We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Tours from Joe Banana Limos tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Joe Banana Limos
from $164.20
More Info
from $168.90
More Info
from $195.20
More Info
from $151.50
More Info
Reviews (1,484)
Filter reviews
1,382 results
Traveler rating
1,345
23
7
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,345
23
7
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pisa florence la spezia amalfi coast chianti region cruise ship leaning tower private tour mediterranean cruise italy tour booked tours cruise critic driver guide day tour pizza our entire trip limo service his knowledge
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 1,382 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2018 via mobile

We booked a tour through Joe Bananas Limo and we're lucky enough to receive Elena and Arturo as our guides. They truly are the most gracious and friendly hosts that you could hope for! Our day started at 10:00 am at the dock in Positano. Arturo contacted me by phone as soon as he arrived at the dock, as we were a little confused as to which dock to board. We were all truly delighted at the beautiful 39' boat that we had chartered. We had no set plans as to what we wanted to see and left it up to Arturo and Elena to "WOW" us. We drove along the stunning coastline for about forty five minutes before stopping at a calm place to swim. All adults and kids enjoyed this greatly. Drove further up the coast and saw the Red Grotto, Green Grotto, swam a bit more, was made aware of Sophia Loren's house, saw different "Overly Rich People's" Yachts, before making our stop at Capri for lunch and exploration time. I believe that the people that own the restaurant send the small boat out to the yacht to shuttle us to the beachside restaurant. Lunch was good, but a bit too much cheese for me. We then boarded a bigger boat to get to the more commercial side of Capri. The ten minute ride left us off at the base of the shopping district. We opted to take the "incline" up to the top. It's basically a cable car going up the mountain at a 70 degree angle. It costs 2 Euro each way, and is worth it simply for the views! We didn't spend much time up top as it was scorching hot that day. We made our way back to the boat to start the journey back to Positano. Stopped once again to swim. Soft drinks and alcoholic drinks were made available during the entire trip.
I HIGHLY recommend Blue Wave Charters as we had a Great time and could not have been more satisfied !

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank TomMcMenamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni G, Direttore at Joe Banana Limos, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

Dear TomMcMenamin,
Thank you ever so much for your lovely review about the boat tour for which you Kindly engaged our company. We do feel this type of service delivers the most unique experience to see our stunning sites from a different prospective and are glad to read you agree with us. Our skippers are always eager to show their homeland and to be as flexible and accommodating as possible during these services. We will make sure to share your positive feedback with them, we are sure they’ll be happy to hear this. We do hope you will come back to Italy soon and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back for some more great memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018

Our driver Rosario picked us up for our private tour promptly at our villa outside of Sorrento and suggested we visit Pompeii first to avoid the large crowds. Rosario connected us with our tour guide, and we spent several hours exploring all the wonders of Pompeii. The guide was great and his English was quite good and he knew so much. It was so nice to be a group of six, instead of the cruise ship excursions of 50. We then headed back toward Sorrento and even stopped at a limoncello store/factory for a little tasting and shopping. Once in Sorrento, we transferred to a smaller vehicle to take us on the narrow roads to our lunch stop at Donna Sofia. The restaurant decor and the food was equally fantastic and we were able to sample lots of different local foods and flavors. After lunch, we drove to Positano. Rosario dropped us off and told us how to find our way around and the types of things we would be able to see. We had about 90 minutes to explore and hike back up to our meeting place. Rosario then drove us back to our villa. he was a very pleasant, knowledgeable and safe driver, though sometimes a little too soft-spoken to be heard in the back of the van. I highly recommend the JBL private tours, and would definitely use them again if we're in the area.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni G, Direttore at Joe Banana Limos, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2018

Dear reichardtp,
Thank you! We are so appreciative that we left this great impression on you. As a private company, we are able to provide a more personal touch during your tours that is usually not offered by larger tour operators and it is so thoughtful of you to express your gratitude for our services as you have. We do our best to make your tours what you want, not what we think you should do or see.This is how we came up with the All Inclusive Donna Sofia tour. We thought that the comfort of having a local driving you around in a relaxed way, put with a great traditional meal and a private guided tour and tickets would make for a complete and most enjoyable experience.This is more easily understood during your tours than we can explain beforehand, so by sharing your experiences as you have, it really gives others an idea of how much you enjoyed the professional, yet personal way we choose to conduct our excursions. Knowing our efforts were well received by your family is what makes our jobs more enjoyable. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018

This was a private car tour from Naples to the Amalfi Coast and back. The highlight of the trip was lunch at Ristorante Torre Normanna in Maiori, a town toward the end of the Amalfi Coast. Thank god we didn't drive the Amalfi Coast ourselves because the road has extreme curves and crazy drivers. Paolo, our driver and guide for the trip was super. He really knew the area and after he found out we were foodies, he picked out the perfect place for us to have lunch. It is probably one of the best places to eat on the Amalfi Coast and the atmosphere is fantastic. I am still looking for a recipe for the Lemon Ravioli I had as a starter. It was to die for. We also stopped in Amalfi for a tour of a Lemon Farm/Limoncello Maker. It was interesting but on a steep hillside, so if you have any knee/leg problems, think about this carefully. Personally we would not have done the Amalfi Coast if we had known that it is a very narrow stretch of land along the coast with very, very steep hills starting on the opposite side of the main road. There are practically no beaches and I cannot imagine climbing up the hillsides to a hotel/B&B. We have seen beautiful coasts in other parts of the world with fewer people and tour buses and that are easier to navigate. Pompeii was much more interesting.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Becky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni G, Direttore at Joe Banana Limos, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2018

Dear Becky E,
Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate that you found our service to be professional, flexible and helpful. We do our best to work with our guests to make each experience, regardless of the type of service, as pleasant and enjoyable as possible. Our drivers do their best everyday to make the most of your excursions, from punctuality and professionalism to being informative and friendly, and they are more than happy to share with our guests all the tasty "secret places", in order to give them an experience that they will remember forever! Thank you for acknowledging the value in the services we offer and once again for choosing Joe Banana Limos. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018

Exceeded our expectations in every way!

If you are looking for first rate, customized and professional services, Joe Bananas is the way to go. After much research of tour companies in Italy, we are so glad we chose JB's. This was confirmed by various hotel staff who indicated of the many companies, you can't go wrong with JB's, they are ' the best'.

We had 3 excusions.
1. Custom driving itinerary of Amalfi coast. Aldo ( absolutely the BEST) picked us up in Solerno and toured us around the Amalfi coast, stopping in Ravello, Sarda, Amalfi and more. Beyond his friendly , charasmatic personality, he shared so much information about the region with us and gave us great advice in where to expolore. Definately one of the best days on our entire Italy trip. Thank you Aldo. You are amazing!

2. Boat tour of Capri. Our skipper, Alessandro is a great boater. He took us around the island and stopped at all the grottos and pointed out the not to miss sites of Capri. Beautiful day on the water and great way to experience Capri.

3. Hotel transfer and 2 hour tour of Pompeii. Thank you Antonio for a fun filled drive and transfer. We learned a lot about the culture and history of the area on our drive. Super friendly and helpful in every way. We had the privledge of gettig a tour of Pompeii with Paolo. Our 10 year old was mesmerized and engaged from start to finish. WOW, is all I can say.

Thank you to Giovanni, who clearly operates a top notch business. From the office staff to the drivers and guides, you treated us above an beyond our expectations.
We will ensure to call on your services the next time we are in Italy and will recommend to all of our friends.

Till next time. Thank you

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank sandals1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni G, Direttore at Joe Banana Limos, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2018

Dear sandals1997,
Thank you for your gracious review. We are so happy to hear that your experiences with our company were positive. We appreciate that you reserved three services with our company and that those were what you expected and more.
Our drivers/skippers do their best everyday to make the most of your time spent here, from punctuality and professionalism to being informative and friendly, they pride themselves in giving you an experience that you will remember forever! Giving information about the different sites in the areas we visit and sharing stories of our lives and yours is what makes for a fun day for everyone. We appreciate when we receive a review such as yours as it reinforces our efforts for your tour satisfaction. The details you provided about each tour will really help future guests to understand what to expect from our company, and we really appreciate it. Thank you once again for your time in writing this review and for allowing us to show you our beautiful country! We hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

We selected Joe Banana Limos to drive us from Neaples to the Amalficost and then back again after one week at the Amalficoast. The drivers were very helpful and professional. They were on time and we got a lot of useful information during our drive. Joe Banana Limos is the ultimate choice when you want good and professional service.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Ann-Mari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni G, Direttore at Joe Banana Limos, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2018

Dear Ann-Mari B,
Thank you for choosing JBL for your recent transfers here in Italy. We appreciate your acknowledgement of our punctuality and professionalism. We are so happy to hear that this your experience with our company was excellent and that we helped you having a smooth start and finish to your vacation here. Hope to have the opportunity to provide you with our services again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews