We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A special place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Ranked #23 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A special place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2007

This was my third time at this hotel, and it was well worth staying in.

As other reviews have stated, the view and the price alone make the place attractive.

In addition, the customer service was super. I especially liked the high level of service from 2 of the ladies working there. I don't know their names.

One is the young lady (with nerves of steel) who drives the Iveco to take people from Sorrento to the hotel and vice versa. She is an excellent driver...unbelievable how she can turn the 20 seater bus around on such narrow streets. But more than that, she cares about the guests at the hotel.

I say that because on one occasion my mom went back to the hotel with the shuttle service before I did. When the young lady driving the shuttle bus saw that my mom is alone, she asked my mom if I am coming as well, just a little slower. She would have waited for me for a couple of minutes if that was the case. My mom told her that I would be coming an hour later, so she drove off. I really appreciated her attention to the individual needs of the guests.

The other lady that I must say made our stay at the hotel super was the lady serving the evening meals. We ate at the hotel every night for a week, and always appreciated her friendliness and hard work. Even her genuine smiles added to our enjoyment of the meal. Of course, the quality of the food was outstanding as well.

  • Liked — The view from the room and the customer service.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank HerrPetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,205
    392
    62
    17
    10
See reviews for
414
861
59
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2007

The hotel is a family run place, offering clean rooms and great service. Dino, the host, is extremely gracious and helpful for everything. The hotel is located slightly outside of Sorrento, but this is actually a benefit, as it is much quieter - and the bus service for the hotel is efficient and prompt.

Dinners at the hotel were very good. Having good food at the hotel (try the fish!) allowed us to not have to rush home after dinner, but instead just enjoy our evenings.

One thing to note: If you are using GPS to get to the hotel (TomTom Italy maps), the GPS location is slightly off. Keep driving up the main road past what the GPS says for about 3-4 more kilometers and you'll be able to find the hotel afterwards.

Overall, we greatly enjoyed this hotel and would definitely recommend it to others using Sorrento as their base for travel.

  • Liked — Service and food
  • Disliked — Not much
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rimrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2007

We stayed at Hotel Ristorante IL Nido for 4 nights in June 2007. We highly recommend the hotel if one would like a large, immaculately clean, well maintained room with outstanding views, food, and service at a fair price. This is a DON’T MISS hotel for Sorrento. We travel quite a bit and have rarely given this recommendation.

Our large room had a self-controlled air conditioner, a comfortable king sized bed, and a terrace overlooking the Sorrento area, and Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii across the Bay of Naples. The bathroom was large and immaculately clean. The full buffet breakfast (eggs, meats, juices, cheeses, fruits, cereal, pastries, croissants, rolls, yogurt, cappuccino, milk, hot chocolate, etc.) is eaten on the dinning terrace with its incredible views.

The common areas are spacious and attractive. In addition, two Internet terminals are available at no charge for checking email, etc.

One must use the free shuttle bus to go between the hotel and Sorrento. The hourly bus is relatively convenient but one must walk to the “meeting place” from the Marina or train/bus station (unless you have baggage when the hotel picks you up). The shuttle bus is a MUST as walking is very dangerous and about 3.5 miles up the mountain, accounting for the incredible view.

As others have mentioned in their reviews, the food is excellent, hence “Ristorante” in the name of the hotel. We rarely eat dinner at hotel restaurants but we ate here 3 times. The food and house wines were excellent as well as reasonably priced. The view from the dinning terrace, as the sun set and the city lights across the Bay came on, was food for the soul. Don’t miss at least one dinner at the hotel.

The owners are brothers, Dino and Gianni, who are extremely knowledgeable and helpful with touring the Amalfi Coast, Capri, Pompeii and Herculaneum. Dino, Gianni, and the staff were wonderful.

We will DEFINETLY stay at Hotel Ristorante IL Nido in the future.

  • Liked — Incredible View. Immaculately clean. Great food. Excellent prices.
  • Disliked — Walking to the Meeting Point after a long day.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2007

Enjoyed a wonderful week at the Il Nido. Spectacular views over the Bay of Naples. Rooms were clean and well equiped. The restaurant is very good value and the food is excellent. Staff are very helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — views across the bay
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank halcyon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2007

We stayed at Il Nido for 3 nights and were very very pleased.

The Hotel is very clean and cool, the staff are always helpful and nothing is too much trouble.

The food and drink is great and the prices are very good.

The free bus service is worth it's weight in gold and was always there on time.

While this hotel is a little out of town, I think this is actually a good thing. It is much quiter than in the town, a little cooler where it is higher up and the views from our balcony were fantastic!

I would recomend this hotel to anybody, couples, single even familes.

  • Liked — Friendly service and very clean
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank wellersky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2007

Everything about this hotel is just as good as the reviews suggest - amazing views from the bedrooms and dining room balconies, immaculately clean and friendly, excellent restaurant where we enjoyed a wonderful dinner and super breakfast on the balcony, very friendly staff. The bedroom we had - a quad for us and two children - was the usual for an Italian family run hotel of this kind ie tiled, simple, very clean, quite spacious bathroom etc. We thought it was an amazing deal for the price. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Texastrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2007

I was suprised by one review here that talked about ants at this hotel. Thankfully, this problem has been resolved. We were there on June 8-10 and the place was clean and comfortable.

The breakfast was very good, there was free internet service and the view is OUTSTANDING!

We ate dinner there one night and the fish was the freshest I have ever eaten.

I agree with other posters that it's a bit out of the way. However, the hotel does provide a very good shuttle service that runs back and forth to the center of town every half hour, so if you don't mind that, Il Nido is a nice choice at a very good price.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chryso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,843 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Oriana Relais
Villa Oriana Relais
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Nido Hotel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Nido Hotel Sorrento

Property: Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Address: Via Nastro Verde 62, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Nido Hotel Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Nido Hotel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Sorrento
Sorrento Il Nido Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing