We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing apartments in the center of Sorrento!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Antico Palazzo Scala
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing apartments in the center of Sorrento!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed in apartment 4 and 1. The apartments are spotless, comfortable and in a great location. I can't fault them except for the hard beds, which are typical in Italy. We enjoyed the terrace in apartment 4 and didn't want to move to #1, but when we booked late, we had to be in whatever was available. Daniella and Piña were very helpful and available when questions arose. Sorrento is lovely and this apartment just adds to the charm! The restaurant under the hotel is very nice and we ate there 2 of the 5 nights. If you need a hotel atmosphere do not consider this, but if you want space and comfort this is your place!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank librarylady1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaAPS, Direttore at Antico Palazzo Scala, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks Karen for your wonderful words about our apartments. You and your friend are very kind and always smiling!!!!!
Hoping to see you soon, but this time conifrm with a great advance........ so no change of apartments.
Best wishes
Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    20
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drummoyne, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We enjoyed five nights at Antico Palazzo Scala in September 2013 as a family of five, staying in Apartment 2. The location couldn't be better in the heart of the pedestrian area and the service from Danielle both before and during our stay was excellent. The room was perhaps a little crowded for five people, and the kitchen facilities are limited, but it is good value and very clean. We had problems with the air conditioning but this was promptly dealt with.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 228JulieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaAPS, Direttore at Antico Palazzo Scala, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks a lot Judie!!!! Hoping to see you soon together with your splendid family.
Perpahs the next time a larger apartment so you can stay more confortable!!!!
A big kiss
Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katonah, NY
Level Contributor
365 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed in two apartments here. The location is outstanding, right in the heart of it all, but still charming. The first, #6, was amazing, with a beautiful balcony looking over the rooftops and a great view of the mountains, clock tower and church dome. The second apartment was #2, on the pedestrian alley. This apartment was smaller but still nice.
Apartment 6 is beautiful, clean, spacious and modern. I have no complaints, other than one morning at 4:30 am a neighbor woke us up with a bit of a gathering. We thought it was the apartment below and were annoyed. When I told Daniella, she explained it must come from the neighboring building as the other apartment below was vacant. Fair enough, and not her fault. This does lead to the one problem with the building, which is that it is a little noisy in my opinion. We had other neighbors in the building who woke up early each morning and we heard chairs scraping and people thumping around. I am a light sleeper, but I did manage to go back to sleep. If you don't mind noises as described, you will not be bothered. This seems negative, but I always try to be accurate in reviews.

Apartment 2 was very nice also. We had to swap into it because another group had reserved Apartment 6, which was all known of at the time of booking. When we had a problem with the boiler Daniella had it fixed immediately and we were only inconvenienced for the morning. Internet was patchy in the whole building, if you must have it you might find that frustrating. We did hear her on the phone with the Internet provider and it was clear she is trying to get the problem sorted out.
We thought these apartments were very good value. They were fully equipped, clean, lovely, and modern. The decor was pleasant and appropriate. Daniella and her assistant were very nice and helpful. I would stay again. Try to get apartment 6, or 4, which also seemed very nice.

Room Tip: Book at least 6 months ahead to get the best choice of apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindagaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaAPS, Direttore at Antico Palazzo Scala, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hoping to see you soon!!!!!!
Thanks
Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Thoroughly recommend this appartment. Beautifully furnished, comfortable beds, very clean, well-equipped, including electric kettle and toaster! Fantastic location in the heart of Sorrento. Exceptional cleaning provided mid-way through one week stay. Welcome gift of fresh milk and bread would have been icing on the cake!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1960sgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaAPS, Direttore at Antico Palazzo Scala, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
It was a great pleasure to meet you in our apartments!!!!!
Hoping to see you soon.
Best regards
Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just returned from a great week in Sorrento. We stayed in the Antica Palazzo Scala apartments (no 2) and they were lovely, well furnished, sparking clean and Daniela was very helpful both before and during our visit. I would recommend the apartment which was also a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Try to get one with an outdoor seating area, we couldn't as we booked a bit late and there were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMG-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaAPS, Direttore at Antico Palazzo Scala, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Many thanks!!!! You are very kind!!!!
Hoping to see you soon.
Best wishes
Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed in this apartment (number 4) for 9 nights. The best thing about it is its location as it is situated in the pedestrian part of the town which has real character and charm. The apartment was spotlessly clean and nicely furnished. It is also really nicely laid out and one of the huge pluses is small terrace which looks over the roof tops to the cliffs behind the town; great for a meal and a drink after a day of sightseeing. We had booked this apartment through Summer in Italy who were very communicative and we also found Daniela and Pina, who we dealt with at the apartment, helpful and polite. There are, however, a couple of things which stopped us giving it 5 stars, and perhaps if we had not already stayed in 2 other apartments we would not have been disappointed by these issues. This is actually a small 'apartment hotel' as there are 6 apartments in total. Although there is absolutely no onus on the owners to supply any basic foodstuffs, given what we had found in other apartments, we felt the total absence of this lacked a sense of 'hospitality'; international travellers find it hard to tote salt, pepper, oil etc and it would cost the owners so little to buy these basics in bulk and supply them in each apartment. We were also travelling with iPads and there was very poor wifi access - only in the foyer and very unreliable. We were told this issue was being addressed next year. Those things aside we enjoyed our time here and would certainly recommend it. Also visit the restaurant Le Grazie which is just downstairs. We visited this a few times and enjoyed great food and excellent service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mini_d51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dani07061992, Front Office Manager at Antico Palazzo Scala, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks for your suggestions!!!!Hoping to see you soon.
Best regards
Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were a group of 2 couples and stayed here in August 2012 at the height of a very hot summer. The apartment was very spacious and well furnished - and thankfully the air conditioning worked extremely well! It is in a great location - no problem walking to the train station or bus stop from there. We were in apartment 1, and the bedrooms were up a narrow spiral staircase-the suitcases were a bit of a pain to get up and down. If there were any mobility issues, I would suggest one of the ground floor apartments-however we are in our 50's and had no problem.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues make sure you get a ground floor apartment as the spiral staircase needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dani07061992, Manager at Antico Palazzo Scala, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks,I'm very glad to hear from you you were OK in our aparmtents in Sorrento.
Hoping to see you soon
Regards
Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#37 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Palazzo Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Palazzo Scala

Property: Antico Palazzo Scala
Address: Via Santa Maria delle Grazie 26, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Antico Palazzo Scala 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a limited traffic area, Antico Palazzo Scala is at the center of city life, close to the sea roads, art and shopping. Within a few meters there are the best restaurants, beaches, cinema and theater, and the typical narrow streets of Sorrento. 10 minutes from the port (to Capri, Ischia, Naples and Amalfi Coast) and only 50 meters from bus stop (to all Sorrentine Peninsula, Amalfi Coast, Capodichino Airport) and 200 meters from Circumvesuviana train station (to Pompeii, Herculaneum, Oplontis, Naples). Each of the six apartments is elegantly furnished and equipped with all comforts for a pleasant holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your Antico Palazzo Scala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing