We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Place to Travel From” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Central
Ranked #55 of 99 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Dresden, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Place to Travel From”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Hotel Central, a hotel offered by a Gate 1 tour, was interesting. We had a distant view of the Bay of Napoli and Vesuvius from our third floor room. It was not a place where we could walk comfortably to the Bay as it was on a very busy main coastal road going into Sorrento with difficult sidewalks or at least a two mile walk on the back roads to the Bay. The town center looked so interesting but we never made it there to explore adequately.The Hotel was a place where we traveled from - to Positano and Amalfi and the Isle of Capri. We often climbed to the 5th floor terrace after dinner and sat around a table drinking wine and taking in the marvelous views. The meals were adequate and WiFi was available in the room. The staff was most agreeable. From here we took a taxi to the ferry dock going to Naples.

Room Tip: Beware:four steps from entering our room was a step down which I missed and fell hurting myself mode...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NozyRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    177
    91
    24
    3
See reviews for
77
205
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
216 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

At the Northern entrance to the Amalfi Coast, right on the main coastal road, shortly after entering Sorrento, you will easily find on the Mediterranean side of the street this nice hotel, affiliate of the Colonna Hotels (try colonnahotels.com). It has a restaurant, swimming pool, and on the Mediterranean side, especially from the 4th floor windows, amazing views of the Napoli Bay and Vesuvius Volcano and the Amalfi bluffs dropping into the sea. If you room faces the street, you can climb to the 5th floor terrace for an all around spectacle. Breakfast was reasonable and plentiful, dinner was average and free wifi was limited to 40 minutes per stay. Hotel Staff were friendly and very helpful. We went off season, when many hotels in the area were closed, but this one seemed pretty full and very accessible. There is a bus station and a train station in town (same location), about a mile south of the hotel from where you can take inexpensive trips around the area (Positano, Amalfi, Salerno, etc). Capri is a short Hydrofoil trip away. This location is a fine stop for those interested in exploring the area in some detail.

Room Tip: ask for room with Mediterranean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zhiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I found a great deal on groupon to this hotel and decided to celebrate our 3 month anniversary here. The room we were given was small and to be honest, not 4-star quality. When my husband called the reception to ask for an upgrade within two minutes someone knocked on our door and at no extra charge we were moved to a MUCH nicer room with a beautiful view of the sea on one side and the mountains on the other. Since we only eat kosher we had to bring our own food but the kitchen staff agreed to heat up our food even though it was "outside food". The people at the reception desk were warm and friendly. We really enjoyed ourselves!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ayelet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary,alberta
Level Contributor
208 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Nice to have a pool even if it was shared with an adjacent hotel. Never busy. Rooms were small but well decorated. The roof terrace was exceptional, with lots of tables and chairs. It was a great place to relax with a glass of wine. Its about a 10 minute walk to the center of town but an easy walk. Lots of cafes when you get there. Many rooms have a balcony or a sea view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Pros
- beautiful ocean view
-clean and comfortable room with lots of hooks
-clean and spacious bathroom with tub/shower
-room has a safe
-bedding has clean crispy sheets with duvet covers (YAY!)
-ample selection for breakfast
-outdoor pool area
-friendly front staff

Cons
- Takes 15 minutes to walk to the main piazza - it's not the time that bothers me but having to sometimes walk on the road, single file wasn't fun
- No free wifi, 5 Euros per half hour. This was the ONLY hotel in our stay in Italy that didn't have free wifi.
-Dinner at the restaurant was probably one of the worst meals we had in italy.
-We paid close to $230 CND for our room, from researching expedia it looks like you could get a nicer hotel for that price

Room Tip: We stayed in room 416, has ocean view, large room, large bathroom. Nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pukeycow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 584 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We vacation in Sorrento for the 16th time, every year, the new hotel. The hotel is conveniently located, not far from the main sites. More luxurious rooms with antique furniture. Large bathroom with all necessary. Excellent cleaning. Soundproof room. Breakfast is excellent for Italy, a wide range to suit different tastes. Service in the restaurant at a high level. Large professional fitness room , with good facilities and training equipment. Pool. Great hotel for a stay in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank doberoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

The name of the hotel is a bit misleading, because the hotel is actually quite a walk from the main plaza of the city. However, our room was comfortable, but not luxurious by any means. The curtains were a little off, and didn't close right. The bathroom was small, and had a step up for the bidet and toilet, for whatever reason. It seemed unnecessary, and could be a trip hazard for some people.

The room was relatively noisy, with sounds from our neighbors and the street wafting in. The included breakfast did not include hot items, but was adequate.

The views from the rooftop were nice. The adjacent swimming pool was medium size. It was large enough to swim short laps.

Internet access was available for an additional fee. In my opinion, that's inexcusable for such a pricey hotel. In the US, we call that nickel and diming the customer. The need to access the internet should not be treated like a luxury option. Most people I know are regular internet users when traveling, so I would advise the hotel management to enter the 21st century.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onbalance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
0.7 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#14 of 99 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#33 of 99 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#22 of 99 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zi Teresa
Hotel Zi Teresa
#64 of 99 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#13 of 99 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Property: Hotel Central
Address: Corso Italia 254, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Central 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing