We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as the reviews”
Review of Maison Tofani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maison Tofani
Ranked #16 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was our last place on the Amalfi coast and as we had been staying in 4 star hotels we were hoping this would live up to the reviews. Giovanni organised a pick up from the ferry which saved lugging our suitcases up the hill and met us at the small square where you are dropped off. His service was oitstanding and his motto is "never say no".
Our room was appaerently one of the biggest and it overlooked the shopping street. We had no trouble with the noise as we slept with the doors shut and a very quiet but effective airconditioner.
As everyone has noted the breakfasts are great with an abundance of home prepared food.
Giovanni recommended where to eat and we had excellent service at this restaurant

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildcatNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stofani, Proprietario at Maison Tofani, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Guests,
On behalf of the Maison Tofani staff, I want to thank you for your kindness and for your beautiful words. They make us feel gratified with our work!
We hope to see you again as soon as possible.
Best regards,

Maria D’Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (999)
There are newer reviews for Maison Tofani
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 468 of 999 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

We are about to check out today from our stay at Maison Tofani, and so far it's been a good, but not great hotel.

This is a boutique type hotel, so don't come here expecting a 5-star experience... and after all you're in Sorrento

We stayed in the loft and the first thing we would say is that don't choose the loft if you are bigger than average/small size (I'm 169cm and 70kg, my wife is 162cm and petite) and we were hitting our heads on parts of the sloping ceiling, and we were bumping the walls and shower door in the shower...so I have NO idea how ppl larger or taller than us would stay here!

Room: Comfortable bed which is 2 singles zipped together...pillows are bit firm/dense in case that's important for you
The rooms are also NOT sound proof.... you can easily hear the conversation of ppl next door at night when it's quiet.. so probably not the place for you if you want a really quiet room as you can also hear street noise and the church bells in the morning
As already stated, the shower is ridiculously small....
The room itself is of decent size with 2 chairs and a small coffee table as well as a study desk to use
The balcony/terrace is okay, but not that large and not a great view...we didn't use ours while we were here

Breakfast:
That was included in our rate and we didn't know it was so that was a nice surprise!
Good spread of foods form hot food, pastries and cakes (not sure who eats these for breakfast) and cold meats, cheese, cereal and a good selection of fruit
The hot food was average, but the rest of the food was really quite good

Service:
This was by far the best part of staying here...Luciano and Giovanni are so helpful and go above and beyond what normal hotel reception/concierge does... they are the best asset of this hotel!
Nothing was too difficult or too troublesome for them and this was greatly appreciated!

Location:
In the middle of Sorrento we found it to be a great location to base ourselves....could walk everywhere and is about a 10 minute walk from the train station
Also close to lots of food places which is handy when you want to duck down for a quick gelati!

Overall:
We would stay here again if returning to Sorrento but would probably book a different room (not a loft)
We also thought it was fairly good value for money (210 euro per night is what we paid)

The lift is quite slow... but at least there is one! It's and old school lift where you need to close the doors when you enter and leave... and please remember to close them when you leave! Otherwise it won't go anywhere when ppl on other floors are trying to call it.... this happened a fair few times with one particular couple which was annoying walking up all the stairs! So if you stay here remember to close the lift doors!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the loft if you aren't petite/small!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wong777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A wonderful, quiet hotel ideally placed in the centre of the lovely city of Sorrento. This 400 year old building is beautiful, especially the breakfast room with its frescoed ceiling. The bedrooms were spacious and well equipped, breakfast was plentiful and Giovanni ensured that whatever trip or outing we needed was organised. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stofani, Proprietario at Maison Tofani, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Guests,
I’m very glad that you had a pleasant stay at my Maison.
Thank you for your wonderful comments about the room, the breakfast and our painted ceilings.
We hope to see you again as soon as possible!
Together with my staff, I send you our kindest regards.

Maria d’Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We spent 3 nights in Sorrento at Maison Tofani. Our room was great (best bed we slept on during our 15 days in Italy) and staff was great. The hotel is on a busy street in the heart of the tourist area and is in walking distance to everything (shopping, food, beach and dock area, and train).

Room Tip: Great breakfasts. Lots to choose from.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gman97086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stofani, Proprietario at Maison Tofani, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Guests,
We hope to see you soon again at Maison Tofani. It’s with great pleasure that we read your words and your review about our hotel.
Thank you very much.

Maria D’Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were trying to decide whether to stay on the hills for a view of the water or right in town. I'm so glad we picked Maison Tofani as it is so easy to walk everywhere for shopping, coffee, food, drinks and the beach. Giovanni's hospitality is impressive and the building and rooms were beautiful. When we come back to Sorrento, this will be the place we always book. It's also amazing how when you mention Giovanni's name, free Prosecco always shows up...thank you Giovanni, we had a fantastic time:)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stofani, Proprietario at Maison Tofani, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Guests,
I read with pleasure that your stay at Maison Tofani, was greatly appreciated.
I hope to see you again and we count you as among our special guests.
I send to you our kindest regards.

Maria D’Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

we only had 2 nights in sorrento but maison Tofani is incredible and Giovanni made our stay even better.
Words can not describe how incredible this hotel is, but you
should definitely stay
here :) thank you Giovanni we will be back soon

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pixiehawkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stofani, Proprietario at Maison Tofani, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Guests,
I read with pleasure that your stay at Maison Tofani, was greatly appreciated.
I hope to see you again and we count you as among our special guests.
I send to you our kindest regards.

Maria D’Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Everything worked out very well at the Maison Toffani! The hotel is located in a very busy street in the heart of Sorrento's tourist area where stores stay open until around midnight, yet one cannot hear a thing from the room. I was traveling with my mother and a friend (age range 26-56) and we were all very happy. Luciana welcomed us in a very friendly manner and informed us we had been given a free room upgrade, which is always a nice surprise. She showed us around the hotel and also to our room - all nicely decorated, with . The attention they pay to details is remarkable. We then met Giovanni, the manager, who was very helpful, friendly and went the extra mile to make sure everyone was happy. The breakfast room is another attraction: lots of different options, pastry, sweets and freshly made food, with Maria overlooking the whole service! There is a nice reading room right next to it with many interesting books. If we can think of anything that can use some improvement, it's the internet in the room and the shower size. There is wi-fi but it is a bit unstable, making one login quite a few times, whereas the shower area can feel at times a bit too small. Overall, an excellent experience I'd most definitely recommend, great service is always appreciated!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dindi_SE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stofani, Proprietario at Maison Tofani, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Guests,
On behalf of the Maison Tofani staff, I want to thank you for your kindness and for your beautiful words. They make us feel gratified with our work!
We hope to see you again as soon as possible.
Best regards,

Maria D’Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,728 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Tofani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Tofani

Address: Via San Cesareo 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $129 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Tofani 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While staying at the Maison Tofani, an elegant relais located in the historical centre of Sorrento, you will have the feeling of being surrounded by an atmosphere rich in history and charm.Maison Tofani is a magical and quiet place where renewed splendour of the eighteenth century is combined with modern elements.The picturesque entrance is that of a typical courtyard in a Neapolitan palace.The rooms are furnished with taste and elegance and equipped with all comforts, particularly suitable for the stay of even the most demanding and selective clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison Tofani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Tofani Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing