We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible service”
Review of La Kambusa di Leonelli - CLOSED

La Kambusa di Leonelli
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“terrible service”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

somewhat surprised by the positive reviews of this place but maybe we caught them on a bad day. the chap who took our order ended up sitting down at another table with locals who appeared to be his friends so perhaps he was distracted. ordered a basic lunch of pizza and chips. food took a good while to come out and when it did there were no chips with it. didn;t bother asking for any as by the time they would have come out i would be finished pizza. girlfriend ordered a plate of fresh fruit which waiter took down but then completely forgot about. she went up to another waitress to ask here where it was and she was told it was cooking! she tried to explain to the waitress that fruit isn't supposed to be cooked but the waitress looked at her like she had two heads and just walked off. about 10 minutes later she came down and just slammed the bill down on the table as though she was proving some kind of bizarre point. sadly the fruit never came. it was the only place in sorrento that we didn't tip. wouldn't go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    38
    12
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Sorrento but don't tell everyone!”
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We were staying at the owner's B & B casa correale so we had to try his restaurant too as recommended. The restaurant is located down on the marina which is quite a hike but well worth it. We were given such a warm welcome & the food that followed was the best we had in Sorrento, so good in fact that we returned twice more! We had the complimentary tomato & rosemary focaccia then spaghetti with frutti de mare the first night, followed by ice cream mixta to die for! Then complimentary limoncello plus a discount off our bill, what more could you ask for? We especially loved this place as it was off the tourist beat slightly & seemed to be always plenty of locals eating there. One night there was a big firework display in the marina with a holy procession too & loads of local families walking around but we were still made welcome, if/when we return to Sorrento La Kambusa is first on the list for dining.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnPeelMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, great food, tremendous location”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This Restaurant was recommended by Gianni at Grand Hotel Riviera. One of the owners came and picked-us up at our hotel. We were lookking for a great pizza at a decent price.
This place did NOT disappoint, The added bonus was its location (down by the wharf). The quality of the food (both the pizza and the pasta we ordedred as an appetizer) and the service.were fantastic.
We were treated like long lost friends.
Outstanding...one of the least expensive meals we had in Europe.
I highly recommend this place for lunch or dinner during your stay in Sorrento
Jim S
Burlington, Ontario, Canada

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food in Sorrento”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The portions and quality of food was the best in Sorrento!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, Ca.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great meal away from the crowds of tourists, with nice extra touches.”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We initially ate at La Kambusa at the recommendation of our B&B owner when we asked for a place that was reasonably priced and not just for tourists. It's down by the wharf, mostly frequented by locals, and away from the very busy dinner scene in the center of town. We ate on the outdoor patio. The service was friendly and prompt, and included a complimentary appetizer and one night an after dinner lemoncello. We liked it enough that we went back a second time. All in all, we had 3 different pasta dishes, tomato salad, and grilled swordfish, all of which were quite good.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaloAlto_Ca_Babs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Kambusa di Leonelli also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing