We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Quite 5 Star!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Ranked #37 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Not Quite 5 Star!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The views from the terrace of this hotel are amazing (especially at breakfast). Our room was spacious and looked out on to the botanical gardens which were delightful and lovely to come back to in the evening. Breakfast was nice but certainly not five star - not enough selection of fresh fruit and the cooked breakfast was ok but not great. The pool area could be lovely but when we were there the grass hadn't been cut and the pool looked as if it could do with a clean. The ladies changing room I'd give two stars - its stuck at the back of the cafe - surely the hotel can do better than that. We had lunch at the beach restaurant which was very nice and the staff excellent. They have a lot of weddings at this hotel because of its stunning location so it can be noisy but they have got very good shutters that block out the noise. The taxis are expensive - between 15 and 20 euros one way into Sorrento which is about a 3 minute ride(it takes about 10 minutes to walk). The shuttle bus is good but it gets busy in the evening.(The river is very friendly and helpful). This is a nice hotel but I think the management have taken their eyes off the ball.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Morra , Public Relations Manager at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Marian,
I was happy to hear you were impressed with our stunning terrace view, your room, the beautiful botanical garden and that you enjoyed your lunch at the lovely beach restaurant.
At the same time I’m sorry that other facilities didn’t meet the same high expectations.
Feedback like yours has been instrumental in the planning process for our upcoming enhancements.
I sincerely hope you will reconsider visiting us again and look forward to showing you an improved Hotel.
M. Morra Communication & Marketing Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    260
    121
    58
    58
See reviews for
232
514
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is a lovely hotel with amazing views of Sorrento. The beech area is the highlight of the hotel, worth staying in the hotel for! It was not 5 * experience, some of the staff were rude and not what you would expect for a 5*. Breakfast was average, diluted orange juice...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraD781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Morra , Public Relations Manager at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Barbara,
I would like to thank for your review about your stay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our pleasant beach and its facilities, we are located in a really privileged area of the Sorrento coast.
In the same time I’m sorry to read that you were disappointed about staff and breakfast. I can assure you this is not typical of a stay at Parco dei Principi and if there had been the possibility to share your doubts and suggestions during your stay, please be assured that we would have been delighted to find a solution according to your wishes.
I sincerely hope you will reconsider visiting us again.
M. Morra Communication & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Spectacular views, especially from the restaurant deck. Free shuttle service to Sorrento downtown. The 3rd floor room (garden side view, very pretty) was very clean and spacious, with twin beds. Food excellent, and the morning buffet very pleasant, especially when taken out on the deck. Staff friendly. Unfortunately, the beach deck closes at 6. it would be nicer if it were open longer, given the long daylight hours. 60's modern, very sleek. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IHG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Morra , Public Relations Manager at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear IHG1,
first of all thank you for choosing Parco dei Principi, I’m very happy to hear that you loved your stay with us and enjoyed the hotel spectacular views, that is in one of the most attractive of Sorrento coast, your nice room and our proactive and friendly staff! I’m really proud of them in fact we work really hard to offer the best hospitality to all our guests.
I’ve already shared your compliments with them, that are really glad to see their efforts pay off on your last stay.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
M. Morra Communication & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Location and rooms has spectacular view . The only challenge is going to Downtown. Although, they provide a seattle, if it gets full you end up walking about half a mile to save about 20 euros to take a cub. BTW, you need to make a reservation for the seattle in advance.
Staff were very helpful and friendly. Giovanni the concierge helped us a lot to get around the coast.
Salvatori the maitre d was very attentive. Maybe because I complimented him by calling him Frank Sinatra. He looks him though. lol!
Breakfast was great but you get tired of the same food if you stay for a while like we did.
I left my back pack in the lobby with expensive stuff inside and was able to retrieve it with no problem at the front desk.
You can tell how safe the place is.

Room Tip: We stayed at 608 and 609. These are connecting rooms with the ocean view. Perfect for family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeytx123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Morra , Public Relations Manager at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Joeytx123,
first of all thank you very much to selected Parco dei Principi to celebrate your 25th anniversary! Thank you too for your great review about our friendly and attentive staff! We work really hard to give the best hospitality to all our guests and I’ve already shared your compliments with our concierge and our maitre, that are really glad to see their efforts pay off on your last stay.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
M. Morra Communication & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel has some of the best views in Sorrento. The rooms are clean and really well laid out. Staff are helpful and friendly. Fabulous gardens for a stroll or an evening drink. It's a long walk to the centre of town or a short but expensive (!) taxi ride. Lovely breakfast room with the spectacular views.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CabinteelyFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Morra , Public Relations Manager at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear CabinteelyFlyer, thank you very much for your feedback.
I was happy to know that you appreciated our hotel and its amenities. I will obviously pass on your words of praise to our staff that are a true asset for the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
M. Morra Communication & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willoughby hills
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

beautiful!!!!! If at all possible get a sea view room. lift to "beach"/sea deck (unfortunately closes at 6-7). would not trade that for anything. excellent included breakfast, nice service, no "extra services" such as spa but w/ that view who needs it. helpful desk. very nice sized rooms for 2-3 (but they do vary). 20 min walk to town and 30-40 to the marina. shuttle to town center stops at 7p.. aesthetically as pleasing as possible. would stay again.grounds and seaside verranda are beautiful.

Room Tip: seaview if at all possible!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surgery88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Morra , Public Relations Manager at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Surgery88,
thank you for your nice feedback. I was happy to hear you were impressed with your experience at Parco dei Principi hotel, that you enjoyed the beach, our breakfast, our large rooms and the helpful desk crew. They are a true asset for us and all our guests.
Feedback like yours has been precious to work every day whit a true spirit of hospitality and kindness.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
M. Morra Marketing & Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed at the Parco dei Principi for 2x nights last week- the hotel itself is very nicely built and has a nice 60s design maintained very nicely- however, the impression one gets is that anything you are trying to do the staff are looking for an opportunity to charge you for- so be preapared; everything will be charged including car parking- there is a serious feeling that staff are out there to catch you and charge you for the air that you breathe even which can cause serious stress when you receive your final bill- in addition to this staff are polite yet cant say that they look necessarily to show you a 5x star treatment- our toilet flush broke one nightl we had to wait for 1 hour for someone to confirm that he can change our room as we could not sleep and then we were given a room directly above the live singing night and could not sleep till about 12:30 at night at which time we had to call and ask what time the singer was looking to stop for the night- quite disappointed as i cannot say that for the 5xstar treatment we paid for we got what we signed up for- for a 4x star hotel it woudl have been OK but for the price you pay defo not worth it- look to book somewhere else if that is what you are after and be prepared to spend quite a lot for extras

Mario

Room Tip: Definitely look out when booking especially if you get charged the extra price for booking a hotel r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mario_Kampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Morra , Public Relations Manager at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Mr. Mario, I would like to thank for your review about your stay.
I am so sorry to read that you were so disappointed with your recent stay and that our service standards did not meet your expectations.
About your point, I would like to underline that our extra facilities aren’t compulsory of courseand that our staff usually suggest it with the aim to inform and improve guest experiences. If you felt disappointed, I can assure you this is not typical of a stay at Parco dei Principi Hotel.
Anyway feedback like yours has been instrumental in the planning process for our enhancements, so I appreciate you taking the time to provide your insight.
I sincerely hope you will reconsider visiting us again and look forward to offer you a better experience.
M. Morra Communication & Marketing Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,510 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,540 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,128 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,062 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parco dei Principi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parco dei Principi

Property: Hotel Parco dei Principi
Address: Via Bernardino Rota 44, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#29 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#44 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Parco dei Principi 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star accommodation and a prime location sat high on the ancient rampart of tufa, the Parco dei Principi is a testament to the timeless creativity of Gio Ponti, one of the most enlightened advocates of Italian architecture of the 20th century.Between the blue sea of Sorrento Coast and the lush greenery of the botanical gardens, Paul Leopold of Bourbon, the princes of Cortchacow and the entourage of the Russian aristocracy fell in love with this incomparable natural scenery, giving it a solemn historical heritage.Minimal atmosphere and space characterises the 96 rooms with original furnishings designed by Gio Ponti and customized specifically for the Hotel: the famous headboard-beds (1948), toilet set 'Vanity' with circular mirrors (1950), the chair 'Lightweight' (Cassina, 1952) and large fitted wardrobes. A variety of ceramic floors - as many as rooms - in shades of blue and white, in antique Majolica D'Agostino from Salerno, to reflect the colours of the sea and sky of Sorrento: moons, circles, triangles, stars and leaves are also used to tell a different story in every room.At the Restaurant Gio Ponti, a spectacular window over the Gulf of Naples and its islands, the day starts with a grand breakfast. Through striking tunnels in the rock, you arrive at the private beach or at the equipped solarium on the cliff. The pier is home during the summer months to the restaurant Poggio Siracusa where you can enjoy the fresh offerings of the sea accompanied by the sounds of the waves below.Among the horizon, the ancient oaks and the rare trees essences of the enormous botanical park, there is a seawater swimming pool designed by Gio Ponti as 'a mirror of water to wood nymphs'.To restore harmony to the body and spirit, guests can access the Fitness & Beauty Center of the Hotel, the charming majolica rooftop terrace with a view, and the marbled terrace of Villa Cortchacow dating back to the eighteenth century, on which the first ballerina performed to the Court of St. Petersburg.Since 2012, the lobby, with the incredible view of the Gulf has hosted the 'Museum of the Opera', an exhibition of original drawings and furniture in the rooms and in the common areas that have marked the history of Italian design.The business center of the hotel offers several meeting rooms with complimentary Wi-Fi and innovative technology: from the classic style of Sedowa hall with a terrace overlooking the sea, to the most modern modular Leonardo hall, surrounded by the garden Bourbon, with a seat capacity of 350. The outdoor areas offer a pleasant alternative for coffee breaks, lunches and dinners.Within the enchanting scenery of Monti Lattari sloping terraces lined with citrus, Parco dei Principi is an excellent location for pleasant walks through the typical craft shops and luxury shopping streets in the center of Sorrento, and for excursions to the nearby Amalfi Coast, the island of Capri and the archaeological sites of Pompeii and Herculaneum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Parco dei Principi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parco Dei Principi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing