We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Top of the world!”
other travelers have booked this property
Private terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private terrace
Private terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Private terrace
Private terrace
Private terrace
Private terrace
Private terrace
Living room with sofa bed
Living room with sofa bed
Bathroom accessible only form double bedroom
Bathroom accessible only form double bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Sorrento, Province of Naples, Campania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Peter F
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Top of the world!”
Reviewed March 31, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Sorrento is always a great place to visit and this apartment was well sited for the town centre. You need strong legs though as there are some 60 steps from the road level up to the building! Thank goodness there was a lift to the fifth floor or we would have had to sleep in the car park
Gerado's parents were welcoming, friendly and helpful.
The apartment lacks a comfortable sitting room as this seems to be used for storage and is unavailable. With good weather, this s not a problem as one spends time on the roof terrace looking at the fantastic view of Vesuvius looming over the bay of Naples.
A short stroll down the main road brings you to Tasso Square where everything happens! Bar Ercolano is the best spot for watching the world go by and the staff are fantastic and helpful.
The nearby side streets of the old town are a maze of shops and restaurants. Many opportunities to buy great leather goods and shirts! Spent too much as usual!
Took the bus to Amalfi this time instead of driving myself. A crowded but less stressful way to see the Amalfi coast road. Last time, my knuckles were white for a week after driving to Positano, Amalfi, Ravello and through the Latari mountains.
I recommend the appartment and "Team Gerado"!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2017
Hello Peter,
thank you for your review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!
Just for completeness for the readers, it is also possible to avoid the steps (that is a shortcut) by walking some extra meters on the parallel street.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickjo...
Salamanca, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, magnificent views of Vesuvius”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We (family of four with late aged teenagers) stayed for 7 nights in mid August.

The apartment is a little basic but includes everything you need - the main thing you need in August being air-con which worked well.

The key element of the apartment is its roof top location with large private (safe for children) terrace and balcony affording panoramic views over the bay of naples - the good view of Vesuvius allows you to spot signs of potential erruptions - run run....

The owners are everything you could wish for - firendly, enthusiastic and keen to help. They picked us up at the train station and insisted on dropping us off on our way home - even though it meant collecting us at 05:50 AM.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and the terrace
Liked least: Italian queuing !!
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marincpa
San Rafael, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, great value”
Reviewed June 9, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The penthouse has two bedrooms and two baths and a small kitchen, all connected by large hallways. The views from the balcony are as shown. We found that, since the balconies connect to three sides of the penthouse, we could usually find one out of the wind. The wind is cool in May.
The location is excellent. A large supermarket is within 200 feet of the street gate to the condo complex. The gate is about three minutes from the condo. There are back steps that lead down to a main street that leads to the center of town. Across the street from the back steps is Pizzeria Rosticceria da Michele. A great little place to pick up food to eat at home. Their roast chicken is excellent. Down the street from Michele is a great bakery. Best chocolate croissants in town. In 15 minutes you can run down, pick up bread and pastries and be back up enjoying them on the deck.
The main square of the town is about a 5-10 minute walk.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StumpHopp...
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible location and value.”
Reviewed April 27, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This place is truly amazing and a great value. It is close to downtown (10 min), but quiet and secure. It is also on the edge of town close to rural areas with walking paths. The outdoor terraces are huge with spectacular views. It's very clean and the owners are cheerful, helpful, and responsive. Furnishings are a bit old, but clean and functional. We found the queen size bed on the firm side and quite comfortable. There is no living/sitting room indoors, only kitchen chairs for seating. There is a second table on the terrace, and deck chairs. There are two grocery stores less than 5 minutes away. The kitchen has all the basics for preparing meals. We had considered smaller nearby towns, but we are so glad we decided to stay in Sorrento. It is the transportation hub, and a wonderful town. For the price, this wonderful penthouse apartment can't be beat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, views, cleanliness, owners
Liked least: minimal indoor seating
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
403cjs
Bristol
2 reviews
“Best situated apartment in Sorrento”
Reviewed February 20, 2016 for a stay in October 2015

This conveniently situated appartment exceeded our expectations in terms of the views we enjoyed of the Bay of Naples from both our bedroom and the terrace and the proximity to the centre. However our holiday was even more enjoyable because of the care and attention afforded us by Gerardo, Appolonia and Francesco. The advice given for our transfer from the airport to the apartment contributed greatly to our planning an itinerary based on helpful local information. The apartment is well situated for the shortest of walks to shops on the doorstep and for bus,train and ferries. We particularly enjoyed the home made limoncello and we were pleasantly surprised and grateful for the provisions provided on our arrival. We would always wish to stay here and have already highly recommend it to our friends and relations. We were able to buy a three day pass for use on the local bus and Vesuviana train. We made full use of this to explore the coastline and Herculanium. There was plenty of choice in terms of restaurants in all price ranges. We would recommend visiting the Marina Grande where the day's catch can be tasted in great surroundings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the welcome.
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely apartment, peaceful location, spectacular views!”
Reviewed January 10, 2016 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

In June 2015 my wife and I experienced two wonderful weeks at the Penthouse Apartment, Sorrento, and we would highly recommend the accommodation. Gerardo, the owner, had made the booking of the apartment extremely easy with excellent, prompt communications. On arrival Gerard's father, Francesco, kindly met us at the station and took us to the apartment where he and Gerard's mother, Appolonia, gave us the warmest of welcomes. They generously gave us the most lovely gifts of home made produce. On our return journey Francesco took us back to the station even though it was early in the morning.

The beautiful, panoramic views from the apartment were spectacular. The view is across the Bay of Naples and is amazing both day and night. The terrace is excellent for sunbathing during the day and in the evening for watching the glorious, red sunsets.

The location of the apartment is superb; several minutes walk from the town centre. It is in a residential area which is peaceful and quiet, especially at night. A good night's sleep every night!
There are plenty of good places to eat in Sorrento but if you choose to eat in the apartment the kitchen is well equipped. There are several supermarkets close by; one is only two minutes away.

Public transport is very cheap and easy. The bus and railway station is about ten minutes walk away. We visited most of the beautiful area but decided that the highlight of our holiday was the apartment because of the spacious penthouse terrace and beautiful views.

Of all of the holiday apartments/hotels we have visited this is the first time we have decided to comment on Trip Advisor. The reason we do so now is not only because of the lovely apartment with spectacular views but because of the outstanding care we received from Gerardo, Appolonia and Francesco. Gerardo even contacted us, whilst on his own holiday, when we texted him to ask for information. We feel that their care was absolutely outstanding and therefore deserves to be recognised.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacful location but easy access to centre of town and spectacular views from penthouse.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbellamy
Hastings, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is the best place to stay in Sorrento”
Reviewed November 6, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This amazing apartment was perfect for our trip to Sorrento. The views from the huge terrace of the Mediterranean and Vesuvius were spectacular and we spent a great deal of our time on the terrace which could be directly accessed from the kitchen or the bedrooms. Given we were there in July, the air conditioning (which worked great) was most welcome at the end of a hot day of exploring. The apartment was spotless and well equipped with nice personal touches including a basket of fresh lemons, expresso, tea, spices and pasta. Two grocery stores are very close by so we cooked many of our meals at the apartment. The location of the apartment was also perfect for us. It was an easy 10 minute walk to downtown but located in a nice quiet residential area where we could really relax. Gerardo and his parents were excellent hosts and easily contactable. The apartment is also an easy 15 minute walk to the train station so was a great base for jumping on the Circumvesuviana train up to Pompeii or Herculanean.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing