We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We enjoyed our stay very much. Everything went well - service was friendly and efficient; breakfast was super; rooms were spacious, very comfortable and had nice views of the main square; location in the middle of everything was excellent (short 5-10 minute walk to Circumvesuviana station).

Ariane, whose family owns the property, dealt with us most of the time (from booking to handling our requests when we stayed there), and was simply outstanding - friendly, helpful with advice and recommendations (tour guide (more on this below), restaurants, things to do), and very efficient (you could be sure that things you asked would get done).

Ariane's cousin (apologies but I've forgotten her name) prepares an excellent breakfast that is beautifully laid out - you can tell that she does it with great care and love for what she does. We had to leave early on check-out day before breakfast is normally served and she let us help ourselves to whatever was ready (and this was really early in the morning).

We had stayed in some other very nice (and much pricier!) hotels in Venice, Florence and Rome like the St Regis before staying here and although the other hotels had bigger breakfast spreads, we enjoyed our breakfasts at Palazzo Januzzi just as much because of the quality.

While we were there, we took a private tour of the Amalfi Coast with Lorenzo of Sorrento Transfers (recommended by Ariane) and he was excellent - knows the area well and very safe driver.

Others have mentioned the inconvenience of having to lug suitcases to the entrance which is a short distance up a slight slope from the road where you get dropped off. This is true but it is not a big issue in these days of bags with wheels. I'm sure that Ariane wouldbe able to arrange assistance for those who require it.

I will most definitely stay here again (and book Lorenzo also) and very highly recommend both to anyone visiting Sorrento.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Travell8or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (681)
There are newer reviews for Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 304 of 682 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had a fabulous three night stay at this hotel. Recommend room 23 which faces the square and has a side view as well. Enormous bed room sitting room with settee, two armchairs and a king size bed. Staff are charming and breakfast is very good as well. There was ample heating in December. Being right on the main square of town, you can just lean out of the window and watch all the comings and goings below. Good quality toiletries, gowns and slippers. We were there just after Christmas and the huge town Christmas tree and all the street decorations provided a lovely view. Could not fault it. Actually a nice room than we had on an earlier visit to the more expensive Excelsior Vittorio.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hopeful-Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We drove a long way and arrived to Sorrento on a rainy late evening ,as the hotel is located in a central piazza of the city (a great location!) we made sure there is a parking available ahead of time ,but we were surprised to learn we need to carry our luggage ourselves quite a bit to the entrance of the hotel (where we were happy to discover an elevator to carry us up...) apparently there was no extra help in reception at that late hour and this was a disappointing moment ....but from that moment things got better and better , a great beautiful clean room with a balcony waited for us with the best delicious breakfast beautifully spread , pleasant team and efficient parking assistance for the next two days .All in all we enjoyed our stay ! we recommend the hotel just make sure if you arrive late to have someone is there to help with carrying or just be ready to carry your luggage and pray for a dry night..

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed in Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais from 11/23 to 11/26. The location is great since it's in the center of the town and also a easy walking distance to the train station. When I made reservation in September, I asked for #13 room, the one with a big balcony facing Piazza Tasso. We indeed got this room and it was wonderful! The room was spacious, super clean and the bed was very, very comfortable. I loved the modern decor with yellow & gray color mix. It made the room lively and unexpectedly chic. The slippers and bath robes were very nice touches. We enjoyed the views from the room, watching all the activities going on on the streets. Especially it was close to Christmas season and a huge Christmas tree was lighten up in the evening, in the center of the piazza. It became the center view of our balcony. What a bonus :-) . The staff were very friendly and helpful. They are genuinely nice people who will go extra miles to help the guests. The staff along with the hotel atmosphere provided you a very cozy feeling during the stay. Every day we came back to the hotel we felt like coming back home. The breakfast buffet was fantastic! There are varieties of fruits, cakes, pastries, eggs, toasts, meats, yogurt, milk, juices, coffee, etc. I still remember the chocolate fruit cake the lady made (Sorry I did not remember her name. She was in charge of the kitchen) which was to die for. My husband and I were already full but we still managed to eat one more piece, and one more..... The only little complaint I would have, if I want to be picky, is that the wall is a little thin between rooms. We can hear the next room running water (maybe showering) in the morning. It was not that loud but it was there. However, it doesn't really bother us much. The last day here we had a little picnic on the balcony. It was sunny, but was cold. However we still had a great time. I am sure during summer the experience would be even more amazing. When we had to leave for Amalfi Coast, my husband wish we could stay 2 more days here in Sorrento, in Palazzo Jannuzzi. Thank you Palazzo Jannuzzi for making our stay a wonderful experience! If we ever have a chance to come back to Sorrento, we will stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: definitely pay a little extra to get a room with the balcony
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug1822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I wonder the utility in reviewing a hotel that already has so many wonderful deserved, positive reviews. But PJ was such a happy time for our family (2 adults, 3 kids, 2 rooms with balconies overlooking the Plazza Tasso) that it would be remiss not to. So what to add? Front rooms are not too noisy, even through they look over the square. Get to breakfast at 7.30 (when it opens) and the full expanse of the offering is laid out in all its glory. Thank you Palazzo Jannuzzi. Eat Pizza at Da Fancos.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FiStu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

A family run business in a brilliant location right on the piazza tazzo! Very close to everything you could need. 10 min max walk to the train and marina. The rooms were beautifully decorated and spacious. Especially compared to other Italian city rooms. Exceptionally clean and comfortable! We were tempted to ask for an upgrade with a room overlooking the piazza. Our room was still wonderful without the upgrade! Breakfast was quite vast and if you are there at the right time, you may even be able to organize a cooking class! Worth every penny!

Room Tip: Upgrade probably isn't necessary unless you want to sit on your own private balcony overlooking...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brookegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The best hotel we stayed in our vacation in Italy, better than five star hotel we stayed at MIlan. Big rooms, vibrant colours, fabulous location and great Italian traditional family boutique store that belongs to owner's of this hotel. We did not buy anything as did not have time to choose, but you 20% off if you stay at the hotel. Wish we had more time to choose, i loved the chess pieces.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SivaAanchal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
565 reviews
0.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais

Address: Piazza Torquato Tasso 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range: $126 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais stands in the heart of Sorrento, overlooking the famous Piazza Tasso. The rooms are furnished with elegance and style. They are spacious and furnished with every comfort for an unforgettable stay for guests. They are equipped with minibar, air conditioning, satellite TV, WiFi internet access, safe, air conditioning, direct dial telephone, sound-insulated windows. The bathrooms are equipped with hairdryer and complimentary toiletries, bathtub or shower.The Relais has a lift and a panoramic terraces, a kitchen with adjoining dining room and terrace available to guests for breakfast or buffet. A reading room with comfortable sofas and the fireplace covered with old tiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing