We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chef Squillante al Ghibli

Chef Squillante al Ghibli
Reserve with
Chef Squillante al Ghibli is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 271 Restaurants in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $65
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Isle of Man
2 reviews
“Wonderful Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Lovely little restaurant, in a beautiful position right on the beach in Sorrento. Very good food, attentive and considerate service and excellent Prosecco, best I tasted during my holiday. Really lovely evening out, great value and it all felt very authentic. Also the pick up and drop off service was really nice touch. I can't recommend this little gem of a restaurant more highly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HelenManninagh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    633
    129
    51
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
135 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant based on the recommendation of our scuba diving guide and we are so glad we did! The food was exceptional and the service fantastic.

The menu is fairly fish based (perfect for my husband!) but they had no problem creating a vegetarian meal for me. Both meals (and appetisers ... and desserts ...) were first class.

This restaurant is tucked around a corner, near the marina piccolo, but it's definitely worth looking for. Best meal we've had on our trip so far!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MissGDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Unpretentious, authentic little restaurant tucked away at the marina, overlooking the sea - we went with the daily specials and waiter's recommendations and it was delicious.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sorrento
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“New plus old tradition a great mix for customer satisfaction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Please don't read the menu, but in the better tradition of a cosy inn which offers traditional cousine following old typical recipes, ask the waiter for suggestion. Ten or more different type of appetizers as octopus salad, prawn and cherry tomatoes, baby octopus with tomato sauce (polipi alla Luciana), mussel sauté, and more and more. All the ingredients are very fresh, the typical recipes are very simple and need very short cooking, so the food must be very fresh. The best part of the restaurant is outside on a wood platform on the sand, just a jump from the seashore. And if you need to eat more please do not ask for spaghetti, but for grilled Sand steenbras, and really you will enjoy smelling the sea. Bon appetit

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent, well worth searching for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We went down to the port for a drink one night and went on Trip advisor to look for anice restaurant in the area, and this came up.

It is slightly hidden away and doesn't look anything really special when you see it, but its well worth eating at.

The waiter was fantastic and recommend some excellent food, the wine selection was very good. The prices were very reasonable for the quality of food. We started sharing calamari and squid with green pesto and balsamic vinegar. We all then had mains, varying from pasta, meat and sea food.

I would really recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Allyt1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Squillante al Ghibli also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Chef Squillante al Ghibli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing