We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique!”
Review of Maison Tofani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maison Tofani
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unique!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

What an introduction to Sorrento's warm hospitality! We arrived later in the evening than expected and the staff (Giovanni) made us feel right at home.

After we settled, we opened a bottle of local wine in the common area that we purchased in town. We had the pleasure of running into the owner while looking for wine glasses and learned the history of her house. She even made us a light snack so we would enjoy our wine and conversation. Priceless.

The frescoed ceilings were just beautiful. I can't say enough about this place. Wonderful rooms, elegant breakfast, and helpful staff.

Book it! You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivonne713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    122
    19
    6
    1
See reviews for
201
547
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

the Hotel is wonderfully located and the public rooms were very pretty. breakfast choice was excellent. Rooms were a tad ordinary for the money being charged. Giovanni on the front desk is just a wonderful person and goes all the way to make your stay memorable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pendock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Fantastic location; extremely clean; very comfortable bed; the list could go on and on! Our stay in April was memorable and if we ever visit Sorrento again I would stay here. The breakfasts ARE beautiful but I would agree with a previous reviewer about the table layout.If the dining room was busy you could not concentrate on your own conversation and either had to talk loudly to be heard or just put up with the conversation of others.When it was quiet you found yourself whispering. This is one of the drawbacks of staying in a small hotel, I feel. One other further gripe would be the very basic packed breakfast that we were given on our early departure: ham and cheese on rather hard bread.We HAD paid for the breakfast and even the inclusion of some of the delicious cake usually served at breakfast, would have been an improvement. However,these are minor gripes and the overall experience was excellent. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami fl
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I can see why others found this hotel to be pleasant but unfortunately the room that I stayed in didn't leave a good impression on me. I think it was originally intended the be a storage room or staff quarters. The hotel was almost fully booked and offered us their last room. The room had one small window which opened to a building wall and roof letting in next to no light. It was very much like a dark cave. Another problem was the service elevator which was not available to guests but opened into the bedroom right next to the bed. It was unnerving to sleep and wonder if someone would come up the elevator and into the room. Breakfast was good and the staff was friendly. In short, just make sure you don't get the windowless elevator room.

Room Tip: Avoid the windowless elevator room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kissmekate20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stofani, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Maison Tofani, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Maison Tofani for your holiday in Sorrento one year ago, as well as for commenting on Trip Advisor last month.
I am truly sorry to contradict you, but there is no lift or service elevator in the room. You can even check the photos on Maison Tofani’s official website… http://www.maisontofani.com/
May I remind you that many people book this room and they have thoroughly enjoyed their stay. We tell everyone who books this room that there is no balcony, but just a small window. For this reason, the price of this room is much less compared to our deluxe, superior, loft, and classic rooms that we have.
If you wanted to book one of our rooms with a balcony, you could have done so, because we had rooms with a balcony available at the time of your stay. Of course, after you had been in the room, and it didn’t meet your expectations, you could have requested a room with a balcony. We had some available.
If you had asked for another room, I could have helped you, but you did not bring this to my attention.
Again, thank you for your post about the friendliness of our staff. We take great pride in welcoming all our guests. However, please do not make comments about the hotel that are not true. You can damage our reputation online and on Trip Advisor.

Best Regards,

Giovanni Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Really nice hotel and reasonably priced. It is a little hard to find--they are on the upper floors and have no signs at street level, so you have to look a little. The staff is very nice and most helpful. The breakfast was far and away the best we had in our two week trip to Italy.

We were a little worried that our room may be noisy because it overlooked the busy San Cesareo, but when the windows were shut all of the street noise was blocked out.

Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Mountains
Level Contributor
146 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Maison Tofani is in the busy heart of Sorrento. We picked this location because we had an early train to catch the next day. A very nice man checked us in. Hearing that we had an early train to catch, he double checked the schedule for us. Our room was big and attractively furnished. We loved the natural wood ceiling. The bathroom had been remodeled with bold bright colors. Very nice. The day we arrived we had a problem with the hot water. The next morning it was fixed.

For breakfast they had the best selection of all of our hotels in Italy and the room had a beautiful painted ceiling. However, the way the room was set up made it feel like a conference room and was not conducive for a leisurely romantic breakfast.

The also gave us complementary bottle of Prosecco. Since there was no note we are not sure if it was a honeymoon gift, a way to make up for the lack of hot water or being nice to fellow innkeepers. Any way, it was good. Thank you.

I would recommend this hotel to younger travelers that want to be in the center of the action.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

What a little gem this hotel is. The rooms are beautiful, clean, comfortable and the breakfast is the best we experienced in Europe. The location is fantastic and literally 30 seconds from the centre of Sorrento. Would highly recommend to those travellers after an affordable, yet luxurious hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miranda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,255 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Tofani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Tofani

Property: Maison Tofani
Address: Via San Cesareo 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Tofani 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While staying at the Maison Tofani, an elegant relais located in the historical centre of Sorrento, you will have the feeling of being surrounded by an atmosphere rich in history and charm.Maison Tofani is a magical and quiet place where renewed splendour of the eighteenth century is combined with modern elements.The picturesque entrance is that of a typical courtyard in a Neapolitan palace.The rooms are furnished with taste and elegance and equipped with all comforts, particularly suitable for the stay of even the most demanding and selective clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Maison Tofani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Tofani Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing