the Dalla Suite and connecting room for our family of 5, specifically because of the huge terrace and dead-on view of Vesuvius. It is a very historic property - 180 years old - but very well maintained. Have a drink on the terrace and you will feel like an emperor. Importantly, the hotel has beautiful and spacious grounds, which is amazing given it fronts on the main piazza of Sorrento. Literally you go from the lush and cosseted environs of the hotel onto the frenetic town square - the best of both worlds: central location plus peace & serenity. Also incongruous is the very modern pool and spa, which was in keeping with a 5-Star resort not typically found in "city" centers. We could have easily spent an extra few days exploring in the morning and then lounging by the pool in the afternoon. Come for the view & location, stay for the grounds and pool. Our 2 night stay was too short - would recommend at least 3-4.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank ARationalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2015

Dear Ken,
thank you for your kind review!
We are happy that you enjoyed our property so much. Our family run the Excelsior Vittoria for five generations, and we are proud it’s so appreciated.
We hope that you still keep the pleasant memories of your stay and that you and your family will be planning to come back to Sorrento in the nearer future.
Sincerely
Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
985 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,663 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria

Address: Piazza Tasso, 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $322 - $1,256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-regarded Hotel comprising several buildings & newer villas in a clifftop garden, with fine views of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Excelsior Vittoria
Grand Excelsior Vittoria
Sorrento Hotel Excelsior
Sorrento Excelsior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing