We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views of Vesuvius”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Ranked #22 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed in a "superior room". Nice big room with balcony with amazing views across to Vesuvius and over sorrento.

Very clean room and bathroom, bed was big and comfy, sachets of shower gel and slightly odd towels (quite thin but perfectly acceptable for drying purposes).

Breakfast was nice with freshly squeezed orange juice, cereals, toast,fruit,croissants, bacon, eggs etc...

We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was comparable to that we had in sorrento itself. Good profiteroles.

Hotel is some miles from sorrento and probably too far to walk. The bus is very reliable and picks up in the centre of town. It was a bit limiting having to plan to get to the bus stop at a specific time but I think having great views over sorrento that you wouldn't get if you stayed in sorrento itself made up for it.

Went on a trip up vesuvius (get bus from ercolano station), visited pompeii and herculaneum. Wanted to go to capri but wasn't quite the weather.

It rained continuously for three days while we were there but even so I had a great time and now have a souvenir sorrento umbrella!

Room Tip: get the superior room for the extra euro with great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kate_677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Kate,
thank you for your detailed review. Your fine feedbacks are highly appreciated and we will share your comment with our team. The Management and staff at Il NIdo Hotel are so delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay in our property.
We certainly hope to be able to host you again on your next trip to Sorrento, hoping that the weather will be finally sunny!!!
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

391 - 397 of 1,787 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

The hotel is a little way out of Sorrento, but fine if you have a car (lots of free parking) or they have a shuttle bus that runs regularly to the centre of Sorrento.

The rooms are large and clean and if you pay a little extra for a sea view then the vista is fantastic.

Like other reviewers I found the breakfast to be excellent, loads of fresh pastries, fresh orange squeezing machine, and all other bases covered.

Unusually from my experience of hotels, the restaurant food was excellent. The home made pasta was very good and overall the meals are well priced.

The lasting impression was of a friendly family atmosphere of the staff, the manager was very helpful from checking in to advising on the menu to serving the meals! The shuttle bus driver was also very helpful.

All in all, it's not a 5 star hotel, but for what you pay it's very good and it feels like you've stayed somewhere with real character rather than many of the average overpriced town centre hotels.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N0rthernlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for your candid review. Every guest's reviews help us in our efforts to always provide total guest satisfaction. I was glad to read you enjoyed your stay and the restaurant too.
We'll be looking forward to seeing again soon!
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stayed here March 2014 with my boyfriend to celebrate my 50th birthday and it was amazing. We opted for sea view and so pleased that we did, opening your curtains in the morning with views of Vesuvius and Bay of Naples was breathtaking. Breakfast was plentiful, I particularly liked the freshly squeezed orange juice that you did yourself in the machine, hot and cold buffets, fresh fruit, pastries of various varieties, plentiful. Drive down to Sorrento but excellent transfers organised by hotel and better to be out of centre anyway. Very friendly staff at Il Nido at all times

Room Tip: Sea view every time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angiebaby13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Angie,
Thank you for staying at our hotel and for sharing your experience. Every guest's reviews help us in our efforts to always provide total guest satisfaction. I was glad to read you enjoyed your stay.
We certainly hope to be able to host you again on your next trip to Sorrento.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I went here with my family for a long overdue family holiday in June (all 4 adults). We absolutely loved this hotel. The owners/staff are just amazing and wonderful people who are quick to help and give advice. We ate in the hotel restaurant every night and mama's cooking is fantastic - not to mention her very own brewed lemonchello! The family vibe you get from the owners is so welcoming and makes the stay just that more pleasant. The rooms are a decent size and comfortable. The views from the balcony in the restaurant are stunning, particularly at night time. There is a free coach service that runs a number of times during the day into the town just down the mountain. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chayangel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at our hotel and for sharing your experience. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay!. We are equally pleased that our staff made such a favorable impression.
Once again, thank you very much for taking your time and we are looking forward to host your return in our property again soon.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I would've paid a lot more for that view. The balcony was like a slice of heaven to our trip; overlooking the Bay of Naples with a great view of Mt. Vesuvius across the shiny blue water. We had to tear ourselves away from it to go into town. The room itself was spacious. The towels were like weird table cloths and the toilet didn't work well. We never ate dinner in the restaurant, but the continental breakfast was delightful and the house wine (that we so frequently enjoyed on our balcony) was pretty cheap. We did laundry, so that was very helpful. Don't be deterred by having to take to shuttle into town, because the views in town won't come close and frankly you'll want to just stay on the balcony over going into town anyway.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony; it's only like 10 euros more, just go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KelleyBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Kelley,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share you experience and for staying with us. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and the view from the...balcony.
We will look forward to seeing you again on your next trip, and maybe You'll try our restaurant too.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This was a last minute choice, and wow, it was a great one. Of the more than 3 weeks we spent in Italy, it was the best. Besides free parking, shuttle to town, a coin operated laundry, and the best included breakfast, the view was incredible. The staff was very nice and helpful. It was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: rooms in the back have a view of Sorrento, Naples and Vesuvius.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1355vabeachtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing HOTEL Il NIdo for your recent stay in Sorrento. I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.
We certainly hope to be able to host you again on your next trip to Sorrento.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My husband and I were on our (late) honeymoon. We booked here based off of reviews and were very pleased with out choice. It was a beautiful location-breakfast out on the balcony was gorgeous. The shuttle service down into the main square was a huge plus/very easy. The staff was nice and helpful. Plenty of breakfast food options, but the kicker was the lunch/dinner. You HAVE to have dinner here one night. I got the (lemon, I think) risotto, and it was DELISH. My husband got the giant prawns, and of course loved them. The room-nice and spacious, cute little balcony with great view, bed not too bad. Only downside to rooms- sheets felt like paper as did the so called 'towels' in the bathroom. The bathroom was a large size, and then you have a coffin-sized shower. No joke. But, let's be honest, the size of our shower did not make or break this fantastic trip! Overall, this hotel gives you great value for your money…I'd def recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing us with your favorable feedback on Trip Advisor. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay!. We are equally pleased that our restaurant made such a favorable impression.
We will look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
1,387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,389 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
509 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
1,043 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Nido Hotel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Nido Hotel Sorrento

Address: Via Nastro Verde 62, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $98 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Nido Hotel Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Il Nido Hotel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Sorrento
Sorrento Il Nido Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing