We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left stranded in Positano”

City Sightseeing Sorrento - Day Tours
Ranked #55 of 149 Tours in Sorrento
Attraction details
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Left stranded in Positano”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We decided to go on the hop on hop off tour to Positano from Sorrento. We didn't have time to go all the way to Amalfi, so we thought this shorter trip would be a good option. Our journey there was disappointing as the audio commentary failed to work. We arrived and spent a pleasant 2 hours in this pretty town. Problems occurred when we wanted to get the bus back to Sorrento; all of the buses returning from Amalfi were full and we were left stranded on the side of the road along with many other tourists. After many unanswered questions to the tour representative, and 2 hours waiting time we asked her to book a private taxi that took 18 of us back to Sorrento for 200 euros. This company showed no customer care and I would strongly advise not to get caught out in the same way.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    65
    14
    11
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The city trip excellent but don't use for Positano!”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We really enjoyed the open top city tour so we tried the coast to coast tour. Beautiful scenic journey to Amalfi and we stopped off at Positano on the way back. However it was impossible to get back onto a bus back - we missed 3 because they were full and ended up standing on a packed Sita bus to get back to Sorrento. We would advise taking the boat back from Positano (but book early) and not relying on City Sightseeing for this.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“good for orientation”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We took the "Sorrento and 2 bays" tour, which takes 2 hours. The tour starts at the railway station but also stops at several locations before heading out of town towards the South West. The commentary was good but compared to other tours by the same company in different cities, there just isn't much to see apart from the coastal view (which is fabulous) and the buses are infrequent so the "hop on, hop off" concept doesn't really work. The five minute stop at the village of Termini to take pictures was more than enough . Take is as a two hour orientation tour not the based for a full day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Open topped, great views!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This trip is worth doing as the open topped bus takes you on a ride through Sorrento and up into the mountains for a good hour and a half. For only a few Euros this was a great way to see the local area and with a high vantage point from the top of the bus, some exceptional views.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank PhoenixGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Better than the local bus!!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

More expensive than the local bus but so much better!!!! No queues to get on, everyone gets a seat, shorter journey time, better driving and a more direct route make for less motion sickness. We used Sorrento - Positano one day and Sorrento-Amalfi-Ravello the next. Very much worth paying the extra money. I nearly vomited on the local bus and felt 100% on this one! Also massive queues at the local bus, but always got on this one with ease. Commentry is good too. Unless you're on a strict budget, this is definitely the way to go.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Sightseeing Sorrento - Day Tours also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense
 

Been to City Sightseeing Sorrento - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing