We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Nido Hotel Sorrento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Ranked #23 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect for family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at Il Nido. The staff was professional and friendly, the view was breath taking and the restaurant was quality! The rooms aren't elegant or top-teir, but they are perfect for what we needed...a place to sleep between all the traveling! The staff also provides shuttle service to and from Sorrento Centro, so it provided a very convenient option for getting around (and cost saving...a cab ride averages about 30 Euro). I would definitely bring my family to stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronaldo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Ronaldo,
Thank you for staying at our hotel and for sharing your experience. Every guest's reviews help us in our efforts to always provide total guest satisfaction. I was glad to read you enjoyed your stay, and that our staff made such a favorable impression.
We certainly hope to be able to host you and your family again on your next trip to Sorrento.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,200
    390
    60
    17
    10
See reviews for
410
859
59
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburg, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in April. The hotel is located way above sea level and has spectacular views of the Mediterranean and Mount Vesuvius, Pompeii, Naples, and Sorrento, which is one of their strengths. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Another strength is their food. They have a fantastic breakfast and the restaurant is also good. We had dinner there 2 of the 5 nights. This hotel is a very strong 3 Star Hotel and does not approximate 4 or 5 star hotels mainly due to its lack of cleanliness and basic furnishings. The rooms are very basic and simple but ok I guess for a 3 star hotel. The most negative attribute is the bathroom. It is dingy, old, and in lack of major renovation. We stayed here because of the many 5 star reviews, and were expecting much more in terms of comfort and amenities. The hotel has wonderful potential to become a 4 star hotel by upgrading their bathrooms and furnishings. It was great that they offered shuttle service to and from Sorrento and train station. This was appreciated. Overall, it's a good value at a reasonable nightly rate. I guess we had higher expectations after reading such high reviews.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank DLTIGOMEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear DLTIGOMEZ,
Thank you for your feedback. We take all guest comments very seriously and investigate any concerns immediately. We are so happy that you enjoyed our sea view and our breakfast, and that you found our staff helpfull. In the mean time we accept your suggestion about the furnishing of the rooms, and we can confirm that we had already provided to renovate most of rooms. But let me say that we can't accept your complain about the "lack of cleanliness", as this is a priority for us and our staff works so hard to get it. The hundreds of previous reviews testify the level of cleanliness of our hotel, and in this regard you have never made ​​complaints about it during your stay. As always, we'll continue to provide the very best of service and look forward to renewing your faith with your next stay with us!
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

What can you expect from a hotel:
Big, Clean and beautiful rooms - check
Great view from porch - check (big "vesuvio" time)
Good breakfast - check (especially the bakery)
Quite and tranquility - check
Free Shuttel to to the nearest city (Sorrento) - check
Lovley stuff and hospitality - check
Free parking and free internet - check

What more can I say?

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view. it's not chip but it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LiorR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Lior,
thank You so much for your review, i found it so nice and..."original". It is the first review/checklist we get, brief but eloquent definitely. I'm sure it can be so usefull for the users of TripAdvisor.
As we passed your check, we really hope to see you again here.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We enjoyed the two nights we spent here. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were comfortable, we also had a wonderful view from our balcony over the ocean, Vesuvio and Sorrento city centre. The hotel lays a couple of kilometers from the city centre but we didnt mind that, the hotel provides a free shuttle bus that went once every hour, it was very relxing and beautiful to ride the bus from and to the city centre and see all the lights and the ocean since the Hotel lies high above sea level.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 686DanielG686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Daniel,
Thank you for choosing HOTEL Il NIdo for your recent stay in Sorrento. I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel. I am equally pleased that our staff made such a favorable impression I will pass along your compliments to our team.
We certainly hope to be able to host you again on your next trip to Sorrento.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in March, to celebrate our Silver Wedding. Could not believe how good it was - such a lovely family, and a beautifully run hotel. We ate at the restaurant every night - the food is wonderful, and they accommodated my gluten free diet with no fuss at all. Great breakfast - was a little jealous of my husband getting all the lovely pastries that I couldn't eat, but didn't really grudge him them... The Limoncello was fabulous too! Not at breakfast, obviously... We will definitely be back, and I hope all these great reviews don't mean it will be harder to get booked!! Thanks again Il Nido - you are truly fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bettyb719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Betty,
Thank you so much for your review, in particular i appreciate the words " We will definitely be back", because it means that you felt like home here at hotel Il Nido, and there is nothing makes us happier than your confirmation of satisfaction as this is our ambition.
Once again, thank you very much for taking your time and we are looking forward to host your return in our property again soon.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in March as part of a trip to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and left with only one regret.... that the time had flown by so quickly! While researching accommodation in Sorrento, I was immediately interested in this hotel, but was deterred by the fact that it was a distance from Sorrento proper. We had advice though from people who had stayed there 2 years ago. They said (correctly) that the shuttle service is prompt and efficient! It is so nice to finish a day of sight seeing and touring in this tranquil location. After a full day at Pompeii, I commented that it would be nice to get home.. meaning the hotel. That is the attitude it leaves you with... home!
The owners are there at all hours and bend over backwards to make sure you are not in need of anything. They are very helpful with information in Sorrento as well as what day trips are available. We had to catch a morning train and the driver dropped us off right at the station. Obviously, they can't cater that way when in the midst of peak season, but it wasn't anything they had to do or were asked to do.
We were in Italy for 3 weeks and there was no hotel that offered a better included breakfast! Not only were the usual buffet items available, but there was a machine there so that you could have coffee, latte, cappuccino, hot chocolate etc all steaming hot and fixed to your taste! You could also make your own fresh orange juice in a matter of seconds! To top it all off was the warm baker's cabinet filled with amazing fresh pastries! My favourite was the heart shaped one!
We took the shuttle to Sorrento for our first dinner and it was okay. The next day was rainy so a good day to do laundry and relax at the hotel. We decided to eat at their restaurant and were so pleased with everything... service, the beautiful dining room, food, prices and convenience... that we had all our dinners there the rest of our stay. They added nice touches like complimentary prosecco and bruschetta! The weather was too cool to eat outside, but it must be wonderful to eat on the terrace on a fine summer day.
The hotel is built on a cliff so all the rooms have balconies (except the few inner ones advertised as No View). The stunning vista over the Bay of Naples of Mt Vesuvius was impressive day or night. Adding to the drama is the 180 degree unobstructed view!
I can't say enough good things about this hotel and would recommend it wholeheartedly! As a matter of fact have done so already twice!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Lois,
What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for writing such a detailed review and I was happy to read you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding areas. Here at Hotel Il Nido we always try to do our best, and your review prizes us. Let me say that we can't wait for your 50th wedding anniversary, and we really hope to see you here again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I visited over the long Easter weekend and spent five memorable nights at this charming, friendly and very lovely hotel..we enjoyed our daily breakfast looking out at Mount Vesuvius ..the breakfast is delicious with a huge selection of goodies apart from cereal, eggs and toast, and fruit ofcourse! the freshly squeezed orange juice is out of this world and the coffee machine a really sensible addition! We particularly liked the privacy for guests as there were no waiters hovering around..it was very quiet and very nice to be on one's own...the dinners are good and very good value for money, enjoyed our time so much..this family run hotel deserves the most fulsome praise for the good care they take of guests (picking us up from another hotel late one evening when our bus dropped us off there), service, friendly atmosphere and yet, complete privacy.kudos!

Room Tip: a room overlooking mount vesuvius and the bay ofcourse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeenakshiT_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing us with your favorable feedback on Trip Advisor. Your fine feedbacks are highly appreciated and we will share your comment with our team. Once again, thank you very much for taking your time and we are looking forward to host your return in our property again soon.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Oriana Relais
Villa Oriana Relais
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Nido Hotel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Nido Hotel Sorrento

Property: Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Address: Via Nastro Verde 62, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Nido Hotel Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Il Nido Hotel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Sorrento
Sorrento Il Nido Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing