We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place in Piazza Tasso to relax over a morning coffee”
Review of Bar Ercolano

Bar Ercolano
Ranked #67 of 288 Restaurants in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $9
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Mountain View, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
1,170 reviews
596 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
“Good place in Piazza Tasso to relax over a morning coffee”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

On our trip to Sorrento this past November, my wife and I along with our daughter and son-in-law stopped by Bar Ercolano for coffee one morning so we could sit back and take in the atmosphere of Piazza Tasso. It was a warm sunny mid morning. We savored our coffee as we sat and watched the people begin their day. It was a relaxing time as we planned our day in Sorrento.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Razorfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    183
    63
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“If you have time to kill in Sorrento, this is the place.”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

...and if you're lucky enough to be in Sorrento: life is good. We had a lovely afternoon walking the town during a cruise stop and would have liked to have spent months longer. It's a beautiful place and we found this bar to be the ideal place to relax with a drink and watch life passing by. I really enjoyed a lemoncello served in a shotglass reminiscent of the Tower of Piza as it leaned close to a 45 degree angle. Prices very fair for such a touristic spot and the service was excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A perfect spot to Piazza Tasso watch”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We visited here a few times whilst in Sorrento, We did not try the food as we had already eaten by the time we sat here. We ordered a glass of white wine each and it wasnt too bad, It came in a wee bottle with an Ercolano label on it, The staff were very busy but were straight to the point from taking your order to taking payment, No nonsense, Too busy for chit chat which I can understand as its a popular place. Great place for just sitting back, Relaxing and watching the busy world go by, We will return. :-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 565Michalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, Lancashire,
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic little restaurant”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Loved visiting the Bar Ercolano. The ice is to die for & the staff are really friendly & helpful. Very reasonable price wise. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank John111973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place to People Watch”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Situated in the Piazza Tasso you can participate in the Italians favourite sport of people watching. Good service and we found the waiters very friendly that you could have a bit of banter with. We only had drinks here to finish off our evenings during our stay in Sorrento so can't comment on the food. Steep climb to the toilets but cheaper than the Fauno Bar across from it. Good atmosphere to relax in.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonWeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Ercolano also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Bar Ercolano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing