We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem overlooking the Bay of Naples”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Ranked #22 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2009

How terrible that I have only just now found the time to write a review for this wonderful place!

I found Il Nido after hours spent searching blogs and travel websites, and luckily enough found several glowing reviews about this particular hotel on Lonelyplanet.com - its not hard to see why.

Although the hotel is set quite far back from Sorrento (set into one of the mountains that overlooks the ocasta town) it offers a free shuttle service daily that will take you down to Sorrento and drop you off by the train station (perfect if you want to hope on the train and head into Naples and see Herculaneum). The shuttle also operates at night with several pick up times, allowing you to spend as much time in town as you like.

I booked directly with the hotel through their website and they were quick to respond to my request. The rooms are large and clean with lovely bathrooms, and it is worth the small extra cost if you can afford it to get a room with a balcony, as the views are lovely over the Bay of Naples.

The management were friendly, and are obivously a family as the hotel staff all seemed very jovial and willing to assist in even the smallest matter (I lost an earring in the carpark and the manager went back outside in the dark and scrabbled around to try and locate it!).

Overall, a lovely place to stay and we would definately visit Il Nido again.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sazmcphee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,789)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,172 - 1,178 of 1,789 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2009

I agree with all the positive reviews. We stayed 3 nights last July and toured the Amalfi coast and Sorrento. I would stay there again if I ever returned to the area.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gc07022014b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

There is not much I can add to all the positive reviews of this hotel, great hospitality, amazing views, excellent base for visting the area, especially if arriving by car, this place was truly a find.

For those using a GPS, on Garmin maps, the address of this hotel is slightly off. Here are the correct coordinates:
N40 37.065
E014 21.682

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank softail123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

the hotel itself is about 10 minutes outside of Sorrento on the road heading toward the Amalfi Coast. If you're driving there via Sorrento, pay attention to the road signs since there are about 40 hotels listed on each one. Once you're on the correct road up the mountain, don't despair. You'll be convinced you have gone too far when suddenly the hotel appears on your left. This location offers true serenity if you're looking for a respite from the craziness of Sorrento, which is something of a tourist destination even when we were there (just after Christmas). Our quad room (1Q, 2T) was pretty large by Italian standards and had a private balcony with magnificent views of orange groves, the Bay of Naples, and Mt. Vesuvius. The bathroom was spacious and elegant by Italian standards with the best shower I've experience anywhere in the country. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant one night and were delighted with the quality of the food, the friendliness of the staff, and the overall value. Plus, there was the same view mentioned above. Breakfast each morning was, again by Italian standards, absolutely sumptuous: decent scrambled eggs, plenty of toast, ridiculously good pastries, fresh squeezed OJ (with a cool machine that entertained the kids), and a pretty decent attempt at American bacon. Plus there's that view again! The free shuttle whisked us to the station one morning where we caught various trains (very inexpensive) to visit Pompei (excellent) and Ercolano (don't miss it!). After returning to Sorrento and catching an early dinner, the shuttle was right on time (at a designated pick-up spot) to whisk us back up the mountain. Two computers are available in the lobby if needed. There is a special wi-fi room on the bottom floor but we did not use it. A few minor issues: since most European hotels do not have carpeting (like US hotels), the footsteps from above are very noticeable. The HVAC system is also rather frisky. We couldn't get it to work unless it was set on 28 degrees (hot!) but the system shuts off if you try to open a window to balance the heat. Ecologically sound but still irritating. There's a psychotic rooster nearby who crows sporadically during the night but not when the sun comes up. Some neighborhood dogs also proved annoying. Speaking of dogs, there is a hilarious one on the premises. He/she follows you around everywhere but runs away when you hold out your hand. Everywhere you go, the dog will be there. he/she appeared in the parking lot when we were leaving, followed our car to the exit, then barked like mad when we pulled out onto the main road. First time it made a sound. Il Nido is a first rate hotel run by friendly and helpful people. Don't forget to enjoy the view.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank meatslinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2008

Tidy hotel with basic rooms that are a bit worn about the edges. Great value for the area with unbeatable views, excellent services (including convenient shuttle bus, free internet, laundry), fine restaurant, great breakfasts and really friendly staff. While it is not in the center of town, it is well connected.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ughboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2008

Who would have thought one could find a modestly priced family-run hotel near Sorrento that has rooms with fantastic views overlooking the Bay of Naples, free parking, free shittle bus to and from Sorrento, free WiFi connections, a self-serve laundry, and an excellent restaurant that serves tasty seafood at night and offers a good breakfast with fresh squeezed orange juice in the morning? We would not have believed it until, based on other Trip Advisor reviews, we booked ourselves in to Il Nido for two nights. After one night we decided to extend our stay for a further three nights to fully take advantage of Sorrento, the Amalfi Coast, Pompeii, Naples, etc. All this plus friendly, helpful owners made I Nido "the find" of our extended stay in Italy. Oh yes, and if you're hankering for a delicious pizza also at reasonable prices in an equally friendly family establishment, be sure to drop in to Lo Stuzzichino on the main street in St. Agata.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Globees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2008

LOVED IT! My bestfriend and I went on a girlfriend trip and stayed at the Il Nido. Dino bent over backwards to arrange for us to stay an extra night and was so accomodating to all our needs.

Grandma's homemade pastries were out of this world and a simple plate of spaghetti was unforgettably delicious. Could not find food in town that could compare to their delicous pasta and super mozzarella salad (I ordered it two days in a row!!).

The veiw was stunning with Mt. Vesuvius in the distance. Get up early in the morning, sit on your patio and watch the bay turn to pink and the sky fill with light. What a magnificent way to start the day!!!!!!

The rooms were large and clean and contained all the amenities required to make our stay an enjoyable one.

The shuttle service was very convenient and on schedule (maybe a few minutes early...) - but there is a stunning little bar in the park to quench your thirst down by the main shuttle stop into town.

Sorrento itself is such a gem of a little city. I liked it much better than Amalfi or Positano personally. Don't forget to visit the pretty church in the middle of downtown. There's a beautiful electric blue side-chapel like none I've ever seen.

MAGNIFICENT!!!!!!

-Jupiter, Florida, USA

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MrsJeffcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,313 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
2.1 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
789 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Britannia
Hotel Britannia
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Nido Hotel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Nido Hotel Sorrento

Address: Via Nastro Verde 62, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $101 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Nido Hotel Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Il Nido Hotel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Sorrento
Sorrento Il Nido Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing