We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a pleasant dining experience”

Osteria del Buonconvento
Ranked #75 of 334 Restaurants in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were seated inside for dinner for 2 inside and at the time the restaurant was pretty empty. A group of 12 noisy, and rowdy people came in and to accommodate them they wound up moving tables ending up virtually in our space. Instead of accommodating this group in another part of an empty restaurant we were forced to move ourselves to free up personal space.
Our waiter didn’t apologize on our behalf but seemed bothered that we took the initiative to move .
After finishing dinner I requested the check and I was virtually ignored for 15 minutes.
Bottom line is if you want the same food you can get in the 500 Sorrento restaurants and enjoy terrible service this place is for you!!
I never write reviews but this place left a bad taste in my mouth and it wasn’t the food

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ira1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely dinner here on our last day in Sorrento. Complementary drink to start and another one at the end of the meal was a nice touch. If you are looking for something a bit different, great service and good food, look no further.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank cuzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved eating here, the food was amazing and a huge menu to choose from. We like to try different places when we are away but we were drawn back here as it was far superior to other places we had eaten at and was very reasonably priced. Joshua working his magic outside was so welcoming and Giovanni looked after us so well especially on our wedding anniversary. The ravioli with crab was delicious and the triumph of fish was amazing. The pizzas were the best we have eaten and the red wine was superb value at €6 for half a litre. Thank you for looking after us so well, I’m sure you were sick of seeing us if you are visiting Sorrento you must eat here.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sallywhittaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great location and great food. Lovely welcome by Joshua and a very quirky place. But the food was fabulous and as vegetarians that is always a bonus . Had lovely sorrento rissotp and gnocchi. Thank You

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Kim-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A big red book outside and very lively music inside. Busy spot to make a reservation. Very funky. Recommended

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank StephenCr0ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Buonconvento also viewed

 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Osteria del Buonconvento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing