We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartments”
Review of Diana City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Diana City
Ranked #32 of 138 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Otaki, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great apartments”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have stayed here twice and it's so handy to Sorento town.Very nice large apartment and well serviced.Polite and friendly staff.It is worth climbing three flights of stairs to it.
Supermarket right oposite and also a nice square with a lovely bar and lots always going on.Very short walk down to the Marina Grande with a wee sandy beach and lots of fishing boats.
Very lovely place to stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poodlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    80
    24
    6
    1
See reviews for
34
92
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
- spacious rooms
- convenient for gas station (next door)

Cons:
- entrance is a dirty staircase like the entrance to a backpackers hostel
- parking nearby is 20 euros per night
- noisy
- hotel policies are appalling for the customer. We had booked to stay 3 nights, saw the condition of it when we arrived nd tried to cancel the last nights and stay only the night we arrived. Completely inflexible and enforced fees I've never known any other hotel to do in the same circumstance.
- towels provided are more like thick sheets!
- no breakfast (they call themselves a "bed and bed" so they can still use the term B&B - very misleading).

In short, I got the distinct vibe that the owners just want to get as much money out if you and don't care less whether you are happy. Would definitely not recommend to a friend.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This hotel is 15-20 minutes walking from Sorrento train station. It is located on the second floor of the apartment building. There is no elevator. There is small fridge in the room, and coffee machine in the lobby. Internet connection was good.
The service desk is only open limited hours during day, if you coming really early or later in the day, you would have to arrange it.
Breakfast is basket of cookies, crackers and jams. But it does not matter; food is pretty cheap, good and plentiful at Sorrento. We had coffee and fresh baked goods for 2.50 euro per person on plaza Tasso
Room and bathroom are clean, but small. Our window faced a busy street. The only problem was pillows: Huge, very hard pillows. My neck was stiff 2 weeks after we returned to states….
Overall, I had a good experience. Good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagoBurbsIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

It was a dreary, overcast, rainy day as we trudged the 15 minute walk to the rather nondescript arched doors at Corso Italia #5 from the train station. We rang the bell and were promptly greeted by the ebullient proprietress, Rosa, and her eldest son. Rosa’s son easily hefted our luggage to the second floor reception (thank goodness!). Check in was a breeze. With the aid of a provided map, our questions on Sita bus stops (just around the corner), where to buy bus tickets (tabacchi, practically next door), Pharmacia (less than a block) and restaurants (several) were quickly answered. Our charming room was at the end of an L shaped 3 room corridor that contained a mini travelers library and the welcome ‘Coffee Break’ alcove. The room faced the main street, the hospital and a small supermarket, but the focal point was a large Picasso like painting from his Cubist period over the bed. The explosion of color throughout this intimate property will quickly offset the gloomiest of days. The breakfast basket, free wi-fi, bath sheets and spotless conditions were greatly appreciated. We had chosen Sorrento as a base to explore Capri, the Amalfi Coast and the Pompeii complexes. It turned out to be an excellent choice and Diana City is a perfect base—a couple minutes to the bus stop, ten to the boats and 15 to the Circumvesuviana train. This property deserves special kudos for Rosa’s loving attention to details and thoughtfulness in helping her guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwaysonthego101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The b&b has received good reviews but did not fully live up to expectations in my case.

Positive:
The place is centrally located in Sorrento and easy to find. It's clean and the mostly roomy. Staff was polite and gave good tips when checking-in.

Negative:
There's a hospital located opposite the road. This, together with the fact that all the traffic noise from outside can be clearly heard from the street, adds some discomfort. During the day there are ambulances coming and going every now and then and even during the night the traffic noise may disturb light sleepers.
The accommodation describes itself as a b&b but, in this case, both of the b's mean beds. Hence, in practice there's now breakfast served, only some small cookies which do not pass for breakfast. Maybe some sort of breakfast deal with a local cafe would add vaue for the accommodation!
Moreover, there was no proper heating and for example the shower could be a bit more roomy. After the check-in, the staff was somewhat hard to reach.

All in all, would choose some other accommodation in Sorrento with this price in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Diana City for two nights for New Years in 2012. The hotel was very nice and clean. The two girls who ran the place were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel in very centrally located within easy walking distance of all sites in Sorento (about 10 mins to train station).
The price that we paid seemed excessive for a hotel that didn't have any breakfast (120 euro a night), however I think this is because it was New Year's Eve and the hotel is normally more reasonably priced.
We had a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Extremely central location and the staff was extremely friendly. Cab rides in Sorrento are extremely expensive so it was great to be close to everything and walk everywhere. The rooms are nice and neat but can get a little noisy especially the balcony rooms. If you like quiet ensure you ask for a room inside. Also there is no elevator.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmiSMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Sorrento Relais
Sorrento Relais
#23 of 138 in Sorrento
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison San Paolo
Maison San Paolo
#45 of 138 in Sorrento
101 reviews
0.5 mi away
B&B Casa Reale Sorrento
B&B Casa Reale Sorrento
#27 of 138 in Sorrento
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Piazza Tasso B&B
Piazza Tasso B&B
#14 of 138 in Sorrento
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green House Sorrento
Green House Sorrento
#25 of 138 in Sorrento
212 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Parco Verde B&B
Al Parco Verde B&B
#26 of 138 in Sorrento
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diana City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diana City

Property: Diana City
Address: Corso Italia 5, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Diana City 1.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking on the main street of Sorrento, in a strategic position for your travel along the Sorrento peninsula Sorrento and the Amalfi coast, the b&b Sorrento Diana City is located in the heart of the Sorrento nightlife, close to beaches, typical restaurants, cinemas and theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Diana City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing