We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Charged and Food- Sadly Mediocre”
Review of O' Sole Mio

O' Sole Mio
Ranked #194 of 280 Restaurants in Sorrento
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Over Charged and Food- Sadly Mediocre”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

First, I must say the lady who owns this place is very nice as is the entire staff...HOWEVER, the pizza was very average--apparently they do not use fresh basil on their margharita pizza despite listing it in the menu, the salad is poor, and the wine is very average also. Lastly, they purposefully over charged me 14 EU, and did only reluctantly give me 10EU back when I asked them to re add my bill. They give you Limonchello after dinner with smiles and then promptly add it to your bill. There are too many outstanding restaurants in Sorrento to waste your time and money on this place--keep walking by...Note--I was referred to this restaurant by the owner of a wine bar on the main street, she must be related to them.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Foodie4757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    119
    70
    43
    95
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Sad to say not good”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Before I start the lady who runs this place is lovely, really lovely. Sadly the food wasn't great. We had free dough balls to start which were alright, my other half had her home made gnocchi sorrento which was sadly tasteless. It needed some fresh ingredients to improve it such as some basil and fresh (not tinned) tomatoes. I had the seafood risotto which I was looking forward to as the restaurant is right next to a fish shop. Three mushy prawns and a load of octopus although the risotto rice was ok. We had a green salad on the side which was old iceberg and tomato and that was it. I had a beer and my mrs had a wine. €46, I mean €46!!!!!
If you are reading this from the restaurant TRUST ME be the first place in Sorrento to offer fresh, local produce at a reasonable price. Half your prices, slash the menu size by a third and concentrate on producing quality as all your town produces currently is overpriced rubbish. I repeat however the lady in here is lovely!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun and happy dinner”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

The lady is very friendly and passion.. we saw the reviews say that beware and it's a tourist trap, and we was panicked as we ordered already.. but actually she didn't charge us any extra fee even the cover charge..
The seafood Risotto is nice and would like to go back to try pizza..
Risotto pescadolle numero uno!! excellente!!

Helpful?
1 Thank ZhiLiangLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“only if you have to”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Be careful with your check, ask for a receipt which they don't want you to see and they must give. Read the other reviews as the owner seems to over charge for meals. Food is OK not great

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cbm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic family run restaurant”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The wonderful lady who runs the restaurant gave us poor travelers a discount on our food. She provided amazing service and a wonderful experience. I would absolutely return. Wonderful seafood.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JuhieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O' Sole Mio also viewed

Vico Equense, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to O' Sole Mio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing