We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Ranked #37 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

The worst hotel I've ever been all over Europe! This hotel deserves two or three stars for the service and its accommodations but NEVER five stars! The employees are completely arrogant and non-professional, they simply don't make any effort to please you...The accomodations are freezing cold even on the summer and the doors are full of holes! If you need an adaptor for electronical devices they demand a caution payment in cash! And the breakfast? The breakfast is kind of a one star style! Two kinds of cheese and nothin else! Almost no one fruit! AND A BIG SURPRISE - They make parties on through the night with fireworks and a BIG noise during the first hours of the morning! Very, very disappointing...The view is beautiful but the hotel itself is really upsetting! STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank VICTORLIMAMORSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear guests,
we are sorry to read your comment!
For us and for all our staff the most important thing is to satisfy the customers! We are sorry that you didn’t like your room, the Parco dei Principi is very special hotel because it’s the first hotel- design in the world and it has original design and furniture, they were designed by Gio Ponti.
For all your problems you could ask staff, our staff is always trying to satisfy our guests, everyone are at your disposal!

We thank you for your report because every comment is important for us to improve.

Best regards
Customer Care
Parco dei Principi di Sorrento
Royal Group Hotels and Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,053)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had a lovely experience with teh Parco dei Principi and would highly recommend it for travelers heading to Sorrento for a night or longer. The location was not ideal for the main square but not far by the shuttle or by our rental car (5 minutes or less to the cloest parking garage to the center).

At the hotel, the views of the bay were spectacular, both from inside our room, our balcony, and from the lovely breakfast dining area.

The room was clean and relatively spacious, with an intriguing modern design.

Breakfast was well above average and I really enjoyed starting my mornings there with a great cappuccino, eggs, fresh fruit and juices, and an assortment of cheeses and pastries.

The staff was very nice and helpful. We left for two days to Capri (would HIGHLY recommend by the way) and the hotel allowed us to leave our car for a very fair price and also kept our excess luggage safe.

I thought Sorrento was cute but not sure it was worth the try[ in itself, but if I go back I will definitely stay in this hotel and would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBradleyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Had a very nice stay in this hotel in August 2012. Spacy room with a garden view, quite clean, fresh towels twice a day. Nice breakfast (though no fried or boiled eggs, only scrambled, which I hate) with local fruits, tomatoes and mozzarella, super beach, I see absolutely no sense in staying at the pool with such beach facilities and the sea, which is very clean, calm and warm (with beach toys for the children, by the way!). We usually had our lunch at the beach restaurant; no negative experience whatsoever. Fantastic park, the staff is friendly and quite attentive (I expected this to be much worse). WiFi contact in my room was sufficient (there was even some connection at the beach).
I will certainly be back next year or the year after next.

Minuses: The floor under the beds has never been washed during the two weeks of my stay.
Walk to the city center is quite long and uncomfortable due to heavy traffic and narrow pedestrial paths - shuttle bus use is highly recommended, though a return bus is not available after 7 p.m.
Dinner in the hotel restaurant is rather expensive and the choice is modest, don't waste your time unless you are immobile or with very small children. We tried a saturday dinner at the restaurant on the beach with some live music, and it was nice (only seafood and fish in the menu), however, the service was awfully slow and the portions small. We loved having dinner in the taverns of the old town. Especially Zu 'Ntonio at the Marina Grande is to be recommended, though we never had an untasty dinner elsewhere in the town (yes the service is slow, no need expecting them to fly like bees over you).

By the way, La Residenza at the same park is not the best choice as to its value for money: shuttle bus transfer, the beach facilities and some other services are for pay, while for PDP guests these are for free. Breakfast is worse there too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaterinaTsMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review.
We hope to see you soon at the Parco dei Principi!
Thank you for all your suggestions. We believe that all your recommendations are precious to improve our services.
Best regards
Customer Care
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The surrounding landscaping and cliffside scenery were what first caught my eye upon arrival. Gorgeous views from my room which had a huge balcony overlooking the water. Food was good, especially the breakfast buffet. Service was good also. Concierge service was fabulous. They booked us a car and driver who turned out to be the best in the business. It was one of the highlight of our visit to the Amalfi Coast. The room was spacious, but the decor was a little dated and the beds weren't very plush at all. However, I'd definitely stay there again and have already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I, like many who use Trip Advisor, read recent reviews before booking at this wonderful hotel. Take heed of the many who adored the character and be sceptical of the few that cannot seem to grasp the concept or indeed history and appeal of Parco dei Principi. My wife had a truly enjoyable stay in a stylish hotel run by really helpful and caring staff.

The location overlooking the Bay of Naples is stunning. The hotel is a classic 1960's design that is still contemporary in addition to the original villa in the beautiful grounds that was first built by the aristocracy touring the Neapolitan Riviera in the 19th century. The pool area is large and well supervised with no difficult getting sun beds at any time. The beach also looked a reasonable option although we did not venture down during our week stay. Our garden view room (from which we could also see the bay) was a late booking and we could not upgrade but that was not an issue. We were above the American Bar and never heard a sound....only the music from the terrace filtered through on a couple of nights and this ceased promptly at midnight and would have been heard from any room.

We ate in the hotel restaurant on 2 occasions. There are several other restaurants within walking distance or by a short ride into Sorrento using the hotel shuttle (recommend booking each morning)....the taxi ride back is expensive from Sorrento in the evening at @ €15 or the walk is at least 20 minutes. La Marinella (5 minutes) was the best food in a great setting and reception made the booking for us. The hotel food was a little expensive....but you get what you pay for the the view is incredible.

This hotel is ideal for those who do not want to be in the midst of the busy Sorrento scene. It is tranquil and relaxing and we will be back next year.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DavidHalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

With the excuse that Hotel was designed by famous Architect and Designer Gio Ponti 50 years ago, you will find the same old and used furniture in the rooms. The bed was not very clean and the food was far from 5 star level. We booked directly with Hotel Parco dei Prinicipi website for 3 nights (price for triple room for couple + our young daughter = € 1267.-) but asked to cancel our reservation after having visited the room. We had to negotiate intesively with Hotel Director who finally accepted to cancel 2 nights out of 3. The view was fantastic but Hotel should not have rights to claim 5 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RetoSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Parco dei Principi, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review but we are sorry that you are not happy. We regret that you haven’t fully enjoyed the design of the hotel and its furnishings, designed by architect Gio Ponti.
We regret that you haven’t loved our effort to preserve intact this masterpiece.
The interiors, tiles, ceramics, flooring are original. Everything is restored cyclically leaving the original character of the great architect. We are sorry that the cleanliness and the food of our hotel didn’t live up to his expectations. Thank you for your opinion. Every comment helps us to improve our services. We hope to see you again in our hotel so we can explain more about our hotel and the architect Gio Ponti.
Customer Care
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed here for 2 night during peak season in late July. Stayed in a deluxe sea view room for this time. On the whole, was a nice hotel to stay in. It was reasonably close to the centre of Sorrento and had the handy shuttle bus if all else failed (however was frustrating when it would stop between midday and 1700!). Beach area was nice as was the restaurant at the beach. Breakfast was just okay. Definitely not usual 5 star standard. The room itself was clean and of reasonable size, but certainly nothing spectacular. Again, i wouldn't say the room is of the standard of a 5 star hotel. Would i go again? Probably not, but i still enjoyed my time there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BmitchAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,304 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
2,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parco dei Principi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parco dei Principi

Address: Via Bernardino Rota 44, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#29 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#33 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $124 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Parco dei Principi 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star accommodation and a prime location sat high on the ancient rampart of tufa, the Parco dei Principi is a testament to the timeless creativity of Gio Ponti, one of the most enlightened advocates of Italian architecture of the 20th century.Between the blue sea of Sorrento Coast and the lush greenery of the botanical gardens, Paul Leopold of Bourbon, the princes of Cortchacow and the entourage of the Russian aristocracy fell in love with this incomparable natural scenery, giving it a solemn historical heritage.Minimal atmosphere and space characterises the 96 rooms with original furnishings designed by Gio Ponti and customized specifically for the Hotel: the famous headboard-beds (1948), toilet set 'Vanity' with circular mirrors (1950), the chair 'Lightweight' (Cassina, 1952) and large fitted wardrobes. A variety of ceramic floors - as many as rooms - in shades of blue and white, in antique Majolica D'Agostino from Salerno, to reflect the colours of the sea and sky of Sorrento: moons, circles, triangles, stars and leaves are also used to tell a different story in every room.At the Restaurant Gio Ponti, a spectacular window over the Gulf of Naples and its islands, the day starts with a grand breakfast. Through striking tunnels in the rock, you arrive at the private beach or at the equipped solarium on the cliff. The pier is home during the summer months to the restaurant Poggio Siracusa where you can enjoy the fresh offerings of the sea accompanied by the sounds of the waves below.Among the horizon, the ancient oaks and the rare trees essences of the enormous botanical park, there is a seawater swimming pool designed by Gio Ponti as 'a mirror of water to wood nymphs'.To restore harmony to the body and spirit, guests can access the Fitness & Beauty Center of the Hotel, the charming majolica rooftop terrace with a view, and the marbled terrace of Villa Cortchacow dating back to the eighteenth century, on which the first ballerina performed to the Court of St. Petersburg.Since 2012, the lobby, with the incredible view of the Gulf has hosted the 'Museum of the Opera', an exhibition of original drawings and furniture in the rooms and in the common areas that have marked the history of Italian design.The business center of the hotel offers several meeting rooms with complimentary Wi-Fi and innovative technology: from the classic style of Sedowa hall with a terrace overlooking the sea, to the most modern modular Leonardo hall, surrounded by the garden Bourbon, with a seat capacity of 350. The outdoor areas offer a pleasant alternative for coffee breaks, lunches and dinners.Within the enchanting scenery of Monti Lattari sloping terraces lined with citrus, Parco dei Principi is an excellent location for pleasant walks through the typical craft shops and luxury shopping streets in the center of Sorrento, and for excursions to the nearby Amalfi Coast, the island of Capri and the archaeological sites of Pompeii and Herculaneum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Parco dei Principi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parco Dei Principi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing