We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Nido Hotel Sorrento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Ranked #19 of 98 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Enjoyed breakfast and dinner here. Don''t let the distance from town dissuade you from staying here. A free hourly shuttle allows you to leave your car here safely and for free and enjoy a ride to town with the friendly local shuttle driver. Very clean with great vistas. Would return and stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank td249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your review, it's clear that You valued all the factors, and finally explained that the (short) distance from the center is well paied by the view that you can enjoy from Hotel Il Nido.
Thank You again for explaining this to all tripadvisor's readers.
We already waiting for your next trip in Sorrento.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,143
    362
    55
    16
    10
See reviews for
384
807
57
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My son and I have just stayed at Il Nido for the second time. We returned as we both agree that Il Nido is one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in.
The hotel rooms are spotlessly clean and spacious, the views looking towards Vesuvius are of course, exceptionally beautiful and the food is extremely good.
What makes Il Nido stand out though is the staff. They are so kind and helpful. For example, on our last morning our flight was cancelled and the hotel manager brought our luggage to the train station later on in the day enabling us to have time in Sorrento without having to worry about our bags.
Thank you once again to all the lovely staff at Il Nido – we’ll be back!

Room Tip: A room with a view of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Rosemary,
thank you so much for your 5-start review! We were ver happy to see you again at hotel Il Nido, and this prized us. I will share your comments with our staff. And I have to say that we are already looking for your 3th stay in 2014!
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed in this small, family owned hotel in September with another couple and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. We were traveling by rental car and to find a hotel in this part of the Amalfi Coast with free parking was a welcome experience. The rooms were large and comfortable if a bit basic in furnishings. The bathroom had a shower and bathtub and very clean. The view of Mount Vesuvius from our balcony was a picture-postcard perfect. The best feature of this hotel is the daily buffet breakfast - it has fresh fruit, wonderful pastry and large assortment of freshly prepared hot items. The self-service coffee machine alone is worth the trip - capuccino, espresso, latte and hot milk at the push of a button. The contraption that lets you feed fresh oranges and gives you a fantastic glass of orange juice is a marvel! Loved the advice that was freely given regarding local attractions - the recommended trip to Ravello was indescribably beautiful. We made several trips to town on their free shuttle but our dinners at the hotel restaurant were even better than what we had in town. Highly recommend the whole hotel experience.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room facing the Bay of Naples
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caterina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Caterina,
Thank you so much for your 5-start review! Sounds like you took advantage of our convenient location and easy access to the Amalfi Coast! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The breakfast is one of our strenghts, and your review makes us very proud. We'll be looking forward to seeing again soon!
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

It is some time since we stayed in this hotel but have been meaning to write a review to express how much I enjoyed our stay.

When we arrived in Sorrento after a very hot and long train journey it was a relief to find the shuttle bus was expecting us and soon got us to the hotel and to the beautiful view. It was made very clear on the website and when booking that the hotel was not in the main town but it was never an issue as the shuttle bus worked so well.

Both the breakfast and evening meals were enjoyable and we chose to stay in the hotel rather to go into the main town for dinner as we were impressed what they had to offer.

We would love to return again and we recommend it to everyone we know that is going to Sorrento. The only negative I could have, which is probably down to personal preference, is that I found the bed to be very hard and it was difficult to get comfortable but then my fiancé didn't have any issues sleeping. If I could have a softener mattress I'd have been back already as I'm not sure anyone else could tick as many of the other boxes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mckate6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Mckate6,
Thank you so much for selecting our hotel for your recent visit and for writing such a nice review. The Management and staff at Il NIdo Hotel are so delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay in our property and there is nothing makes us happier than your confirmation of satisfaction as this is our ambition. We are looking forward to host your return in our property again soon.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilydale
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We originally booked our stay here for 4 nights but were so impressed with the hotel, it's location, views and particularly the helpful, friendly owners who were always up for a laugh and a joke with you that we decided to book another 3 nights. Whilst you have Mt Vesuvius directly across the Bay of Naples, you also have 180 degree views. You can see Naples and all the surrounding villages and it is particularly pretty of a night time with all the lights and lying in bed watching the cruise liners sailing in with alll their lights on. There is a courtesy bus which goes in to Sorrento every hour and also to go back to the hotel. The drive up the mountain is also part of the experience, so don't be deterred by the fact that you are not in Sorrento proper. It is very quiet and you do not have any disturbances to interrupt a good night's sleep, which is what you want after leaving the hustle and bustle of Rome. A must do while you are there is to visit the Isle of Capri and particularly the Amalfi Coast. We spent a day also in Pompeii. So plenty to do! The meals at the hotel were fantastic, so we only ate out in Sorrento one night. The dining room is situated so you sit back and take advantage of the views, as well as the breakfast room. Overall absolutely fantastic and would not hesitate to go back again.

Room Tip: If you book directly with the hotel you are guaranteed to have a room at the front. We booked throu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chickabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Chickabee,
what i have to say? If a guest, like you did, books 3 nights more, it is a confirmation for us. So i just say thank you for your fantastic review and i hope you will enjoy again the view from Hotel Il Nido in future.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langdon, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

now we have stayed here twice and like the first time it was excellent. The family run hotel is top notched. theywill go out of their way to get what you need. When we go back in 2014 we will be staying here again. my wife and me will make this our hotel to stay when in sorrento.
D & R Canestraro
Calgary Alberta
Canada

Room Tip: rooms on south side are quieter and excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Ross,
Thank you for making our hotel your home away from home in Sorrento. Is always a plesure when a guest come back by us. Once more we want to thank you for your nice review. And about 2014...we are already waiting for you!
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Il Nido was such a nice break after Rome's hustle and bustle. The views from our balcony were amazing - with the mt Vesuvius right across. The breakfast was plentiful and the service was very prompt. I am especially amazed at the flexibility of the owners. We originally booked our stay here for 4 nights, but on the morning of our 3rd day decided to drive to Florence. The owner did not ask us any questions and was more than nice and let us check out early. How often does that happen?!?
Great service, awesome people, and amazing views from the room! 5 star experience!! :-)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aztravelernew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilnidosorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Nido Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Aztravelernew,
Thank you very much for sharing us with your favorable feedback on Trip Advisor. Your fine feedbacks are highly appreciated. I was glad to read you enjoyed your stay and the view from Hotel Il NIdo. About our "flexibility" let me say that we always try to do our best for our guests. Once again, thank you very much for taking your time and we are looking forward to host your return in our property again soon.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#31 of 98 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 1,181 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#36 of 98 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 98 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#6 of 98 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 2,086 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 98 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 659 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#20 of 98 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Nido Hotel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Nido Hotel Sorrento

Property: Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Address: Via Nastro Verde 62, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Nido Hotel Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Il Nido Hotel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Sorrento
Sorrento Il Nido Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing