We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location but expensive.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Piazzetta Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent location but expensive.”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

These apartments are modern and nicely decorated and having the bed on a mezzanine floor certainly makes them feel slightly more spacious. We found that there was a lack of crockery - we had to share one large cup, and also it would have been appreciated to have had a plug outlet in the kitchenette area - we had to boil the kettle by unplugging the microwave which is hung on another wall and balancing the kettle on top of it! Parking in Sorrento is a nightmare and these apartments do not offer any parking, so if I were to visit again I think I would opt for a hotel that offered parking.

Room Tip: Apartments on the front of the building can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devontraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adele6, Proprietario at La Piazzetta Guest House, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for your review! Sorry about the cup, we forgot to check that everything was in place, but you could have asked us and we would have given you one and we would have showed you the other switch (just under the table), so you could have put the kettle on the table ;)
All the best,
Adele Carciati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    98
    19
    3
    0
See reviews for
70
215
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at La Piazzetta in beautiful Sorrento. We rented an apartment so that we could shop for our own groceries and cook some of our meals. It was nice to have a separate bedroom that could be closed off from the kitchen/sitting room. Our rooms were well furnished with a comfortable bed, strong bedside lamps, an iron and small ironing board, dishes, pots and pans, a few basics for cooking (including two stove top espresso makers which Valentina patiently explained to me how to use), and tons of drawers for someone who is there for an extended stay. Our room had two balconies that face Sant’ Antonino Square- a busy, but not too noisy square. The tall windows let in a lot of welcome light during the day, but shutters did a good job of darkening the room when necessary. Valentina was very helpful and always answered my questions with a smile. It was an easy walk to the Circumvesuviana train station when we took a day trip to Pompeii and was close to the grocery store, laundromat, David's Gelato :o), and tons of shops.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adele6, Proprietario at La Piazzetta Guest House, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Beth,
thank you so much for your excellent comments, we really appreciated them! Hope you will return one day so that we can enjoy one of your marvellous express coffeee :D
Kind regards,
Adele Carciati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in mid may to attend a friends wedding in Sorrento. The rooms are modern, clean and tidy. The location is very good and is a close walk to most places we needed to get to, including the sea front.

Our safe didnt work, but this wasn't an issue as I left my wallet in the room after checkout and Valentina very kindly rushed o the bs station to return it to me personally just before our bus left. I am very grateful and appreciated the effort and honesty! The staff were friendly and helpful.

The apartments are on a lovely square, which was a bit noisy in the mornings, but the double glazed windows were fairly good, so it didn't really disturb us at all.

The breakfast is served at a small cafe below, but only consists of a coffee and pastry.

In summary, we had a very pleasant stay. La Piazzetta is good value for money, modern, clean and tidy with friendly staff and in a good location, but if you want luxury, this is not the place or you.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiefinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We moved here because our other b&b was full.
It's not a bad place but the Sorrento Belverdere B&B is just up the road and has a better view, very quiet and is 20euro cheaper, we would have preferred to stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 11 very noisey, avoid it if light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adele6, Owner at La Piazzetta Guest House, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for your comments, every criticism is useful , however your remarks surprisingly "insufficient" are not OBJECTIVE. Your room, just rennovated with tasteful furnishings, overlooking the little street down to the harbour. If you'd wanted complete silence you should have said before, because we could have given you a different room. We always seek to content our guests in the best way.
PS You forgot to say that the B&B you mentioned has 6 floors without a lift!
Best regards,
Adele Carciati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed in La Piazzetta for two weeks, and had wonderful time.
Our room was room # 9, very spacious, and bright with the view of Vesuvius on one side, and Piazza St. Antonio on another.

“Location, location, location”. Walking distance to majority of restaurants and supermarket makes this place incredible convenient.

Rooms were well cleaned on daily basis, and Raul was always on top of it.
Valentina on the front desk was very nice and helpful.

We strongly recommend this place!

Room Tip: "Room # 9, with the very big bedroom, and incredible view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewa Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Five girls stayed in the "blue" room. It was clean and modern looking. The balcony was small, but we didn't use it. There was a tv, but it didn't work. The internet connection worked well in our room (so no questions there). The internet helped as we continued to plan our southern Italy experience. There was one bathroom for five girls, not ideal...but we made it work (for the deal we got).
The hotel is close to the train station (6-8 min walk) and port (10 min). We just used the train system when we stay there, but now that I know it is close to the port, I would stay at this hotel again. The famous piazza was 2 mins away...so awesome.
The only downside was the noise. You can hear vehicles traveling through the town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reinuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
104 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel was centrally located for exploring Sorrento. I recommend the airport bus direct to Sorrento which was 10 euros each way, although slightly more expensive than the train it was worth it as it was very convenient and saved the journey from the airport to Naples by bus, and then from Naples to Sorrento by train.The walk from the bus stop was less than 10 minutes downhill to the hotel. We got given a voucher for breakfast in the café downstairs which was a hot drink and pastry, it was ok, but nothing special. The room itself was clean, really big and the bed was comfortable. There was a safe in the room, but no tea or coffee making facilities - so take your own! The hotel was good value and I would recommend it as a base if you want to see the sights, and you are left to your own devices to come and go as you please which suits us fine. By the way...a trip to Capri is a must.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,062 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
878 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Piazzetta Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Piazzetta Guest House

Property: La Piazzetta Guest House
Address: Via San Francesco, 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — La Piazzetta Guest House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in "Piazza Sant'Antonino", right in the historical centre of Sorrento, "La Piazzetta Guest-House" offers rooms and apartments equipped with all comforts and decorated with great attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Piazzetta Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing