We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rescued by Giovanni”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maison Tofani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maison Tofani
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rescued by Giovanni”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

As we stood in the street staring at our map after blindly being left by our taxi driver, my mother and I were miraculously rescued by a man dragging other tourists suitcases behind him. When he asks where we are going he grabs my mother's bag and starts to walk down the street simply saying "Follow me, you must be Sandra." A little stunned, my mother (Sandra!) and I follow him just a bit further into Maison Tofani. This was our first introduction to Giovanni, who not the owner, looks after it like it was his own. My mother had booked Maison Tofani only after reading so many reviews about this Giovanni. The hotel is also a beautiful, historic building perfectly located by the main square, many shops and restaurants directly surrounding the hotel. As we were on the top floor, we appreciated the lift to bring up our heavy suitcases. Breakfast was amazing, large variety of fruit, breads, cheese, meat etc. as well as hot drinks personally made for you by the attentive staff. The breakfast room was beautifully decorated with gorgeous ceilng, however as it was a beautiful day we sat outside on the terrace. Our loft room was of decent size, with own private balcony. Roof terrace just steps from our room was beautiful to sit out and watch the sunset. All in all, a very comfortable stay within the heart of Sorrento.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    119
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
196
539
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Beautiful property, excellent location, great breakfast. All of these are eclipsed by the unbelievably wonderful service provided by each and every member of the staff. They are so friendly and bend over backwards to be helpful in any way they can. For one example; when we inquired about getting a taxi to the bus station (easily walkable except we had heavy bags to wheel along cobbled streets), the owner said she would just have one of the workman bring our bags for us. Nothing was added to the bill for this service, though we, of course, gave him a nice tip. I do have to add that the fabulous breakfast includes fresh fruits grown organically in the owners' garden. Cherries and melons were just coming in when we visited. Yum!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rekBerkeley_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

We absolutely loved everything about Maison Tofani, from its decor (WOW to the breakfast room fresco ceiling!) to the personalised service offered by Giovanni. We had the loft room, which was small but cleverly designed. My husband especially loved the fantastic full body jet shower! Our balcony gave us views of the Sorrento shopping street below and Mt Vesuvias! It was great to wake up to the amazing view and church bells.

We mainly owe our fantastic experience at this small hotel to Giovanni, who blew us away from the moment we stepped onto his property. He was incredibly helpful, full of enthusiasm and information. Thanks to Giovanni we explored the Amalfi coast on our first day with a smart car (which he helped us organise the hire) and loved the freedom that gave us, not to mention the thrill of driving on those narrow windy roads. Giovanni also booked a table for us at an excellent restaurant (L'Abate) on our first night where we were spoiled with complementary wines, great local fresh foods and exceptionally personalised service. Lastly, when Giovanni realised that we were picking up our car from Avis upon checking out of the hotel, he rang for someone from Avis to pick us up down the road from the hotel (because it is on a pedestrian only street) so we didnt have to walk the 800m to Avis. And before we knew it he was wheeling our two (very large) suitcases to the meeting point!

Thank you so much for all your help Giovanni! It really made our experience more memorable. We will definitely return next time we are in Sorrento.

Room Tip: We loved our loft room on the top floor. Great view of Mt Vesuvias!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyk1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Maison Tofani is a stunning conversion of an old Neopolitan style palazzo and it makes for a fantastic place to stay in the very hub of Sorrento. The much vaunted breakfast hall (more than just a room!) is beautiful and the ceiling will leave you with a strained neck as it simply demands attention!
However striking the hotel may be the real magic ingredient is without doubt the service provided by the owner, Giovanni and his team. Warmth and a will to please exude from all of them and this without the formality which can often be experienced with the big hotel groups. A rare and wonderful experience. Unhesitatingly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidN_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Beautiful building and room, helpful and friendly staff, central location, roof terrace... there's nothing bad to say about Masion Tofani at all.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lumbowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, South Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

The hotel has a wonderful location on a small street in the old town. The staff was very friendly and helpful the entire stay. Breakfast was good. The staff spoke English well. Our room faced the street, so we had some noise that came in while the window was open, but we fully expected that with such a great location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mstiwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Our stay at Maison Tofani certainly lived up to the reviews I based my choice on. Breakfast each morning was great. The staff was very helpful with information on activities. And, Giovanni was so kind to have us a breakfast to go on the morning of our departure as we left very early.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MemphisMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,848 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Tofani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Tofani

Property: Maison Tofani
Address: Via San Cesareo 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Tofani 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While staying at the Maison Tofani, an elegant relais located in the historical centre of Sorrento, you will have the feeling of being surrounded by an atmosphere rich in history and charm.Maison Tofani is a magical and quiet place where renewed splendour of the eighteenth century is combined with modern elements.The picturesque entrance is that of a typical courtyard in a Neapolitan palace.The rooms are furnished with taste and elegance and equipped with all comforts, particularly suitable for the stay of even the most demanding and selective clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison Tofani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Tofani Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing