We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Didn't notice there was no meat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mondo Bio

Mondo Bio
Ranked #87 of 264 Restaurants in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Didn't notice there was no meat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The owner/waiter explained that they were a vegetarian resturant and is passionate about the food and explained about the farm they have just a few miles further along the coast. We had a light supper here of Insalata Caprese and some pasta. Really tasty and filling. We are not vegetarian but found the food and service here excellent. Good value house wine. Easy to find from the station.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    25
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location, but bad food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Bad: My boyfriend's food was OK. A little bit chewy. However, they oversalted my risotto so much that I had to order a bottle of water and pour it into the risotto and still it was not good enough. I could not eat any of the risotto. I told the owner, he offered some other meal because I could not eat any of it. I ordered a lasagna, he said no. Instead, he gave me two cold calzones to go.

Good: I had the best caprese salad of my life here. It was right next to the train station. Also very close to where our hotel shuttle dropped us off.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa31086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hospitality and Fresh, Delicious Cibo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stumbled over Mondo Bio Café one night walking back to my hotel in Sorrento. While I do not practice a vegan diet, I was curious to see how it tasted in Italy. When I arrived, they were about to begin closing, but the gentleman, whose name I cannot remember, allowed me to place the final order. I had not tried pesto over pasta during my trip to Italy, so they were able to prepare a plate of penne pasta with a side of fresh grilled vegetables. For dessert I had a wonderful piece of an almond flavored coffee cake. What I will remember most is how sweet and willing the chef and his staff were in accommodating me last minute! Stop by, you will be pleasantly surprised!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great food and price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Loved eating there. Food fresh, tasty and not expensive. It was hard for us to find following the map we had from the location we were. But easy to find from downtown. It is very close to the train station. Restaurant is very small.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FaccioStoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Welcomed Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

It was hard for me to believe that there's a vegan/vegetarian option in Sorrento, I had to see it for myself.
My expectations weren't very high, but the food not only tasted really good, but it was a very decent price! My tofu ravioli pasta dish and lemonade were 10E, which was true for others at my table too. I tried a friend's gnocchi and minestrone soup (special of the day) and liked theirs too!
The outdoor seating area is serene-looking, although a little noisy from the scooters and cars on the street below. If you have time, check out the vegetarian store/market next to the restaurant as well.
P.S. "Bio" means organic. The host/waiter, to make sure we were interested in eating at the restaurant, told us everything was organic and vegetarian before we sat down.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lws07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mondo Bio also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Mondo Bio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing