We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maison Tofani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maison Tofani
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

My husband and I recently spent 5 nights at this charming hotel. Giovanni, the manager, and Nunzianna who works with him in reception were incredibly caring and helpful. Maria, the owner, has created a wonderful oasis in the heart of Sorrento. She cooks breakfast every morning, using herbs and vegetables from her garden. She makes all of the baked goods that are served. Her breakfasts are extrodinary. We have stayed in many boutique hotels in Europe. This is one of the best properties, location and breakfast that we have encountered. The rooms are wonderful and beautifully appointed. From there, we toured the coast towns and other sights, using a private car service or taking the train. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerrilyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stofani, Proprietario at Maison Tofani, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guests,
I’m very glad that you had a pleasant stay at my Maison.
Thank you for your wonderful comments.
We hope to see you again as soon as possible!
Together with my staff, I send you our kindest regards.

Maria d’Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    118
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
195
537
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

This place is fantastic. The location is perfect and all of the staff were amazing and helped us tremendously throughout our 3 night stay. We were upgraded to a roo with a private terrace. The room was tremendous, breakfast was delightful and the rooftop terrace had gorgeous views over the Bay of Naples and Mt Vesuvius. I would also reiterate how great the staff were. They provided excellent advice on what to do, where to go etc.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stofani, Proprietario at Maison Tofani, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guests,
On behalf of the Maison Tofani staff, I want to thank you for your kindness and for your beautiful words. They make us feel gratified with our work!
We hope to see you again as soon as possible.
Best regards,

Maria D’Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Maison Tofani was a wonderful hotel for our vacation in the Sorrento / Amalfi area! The location is excellent. Our room had a balcony overlooking the main pedestrian walking street in the heart of the city. The rooms are clean and comfortable and roomy. Breakfast was superb. The staff was excellent, always polite and considerate, always seeking to make our stay memorable. Thank you Nunzianna, Maria, and Ross!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jjcosta1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stofani, Proprietario at Maison Tofani, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guests,
I want to thank you for your description and for the great review that I’ve received for my Maison.
I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay.
We are waiting for you again as soon as possible.
Together with my staff, I send you our kindest regards,

Maria D’Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montepulciano, italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Maison Tofani is a refreshing break in the bustling town of Sorrento. Great attention is paid to the rooms, the breakfast, and especially the guests. They were especially accommodating to help with our luggage. I recommend it highly!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamela_in_tuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stofani, Proprietario at Maison Tofani, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guests,
I read with pleasure that your stay at Maison Tofani, was greatly appreciated.
I hope to see you again and we count you as among our special guests.
I send to you our kindest regards.

Maria D’Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Maison Tofani

This was our first stop as part of our 9 day vacation to Amalfi coast. The hotel is centrally located in the heart of Sorrento. From the hotel, restaurants and shops were all within walking distance. The hotel manager Giovanni, was gracious and helpful in every respect. All his recommendations were excellent. He arranged a personal driver for an all day trip from sorrento to Positano to amalfi and back. The trip included stops at grand viewpoints, lunch at a fabulous restaurant in the amalfi harbor, tour of a mozzarella factory, visit to the green grotto, and a limoncello factory tour. The driver, Gaetano was entertaining and spoke good English.

Giovanni also arranged a private 2 hour guided tour of Pompeii. This was very interesting and the best way to get the most out of a visit to this amazing place.

The hotel is very clean and our room was large. The breakfast was good - in a large beautiful room.

My only complaint is that since the hotel is in central downtown area, there is no view of the mountains or water. Also, the hotel lacks a main area to relax and mingle with other guests - which I find useful for exchanging recommendations with other guests. And sorrento is a flat city. It lacks the charm of amalfi, Positano, and Capri. But it is a great location to start your trip. It's location makes it easy to get to capri, positano, Pompeii, and amalfi.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stofani, Proprietario at Maison Tofani, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guests,
On behalf of the Maison Tofani staff, we want to thank you and we are waiting for you here to have another pleasant stay.
Your review and your words make us very happy! They motivate us to always do better too.
We are waiting for you again.

Maria D’Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The service at this hotel was by far the best thing. We had to leave at 530am and they packed us a breakfast the night before. They were always willing to help us with activities and accommodations. The breakfast that was included was amazing! The location was perfect, close to restaurants and shops.

The room was amazing, great design and comfy bed. My only complaint is it was really loud in the morning, the room doesn't seem to be very sound proof.

Other than that everything was perfect!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lacey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stofani, Proprietario at Maison Tofani, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guests,
We hope to see you soon again at Maison Tofani. It’s with great pleasure that we read your words and your review about our hotel.
Thank you very much.

Maria D’Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at Maison Tofani and had a lovely stay. Every person we interacted with was friendly and professional. We found Nunzianna at the front desk to be so helpful in arranging activities, recommending restaurants and assisting with train and ferry schedules. The breakfast each morning was delicious with fruits and vegetables from Maria's (the owner) garden as well as fresh pastries and cakes. Maria was there every morning and always took time to talk with us and make sure we had everything we needed. The downtown location is convenient with easy access to the train and bus as well as shops and restaurants. The room was large and comfortable and extremely clean. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend Maison Tofani.

Room Tip: You may wish to ask for a room away from the street if you mind the noise. Once the shutters were cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stofani, Proprietario at Maison Tofani, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guests,
On behalf of the Maison Tofani staff, I want to thank you for your kindness and for your beautiful words. They make us feel gratified with our work!
We hope to see you again as soon as possible.
Best regards,

Maria D’Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
2,225 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,842 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,569 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
990 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Tofani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Tofani

Property: Maison Tofani
Address: Via San Cesareo 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Tofani 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While staying at the Maison Tofani, an elegant relais located in the historical centre of Sorrento, you will have the feeling of being surrounded by an atmosphere rich in history and charm.Maison Tofani is a magical and quiet place where renewed splendour of the eighteenth century is combined with modern elements.The picturesque entrance is that of a typical courtyard in a Neapolitan palace.The rooms are furnished with taste and elegance and equipped with all comforts, particularly suitable for the stay of even the most demanding and selective clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison Tofani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Tofani Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing