We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Stunning Property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Villanova, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning Property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Amazing views await from the oceanfront rooms at the Grand Hotel Excelsior. Stayed in July, 2012 for two nights, and it didn't disappoint. The rooms are quite spacious and functional, and the lobby is magnificent. Be sure to head up to the top deck for breakfast- it is one of the better ones in Italy, and the views are STUNNING. Location is great, as you are right along the water and close to some restaurants. Beware, you need to take a taxi to get to Old Town, though. All in all, service was great, rooms were great, recommend for sure!

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpRT61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your beautiful review!
We are really very happy to read that you enjoyed your holiday at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria - Sorrento.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

My warmest regards,

Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    986
    84
    38
    17
    11
See reviews for
244
619
16
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on 3 occasions now, and we just love it! It first became know to from the film Avanti, with Jack Lemon & Juliette Mills, The front of the hotel to the left which is the original building and also the wonderful terrace looking out to the Bay of Napoli. This is the reason we originally wanted to stay there. It's an old family run hotel, and we travelled down from Florence for our wedding anniversary 4 years ago. The hotel is set in the most beautiful grounds, with a huge swimming pool, orangery & a private lift through the rock down to the marina below. It has a wonderful place to eat by the pool during the daytime, and a bar so you can order a cocktail & have it brought over to your lounger. The staff are very friendly. We went back for a week 3 years ago and had an amazing stay. They know us now, and we always have the same room with stunning views across the bay, but I'm not going to say which one, in case it isn't available next time we go. We stayed there again the year before last, when we did a bit of a tour around southern Italy. As always we were extremely well looked after & remembered. The hotel is situated on the rocks, and there is a long driveway with big gates at the end, and a guard is always on duty. You walk through the gates, and you are in the middle of Sorrento. Next time we are in the neighbourhood, we will definately return for another stay. Many famous people have stayed here over the years, including Caruso. We think Billy Wilder the Director of Avanti has stayed here, and also Sophia Loren. Anyway, there is a lot of history to the place, and it is just wonderful.

Actually, we didn't stay here last year, as we went to Sicily, it was 2011, but there was no option to put that date in, and this hotel deserves my review. Must get around to it, much more quickly next time.

Room Tip: Try & get a room with a view of the bay, it is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzanneb255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very honored to read such a beautiful review and happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We are really very happy to read such a positive comment and we are pleased that you enjoyed, for the third time, you stay with us! Are this kind comment that encourages us to continue working with the same passion and dedication. We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at your summer home in Sorrento!!
My warmest regards,

Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I use this hotel for business. It is an amazing place. Family owned, it is the Gem of Sorrento, italy. The rooms vary in size and shape, and the hotel was built in 1800's. The entrance is amazing, and it has a lemon orchard, and a terrace with a view you only see in the movies. With Naples and Pompeii , in the distance. Rooms are done in blues, yellows or Reds, and the television is old and poor, but not why your there. It is in the heart of Sorrento, with a myriad of shops and restaurants al around. Pay the extra and ensure you get a room with a view. Prices include breakfast, but are on the high end. Summer is $600 or higher per night.

Room Tip: PAy for the water view room. Garden rooms are small, but nice. Filed with sunshine in mornings. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter747_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review, and we look forward to welcome you back at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria soon!
My warmest regards,

Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Fabulous property with breath taking views, large ocen front rooms overlooking Mt. Vesuvius and Naples. 5 minute walk to the ferry to Capri and a 5 minute walk to the town of Sorrento.
Great daily breakfast. One of our favorites in all of Italy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our property in all its aspects: from the location to the service.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria - Sorrento!

my warmest regards,

Guido Fiorentino

________________________________________
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I was sure I had found paradise when I arrived at this hotel, and it was confirmed as a sipped the freshly squeezed orange juice that i was offered as I checked in that day. Here is a lush diamond inside busy, bustling, crowded Sorrento. It is truly old world elegance, from the pristine rooms to the tuxedoed staff. Richly colored flowers and trees dot the property, and you truly feel miles from anywhere while staying at this hotel. The smell of the orange and lemon trees on the property permeate the air. The breakfast buffet was elaborate, and included wonderful pastries, omelets cooked to order, bacon, juices and coffee. It is served in a beautiful room with gorgeous frescoes on the ceiling. Each evening we enjoyed our dinners outside, where we could watch the talented chefs prepare our dinners inside of their outdoor kitchen. Everything we ate was delicious and was clearly made from scratch. Our favorite way to end the evening was to sit on the outdoor terrace overlooking the bay of Naples and Mt. Vesuvius and listen to the piano player as we sipped a glass of wine. And the next morning we were eager to swim in the beautiful swimming pool, where we were spoiled but the polite staff who were ready to wait on us. Although it feels secluded, outside the hotel are the hotels and shops of Sorrento. But why would you ever bother to leave the property??

Room Tip: Spurge on a room with a terrace overlooking the bay if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1travelerof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your beautiful review!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your first experience a Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria - Sorrento and that you had a nice stay with us!
We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

My warmest regards
Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

I am writing this review for two reasons: 1) Because there is not much written about Sorrento at this time of year (Xmas through New Years) and 2) For the fabulous experience we had here on New Year's eve (also not much written about the availability of options for New Years Eve). We didn't stay at the hotel, but happened by it on the way to the train station on the way to Pompeii. The entrance is barred by road gate to prevent the casual visitor. The promenade to the hotel entrance is beautifully lit and makes a nice stroll in of itself. If you are ok with spending a little for a special experience ($240pp), this is it. The evening started at 7 pm with a trio (piano, cello and violin) in an atrium area. The lavishly decorated dining room contained a raise stage where dueling grand pianos serenaded us for the evening meal. Most of the food was based off of seafood (which is the typical fare of the areas). The choices were imaginative and delicious! The evening went on after the fireworks with jazz dancing to the wee hours.

Sorrento was fantastic for this time of year in the world. Temperature was high 50's F throughout. Pompeii is a great place to visit in the cool air and allows you to wander minus the heat. Visits to the Amalfi coast was easy with none of the usual summer (maddening traffic). Highly recommend this as a destination.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Thunderdogct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your very nice review and are happy that you enjoyed New Year's at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria - Sorrento!! And we are already looking forward to welcoming you very soon!!
My warmest regards,

Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We chose this hotel for the location and weren't disappointed. It is right in the center of town.

Positives: the hotel has beautiful, old world charm. The staff are fantastic and so helpful. Whatever we needed, they were quick to provide and in a friendly manner. The concierge was very helpful and gave us several great restaurant choices for lunch and dinner.The views from the terrace are breathtaking over the bay. The spa was great. Sorrento is an amazing city, and the hotel is the perfect place to take full advantage of it.

Negatives: the floors are not carpeted so that you can hear the guests above you walking around (in our case it seemed like either young children or a sports team based on the non-stop movement until after 11pm some nights). If you stay here, request a top floor room, if possible.

Overall a great stay in a beautiful city. For anyone questioning Sorrento at Christmas time, we vote that it is a great time to visit. The town was lively and lit up for the season, and it was very festive. The only knock on the hotel was the noise from above.

Some restaurants that we liked there were: L'Antica Trattoria (beautiful restaurant, amazing pasta), Zintonio (very relaxed environment, reasonable prices) and Tasso Ristorante (great pizza and pasta).

Room Tip: go for a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelwithkids_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Sirs,

We thank you for your comments and we are happy that you overall enjoyed your stay and liked our hotel.
We apologize for the noise you report and we can inform you that in these month we are doing renovation work also to avoid this type of issue.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria - Sorrento!
Best regards,

Guido Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
0.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria

Property: Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Address: Piazza Tasso, 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-regarded Hotel comprising several buildings & newer villas in a clifftop garden, with fine views of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Excelsior Vittoria
Grand Excelsior Vittoria
Sorrento Hotel Excelsior
Sorrento Excelsior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing