We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in Italy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Lacombe, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best stay in Italy”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I loved this hotel that we booked on line. The hotel owners made us feel very welcome, and looked after all of our needs. We booked a room without a view, which means at the side of the hotel, but the owners did not make us feel any less worthy of there excellent hospitality. We loved the shuttle service to and from the hotel, and the instructions to find the pickup point were very easy to follow. The coin laundry service was so nice to have right in the hotel. The views from the dining room were great with Mount Vesuvius in the background. The breakfast was the best that we received in Italy, and it was included in the price of the hotel. From the hotel it was so easy to catch a bus for the Amalfi coast and the hotel even sold us the tickets, so we didn`t have to go searching for them. Be warned though, if the bus is full it will drive right by, and not stop for you. Sometimes better to go into Sorrento and catch the bus from there. Coming back on the bus if you know when to ring the bell, the bus will drop you off right in front of the hotel. We asked about hiking information and they were very helpful with information about where the hikes begin. Not always easy to get this information in Italy. I loved the stay here, and hope to come back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelor054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Travelor054,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share you experience and for staying with us. I was glad to read you enjoyed your stay, and i'm sure that your review will be so useful for our future guests. Of course we hope that you will select us again for your next trip in Sorrento.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,242
    405
    64
    17
    10
See reviews for
425
897
60
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Start your day with freshly squeezed orange juice from the machine, beautiful view from the balcony. The transfer bus takes you down to Sorrento, just need to plan around the pick up times. The local bus to Pariano stops just out the front, very conveinant. Dinner was excellent. Overall a great place to stay. Sorrento itself is a little crowded with English tour groups, so be prepared.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Neil,
Thank you so much for selecting our hotel for your recent visit and for writing such a nice review. I was happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and the surrounding area. In fact the orange juice machine is one of our highlights, and the best way to start the day!
We really hope to see you in future.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We've just returned from a fabulous week at the Il Nido hotel in Sorrento and couldn't fault it. We booked following our experience of the restaurant last year and the hotel didn't disappoint. As we expected the food was amazing and the service second to none. This is a family run hotel which really is a home from home. The hotel is pristine and always immaculate, our rooms were great and the free shuttle bus runs like clockwork, totally reliable, making getting too and from Sorrento town a pleasure. The location of the hotel means you have the contrast between the liveliness of Sorrento town and the peace and quite of being just outside; just a few minutes on the shuttle bus. The views from the hotel combined with exceptional service make this hotel just perfect for exploring all the towns from Naples right along the coast to Ravello. Highly recommended. A huge thank you to Dino and the rest of the family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Supadancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Supadancer,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay!. We are equally pleased that our staff made such a favorable impression.
I will pass along your compliments to Dino and the rest of the staff.
Once again, thank you very much for taking your time and we are looking forward to host your return in our property again soon.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

First stay was 2006 and I was extremely happy with my stay, so why try something else when you were so delighted the first time. We were not disappointed ! Gianni and his family take great pride in their family run hotel and it shows! Breakfasts as mentioned before are always fresh and will satisfy everyone's meal option. Lots of choice and always refilled as necessary. His staff is well trained and very attentive with the guests. Evening meals on the terrace overlooking the blue waters of Naples is amazing. Lots of room in the lovely dining area and one feels well taken care of when you sit down to a relaxing meal. Always upon arrival you will be offered a wonderful glass of Prosecco to start off your welcome dinner. Very nice touch!
Personally, I love the dining room decor. The cheerful lemon yellow, trimmed with white throughout the hotel is very warm and reminds me of the wonderful lemons which give Sorrento its distictiveness. Our room was perfect, with a good size balcony with comfortable chairs and table for sipping that beer after a long day of touring! Lots of storage for clothes and a big closet as well . Nice not having to live out of your suitcase the whole time. There is a small fridge in the room which comes in handy. Another nice feature is the washing machine and dryer available down stairs ( for a nomimal fee) and laundry soap and softener provided , as well as ironing facilities all au gratis! Each room has a little clothes line set up outside the balcony which allows cleaning clothes during your stay.
Although the hotel is a ways out of the town, the very regular and reliable shuttle service is always available to take passengers down or back from town on a convenient schedule. His brother is the professional driver and a terrific fellow, always pleasant . The shuttle bus is well maintained and clean. When you are leaving by train, you are driven to the station which also saves Euros for the guests! If you arrive by car, there is a large parking area available on the roof top. For us, it was a bonus, to come back to a hotel in a quiet hilltop location where you could be away from all the noise and tourist traffic of the town of Sorrento.
The hotel is spotless, which is a huge plus for me, as I am a neat freak! One day , I saw the dining room server standing on a table to clean each individual crystal on the chandelier hanging above the dining room. The rails on the balconies, not any dust anywhere, windows are all shiny in the dining room and the bedrooms. Bathroom was so clean which is a huge deal as well.
Any questions, about the many options for touring around the area are handled promptly and the staff will tell you what is your best method of getting there.
You will not find a better place to stay with an intimate feel , terrific host, and very reasonable prices for the view alone!

Thank you again , Gianni for our wonderful 6 day stay and the lovely "surprise" you offered us!
Wish you and your family all the best for 2013 and on!
Marg/Yvan Bineau

Room Tip: Take a room with a balcony over looking the Bay of Naples. If you love seeing the waters of the Med...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggiegold2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Marg/Yvan Bineau,
Thank you so much for writing such a detailed review and I was happy to read you enjoyed your stay here. I'm sure that your review will be usefull for tripadvisor's users, as it is very detailed and candid.
I wati to see you for the third time, is 2014 ok?
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Loved the food and the views. Everyone was professional and warm -most of the time. Morning shuttle driver could be a little grumpy. Afternoon driver always happy and smiling..

The rooms a little dated but we knew that when we booked. I felt insecure showering in the bath as not a flat base. But anyway we don't have a bath at home so enjoyed the daily splash rather than a shower. The cloth rather than towelling towels were thinner than i'm used to but did the job.

Plenty of choice for breakfast and for the 6 nights of our stay we ate in as Mammas food was great and the desserts all home made. If you do stay the Tiramasu is a must.

Plenty of advice and assistance if you want to book any day trips.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a room with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Lyndall S,
Thank you for making our hotel your home away from home in Sorrento. I was happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and our services.
We'll be looking forward to seeing again soon!
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercersburg, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Love this family owned and run first-rate hotel in the hills above Sorrento. Very clean, large, comfortable rooms with awesome views of the Bay of Naples and Mt. Vesuvius. Excellent restaurant and extensive breakfast buffet with a balcony, a great place to sit and talk and enjoy the wonderful food and view. Good prices on top of the excellent food keep us coming back up the hill for dinner. Nice, big bathrooms with bathtubs, laundry, wi-fi, air conditioning, constant, reliable and free shuttle service to Sorrento with easy connections to Capri, the Amalfi coast, Pompeii, Naples and Vesuvius. The perfect place to come back to after day trips around the area. We've been visiting this hotel since 2003 and they are constantly working to improve an already excellent experience.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Barbara T,
thank you so much, when a guest comes back here is always a pleasure, and your review prizes us, as we really work hard to give our best.
Once again, thank you very much for taking your time and we are looking forward to host your return in our property again soon.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Free shuttle bus was great - only 10 mins into town - the drivers were well presented and friendly. Had brilliant views from car park. Breakfast was excellent - fresh orange juice, cooked food, fresh fruit, cakes, cereals, cheeses and meats, yogurts. The room was ok - the bath a little small.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ros4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Ros4,
Thank you very much for sharing us with your favorable feedback on Trip Advisor. Your fine feedbacks are highly appreciated and we will share your comment with our team. The Management and staff at Il NIdo Hotel are so delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay in our property and there is nothing makes us happier than your confirmation of satisfaction as this is our ambition.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
465 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
745 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
1,338 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Nido Hotel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Nido Hotel Sorrento

Property: Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Address: Via Nastro Verde 62, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Nido Hotel Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Il Nido Hotel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Sorrento
Sorrento Il Nido Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing