We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget friendly B&B”
Review of Il Giglio Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Giglio Bianco
Ranked #98 of 142 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 30, 2012

With a car this B&B was a little difficult to find.. It's up a little alley that while we saw some people drive it, there was no way we were going to attempt it. The car park was on the opposite side of where the the GPS took us. After a call to the B&B we were rescued and redirected to the parking area. We stayed 2 nights in a balcony room. The room was fine, clean, good size. It was cool and we had good sleeps. While the walk into Sorrento wasn't too bad, I think in the future we might choose to stay closer to the centre. The B&B is in more of a residential area. The managers were friendly. Didn't try the breakfast.. wasn't much too it (self serve pastries etc) so we had breakfast in town. However the common kitchen area seemed always open for snacks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clkluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Il Giglio Bianco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 138 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed for two nights in this B&B. Other than being a little difficult to find it was perfect. The owners were very hospitable and the rooms were very clean and neat. Itr was also within walking distance of everything you need to see while in this city. Nice balcony area for sitting between excursions into the city. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leland1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Giglio Bianco is in a good location (10 minute walk to the main sqaure). If you arriving at night it is down the little road, first right after the church on Sant Lucia. The road sign is hidden by a tree and we were walking round for a while before we found it as the B&B website directions are not very specific which side road to take!

The rooms are a good size and clean. Request a balcony room- there werent any available when we went which was disappointing and not sure there is a difference in price for with and without.

Our biggest complaint was the noise. As the B&B is all tiled floors the noise carries at a very loud level. The couple who own the B&B live in the room attached and they have a young baby who woke us up every morning around 6.30 am (not what you want on holiday). Also on the first night the couple were having a blazing row which we heard every word. Even small things such as other people opening drawers etc drove us mad. Unfortunately this ruined our opinion of the place which I would have given 4 stars otherwise.

Breakfast was not great but also not too unexpected as Italian breakfasts dont tend to be amazing- some shop bought pastries and bread and awful juices. Good coffee though.

I wouldn't say the owner is typical Italian B&B hospitality- didn't make any effort with us which is unusual for Italy.

Also a point to note- up 3 flights of stairs with no lift may be a bit much for some people.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights, the location was great, and a very clean room. The 4 flights of stairs weren't bad except in bringing up the suitcase.

Air conditioner worked great, everything is new, and folks were nice. Quiet street but only a few short blocks to the portal. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

First of all i am glad we stayed at this B&B during our trip, the place is clean well maintained and looks really refreshing. The room that we were given was slightly small and did not have a balcony and had a somewhat smaller bathroom. When you are booking here try to get your hands on a room which has the balconies because looking at their pictures under this post i think we might have had a raw deal!
However having said that let me also say that the room was not bad at all! it was very clean had good air conditioning and was extremely well maintained. The breakfast has a good mix of breads, croissants, yoghurts, fruits, coffee & juices. What is really good about this place is that you can raid the fridge kept in the common area for whatever is kept inside. This was very thoughtful of the brothers who manage/own the place.
When you get there be ready to climb 3 floors!!! and if you are carrying heavy luggage then it might be quite tough. I and my wife were travelling italy for 2 weeks so we were slightly heavily packed, however the owner was so kind to carry my wife's heavy suitcase without any complaints. On the day of check out he helped it carry down also and offered us to drop to the station!!! I was really impressed with the kind of help he was willing to offer.
The B&B is 15 mins walk from the center/train station/bus station so accessibility was very easy.
If i come back to sorrento i would surely be staying here again however this time i will want to stay in one of the rooms with the balcony!
The owner brothers are really helpful 5 out of 5 to them and their hospitality

Room Tip: Look for a room with the balcony
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajay7283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The B&B was in a great location, close to the station and within good walking distance of the township even late at night.
The room consisted of a bedroom and a large bathroom. Both were tastefully decorated and were bright and airy. The room was very clean and comfortable and in the heat of July the air conditioner was very much appreciated as was the lovely balcony to enjoy an afternoon drink.
Breakfast, hosted by Angelo, was plentiful with cereals and pastries as well as yoghurt, juice and coffee.
The only negative would be the stairs leading up to the B&B which were a small inconvenience after a full day of walking. Mario was great in carrying our luggage up the stairs on our arrival.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kapers89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I would like to thank Mario and his brother for taking such good care of us while we were in Sorrento, Italy. Every morning Mario or his brother made us breakfast and the most delicious coffee. Mario was very helpful with directions, and explanations. The room was beautiful-- bright white and sparkling. The bathroom was large and clean and the housekeeping services were perfect! I would most definitely stay there again. It is so close to the wonderful shops and business district of Sorrento. Il Giglio Bianco is a jewel.
Judi Duciaume and Family.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
1.0 mi away
Cristina Hotel
Cristina Hotel
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
360 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B DolceVita
B&B DolceVita
#51 of 142 in Sorrento
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Dominova Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Night Sorrento
The Night Sorrento
#68 of 142 in Sorrento
66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Elena
Casa Elena
#44 of 142 in Sorrento
98 reviews
0.6 mi away
Giardino Sorrentino
Giardino Sorrentino
#14 of 71 in Sorrento
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Giglio Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giglio Bianco

Address: Via Parsano 25 | località S. Lucia, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range: $86 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B located in an historic and aristocratic building in the Centre of Sorrento with budget and spacious rooms. Free WI_FI for all guests. This is one of the few bed and breakfast located precisely in the heart of Sorrento. There is no need to take either car or public transport to visit Sorrento and both the train station and harbor where Ferries leave for Capri and Ischia are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Il Giglio Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing