We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Nido Hotel Sorrento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Ranked #23 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stayed here March 2014 with my boyfriend to celebrate my 50th birthday and it was amazing. We opted for sea view and so pleased that we did, opening your curtains in the morning with views of Vesuvius and Bay of Naples was breathtaking. Breakfast was plentiful, I particularly liked the freshly squeezed orange juice that you did yourself in the machine, hot and cold buffets, fresh fruit, pastries of various varieties, plentiful. Drive down to Sorrento but excellent transfers organised by hotel and better to be out of centre anyway. Very friendly staff at Il Nido at all times

Room Tip: Sea view every time
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angiebaby13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Angie,
Thank you for staying at our hotel and for sharing your experience. Every guest's reviews help us in our efforts to always provide total guest satisfaction. I was glad to read you enjoyed your stay.
We certainly hope to be able to host you again on your next trip to Sorrento.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,200
    390
    60
    17
    10
See reviews for
410
859
59
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

I went here with my family for a long overdue family holiday in June (all 4 adults). We absolutely loved this hotel. The owners/staff are just amazing and wonderful people who are quick to help and give advice. We ate in the hotel restaurant every night and mama's cooking is fantastic - not to mention her very own brewed lemonchello! The family vibe you get from the owners is so welcoming and makes the stay just that more pleasant. The rooms are a decent size and comfortable. The views from the balcony in the restaurant are stunning, particularly at night time. There is a free coach service that runs a number of times during the day into the town just down the mountain. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chayangel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at our hotel and for sharing your experience. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay!. We are equally pleased that our staff made such a favorable impression.
Once again, thank you very much for taking your time and we are looking forward to host your return in our property again soon.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I would've paid a lot more for that view. The balcony was like a slice of heaven to our trip; overlooking the Bay of Naples with a great view of Mt. Vesuvius across the shiny blue water. We had to tear ourselves away from it to go into town. The room itself was spacious. The towels were like weird table cloths and the toilet didn't work well. We never ate dinner in the restaurant, but the continental breakfast was delightful and the house wine (that we so frequently enjoyed on our balcony) was pretty cheap. We did laundry, so that was very helpful. Don't be deterred by having to take to shuttle into town, because the views in town won't come close and frankly you'll want to just stay on the balcony over going into town anyway.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony; it's only like 10 euros more, just go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KelleyBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Kelley,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share you experience and for staying with us. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and the view from the...balcony.
We will look forward to seeing you again on your next trip, and maybe You'll try our restaurant too.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

This was a last minute choice, and wow, it was a great one. Of the more than 3 weeks we spent in Italy, it was the best. Besides free parking, shuttle to town, a coin operated laundry, and the best included breakfast, the view was incredible. The staff was very nice and helpful. It was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: rooms in the back have a view of Sorrento, Naples and Vesuvius.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1355vabeachtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing HOTEL Il NIdo for your recent stay in Sorrento. I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.
We certainly hope to be able to host you again on your next trip to Sorrento.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

My husband and I were on our (late) honeymoon. We booked here based off of reviews and were very pleased with out choice. It was a beautiful location-breakfast out on the balcony was gorgeous. The shuttle service down into the main square was a huge plus/very easy. The staff was nice and helpful. Plenty of breakfast food options, but the kicker was the lunch/dinner. You HAVE to have dinner here one night. I got the (lemon, I think) risotto, and it was DELISH. My husband got the giant prawns, and of course loved them. The room-nice and spacious, cute little balcony with great view, bed not too bad. Only downside to rooms- sheets felt like paper as did the so called 'towels' in the bathroom. The bathroom was a large size, and then you have a coffin-sized shower. No joke. But, let's be honest, the size of our shower did not make or break this fantastic trip! Overall, this hotel gives you great value for your money…I'd def recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing us with your favorable feedback on Trip Advisor. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay!. We are equally pleased that our restaurant made such a favorable impression.
We will look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury western Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked this hotel based on reviews / price and found it to be good value. The view is exceptional (will try to put up photo soon), as the hotel is built down a steep slope high on the hill. The property is generally a bit tired and dated, but was very clean and well maintained. The restaurant has a great view for breakfast, which was a buffet with eggs, bacon, fruit, cheese, pastries etc. The highlight is an orange juice machine - put oranges in the top, fresh juice out. Couldn't get enough! Also they specially bought me some gluten free bread and croissants as I am celiac, which was appreciated. We used the shuttle to go into town which was convenient. There are lots of restaurants in town and the main street is the place to stroll after dark. The manager was happy to help with bus and ferry timetables. The self serve laundry was convenient. They offered to bring our luggage into town later in the afternoon on our check out day for a late ferry which was nice. Now the negatives- we had a four person room and the wall between bed and bathroom has a high window so if the light is on in the bathroom it is on in the bedroom. The bathroom had no ventilation, and only 1 towel rail for 4 bath towels (sheeting fabric - a surprise for us!) and 4 hand towels, then they want us to keep reusing the towels to save washing: fine but put in more towel rails. Same complaint for shelf space, with 4 people using the bathroom a few shelves would be nice. The bed was hard (par for the course in Italy we find) and there was no clock in the room (ditto) and the single beds really need renewing. The last morning shuttle is 10am but check-out is 11am.....we caught the local bus. Highly recommended if you don't spend a lot of time at the hotel and want value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ozi-gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at our hotel and for sharing your experience. Every guest's reviews help us in our efforts to always provide total guest satisfaction. Your feedback allows us to continue to raise our standards and reinforces our procedures.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
342 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

the hotel was on a steep hill, about 10 mins drive from town centre, can't beat the view, we stayed for 2 nights in December, cost 198 euro for a double room with sea view, balcony, shower room, free wifi, continental breakfast and tax included. free shuttle bus to and from city centre. there was tv in room with limited channels but with an english speaking one, the cnn. the room was not big but cozy enough. the bed was facing a full seaview and we woke up every morning staring at mount Vesuvius, can't complaint. the shower was good, the room was warm with extra blankets in closet, there was a fridge and safe in room. the breakfast was very good, the best thing was the orange juice machine, there was a bucket of oranges, you can help yourself to put them into the machine and have unlimited supply of freshly squashed orange juice for breakfast, really delicious, there was plenty of pastry, scramble egg, ham, cheese, bacon, cereal, biscuit, fresh and canned fruit, and most of all, a full sea view while enjoying the food. beware of the shuttle bus timetable, we missed the last one in the morning, which was 10 am, owner gave us direction to walk 300 yards to a corner stall to buy bus tickets 1.30 euro per adult single ticket to town centre. there was a bus stop between the corner stall and the hotel, the bus runs every half an hour although it was not always running on time. there was not much happening around the hotel, so the only choice was to go to town everyday. however, we had a quiet good night rest and good breakfast, and a good distance from the noisy town centre that was overcrowded with tourists.
my only negative point was the towel, they were not really towel, they were made from fabric used for those thin white bathrobes in beauty spa, although they still do the job, but just felt very thin and it was inefficient to dry long hair with them.

Room Tip: a sea view room is a must for such location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rebecca m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Rebecca,
Thank you so much for your 5-stars review! We are sure that your comments will help pur future guests. The orange juice machine is our breakfst's highlight.
We really hope to see you here in future.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,810 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Oriana Relais
Villa Oriana Relais
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Nido Hotel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Nido Hotel Sorrento

Property: Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Address: Via Nastro Verde 62, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Nido Hotel Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Il Nido Hotel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Sorrento
Sorrento Il Nido Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing