We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb tour of Amalfi Coast”

Jack the Driver Tours
Ranked #54 of 148 Tours in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Jack The Driver provide shore tours from cruise ships, tours departing from hotels,excursions, transfers to/from Rome, Florence or anywhere in Italy to/from any town along the Amalfi Coast and Sorrento
Boston Ma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb tour of Amalfi Coast”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

When we arrived in Naples train station we were met by one of Jack's Drivers. He was waiting right at the end of the platform for us. He whisked us through the train station and brought us to his waiting Mercedes van. His English was very good and he entertained us all the way to our hotel in Sorrento. The next day Jack gave us a fabulous tour of the coast stopping along the way for photos, explorations & lunch in a lovely trattoria near Ravello. He is very good at avoiding traffic jams which are practically impossible to avoid. All 3 vans were immaculate and we felt very comfortable with the safe driving. Everything was handled professionally and at the same time a memorable journey for us.

We will always be grateful to our return driver who helped us exchange our train tickets in the station. We're were amazed with his patience & kindness. Thank You!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wellesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    2
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If you need a driver, just remember Jack the Driver”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We spent a week on the Amalfi Coast and could not have navigated it without Jack. He was always available for us, gave us great insight into the area, and made sure we had everything we needed. Our vacation was that much better because of Jack. Grazie mille, Jack.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ken Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“While the view was nice. We did not leave with much of an experience”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

While the scenic drive was beautiful, I could not recommend this tour at this price at this time of year. The weather was fine, however, everything that friends had told me were the best parts were omitted from the tour due to the season. I was not told this upfront and I didn't know Positano and Sorrento were season only towns. While I believe the price was lower than "in season" it was just a scenic drive. We paid $600. Part of the drive was to Ancient Pompeii (via modern Pompei), were we were given 2 hours or so to view the archeological and UNESCO World Heritage Site but a tour guide was over 100 EURO extra and you need a tour guide; the ancient city is enormous. We than departed to 2 more towns, however we were not brought to any fine home cooked meal, we had no restaurants to choose from, and no sights or shops were open. We finally found a restaurant on our own that we were willing to eat in. That was another 100 EURO. However, the lunch was amazing and when I remember the name I will review it as well. These towns, Positano and Sorrento were ghost towns and quite boring. We left the day with not one photo of us together. I would love a great tour, the lunch on a hill with drinks, family and fun, and numerous photos. But that didn't happen.
The driver was nice and knowledgable. I would recommend him to anyone but realize you are going to pay an exorbitant amount of money for this and if you want a lifelong memory from this scenic and archeological experience, know what your going to pay, get your photos worth out of it, and go in season only.
In the end, $600 for a drive, the scenery, and one site, just isn't worth it to me.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank 154experttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“wonderful tour with Jack”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Had a great tour with Jack the Driver, Gloacchino Colonna. There was some confusion as to the length of the tour, we thought four hrs he thought full day! Thought this was pricey but as we were getting a tailor made tour to accommodate one with limited mobility, were fine with it. Once we found it was for full day it was excellent value! Was the same price but had we realised earlier we would have spent some time in Pompei instead of just stopping outside for a few snap as agreed due to (we thought) time restraints. Jack took us everywhere we wanted to go...including Sorrento, Potsiano (our favourite), and right down to Amalfi by the coast road. It was so picturesque, with colourful villages dotted along the narrow windy roads, houses built right into the cliffs, caves, roadside sellers of fruit...the biggest melons and lemons I have ever seen. Cliffs and mountains dropping straight into the sea. At one stop my partner dropped his cane through a metal fence that landed on the roof below of a restaurant and I told Jack who very helpfully explained to the owner what happened and the guy got his broom out while we were directing his sweeps from above...others also joined in, it was quite funny and We not only got his cane back but another one that had been previously dropped by someone else, so now he has a spare!
Jacks car was new, very clean and comfortable, he was a safe driver and a very nice affable fellow who was happy if we were. He went along with whatever we wanted and was informative without being intrusive. An excellent tour and we were returned to our ship in plenty of time. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Neane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent day with Jack the Driver”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Was looking for a private tour for a couple day trip from Rome to Pompei and the Amalfi Coast. Jack recommended the perfect Pompei guide for us. Note that Jack is a driver so not a tour guide himself. He was waiting for us at the Napoli train station when we arrived. His English is very good and his driving very professional. On the Amalfi coast drive he new where to stop for views and for a nice lunch break. I would recommend Jack to everyone.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CheckNBox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack the Driver Tours also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Jack the Driver Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing