We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful hotel in great central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel La Favorita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Ranked #6 of 99 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in great central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just returned from a 10 day stay at La Favorita. It is a stunning hotel visually with
gorgeous decor and furnishings. The public areas such as reception and the bar/lounge
are just amazing with comfortable white leather sofas, lovely artwork and ornaments.
We arrived quite late at night and were given a warm welcome. My husband and myself
had booked a classic room, but were upgraded to a junior suite, which was lovely with
a nice balcony overlooking the pretty gardens with lemon trees. It looks especially good
at night when it is all lit up. The only downside was that my sister was allocated a nice
room but without a balcony as had been advertised in our travel company brochure.
We complained about this, and although there was no other room available that night
she was given the choice of two other rooms the following day, and moved into a room
with a balcony by the afternoon. This was done without any fuss or argument from
management. Overall, the staff there are excellent, particularly the charming maitre d'hotel,
Roberto. The breakfast was good in a lovely calm dining room. A little 'cake heavy'
for my taste, but plenty of healthier options such as fresh fruit, yoghurts etc. A few
hot options like scrambled eggs, frankfurters and bacon, and some rather unusual
offerings like lasagne, chips and peas! The roof-top terrace is wonderful with
spectacular views over the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius.
We would definitely return to this hotel and would recommend it to others. It could not
be in a better location for the old town, piazza tasso etc. With a few minor tweaks
I am sure that it could achieve 5 star status. It is definitely the best 4 star we have ever
stayed in.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden have a side sea view and a gorgeous view at night over the beautifully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda1953186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We have received your excellent review on our hotel and we thank you!

We are really pleased to receive such a detailed description of our hotel's service as the one you made: describing our good service, our nice rooms, our huge breakfast.

Thank you again for your time and please do not forget to come and stay by us once again.
In the meantime, please accept our best regards.


Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,225
    173
    33
    9
    10
See reviews for
281
877
30
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have been at this awesome gem for four years and counting. It is such a good feeling to stay there and take in the pleasures of Sorrento. We salute Manager (Mario) and his hardworking staff, who strive to keep their guests happy. The fellow, who manned the reception desk at night, I believe his name was Antonio, deserves special mention for his warmth and friendliness. A very nice buffet breakfast is included. We, also, enjoyed their restaurant for dinner and lunch on several occasions. Again, the staff, led by Roberto, was great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RNL568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We received your excellent review on our hotel and we thank you!

We are really pleased to read that our hotel is compared by you to an awesome gem with its brilliant staff, its nice rooms, its fabolous roof top area etc etc.

Please do not hesitate to come and stay by us for the fith time next year and in the meantime, please accept our best regards.


Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

this was our second stay in La Favorita ... and it didn't disappoint again !
we had a ground floor room with a garden view and a mosaic water feature which was really nice .....I would definitely go for a garden room if we stayed again.
The room was as expected ....spotlessly clean and the bathroom had a massive walk in shower.
We chose to stay in this hotel again mainly due to its central location ......its a minutes walk to the Sorrento Lanes which is great.
We had a late flight home and the hotel provided a courtesy room for a shower etc before we left ....nice touch
The staff are all really professional and are all ready to help fine tune my Italian phrases....special mention to Roberto the Head Waiter and Paulo at the Pool

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel .....I understand its becoming a 5 star next year !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petemcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We received your excellent comment on our hotel and we thank you!

we are very pleased to know that our hotel with its rooms, its nice rooftop, its service was as expected by you.

We really hope you would come and stay by us once again and in the meantime, please accept our best regards.


Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We selected this hotel for a two week package holiday in September because it sounded modern and smart, and was very central. In a previous stay in Sorrento we had to walk 15 minutes into the centre.

The initial impressions were excellent, with a short drive into some pleasant gardens, an enormous lounge with reception situated close to the entrance, a friendly and efficient welcome and transfer to the room. The third floor superior room itself was of good size, all white with walls and ceilings, just splashes of blue in the soft furnishings, and a riotous set of floor tiles. There was plenty of cupboard and drawer storage for a twoweek stay. The bathroom was extremely well appointed, with excellent fittings, a full width unit and mirror, and a continuation of the white and tiled theme. There was a long balcony accessed by sliding door and with an efficient drop-down electric blind. Terracotta tiles to the floor, and lots of plants in tubs to provide some screening from the adjacent apartments.

The only meal in our plan was breakfast. This was buffet style, in the first floor restaurant, with steady and conscientious replenishment. There was slightly too much emphasis on fancy pastries at the expense of a better range of cereals for our taste. Service everywhere was exemplary. There was an option to take breakfast on the dining room balcony or even in the gardens.

The fourth floor roof top pool was small but well kept, and the surrounding umbrella, bed and towel arrangements efficiently managed. There was some entertainment and the possibility of eating on this roof terrace most evenings.

We had a thoroughly pleasant stay here. Minor quibbles included the very late average time for the room to be cleaned each day (typically around 3pm) and the inevitable scraping noises each early evening from above as the sun beds were being dealt with in some way! The enormous reception lounge and the first floor lounge were spectacularly large and well furnished, but somehow lacked a welcoming personality. It was rare to see many people relaxing in these surroundings.

It was obvious from walking outside the hotel and sitting in the garden that not all rooms were as nicely situated as ours. Those on lower floors and also closer to the surrounding buildings would not have felt as light and airy as ours.

The central location was indeed convenient, just one block back from the cliffs, and extremely close to the central area. All the surrounding roads seemed fairly quiet, so the usual price of a central location of lots of street noise did not seem an issue at all.

Room Tip: Higher the better I would think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ath75t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We have received your excellent review on our hotel and we thank you!

We remained particularly impressed by your detailed description of our hotel: from the ground floor where reception is, up to the roof top area where our bar and restaurant are, with its marvellous panorama on the Gulf of Naples.

Please do not hesitate to come and stay by us once again.

Best Regards.

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have been coming to Sorrento for 12 years, staying at another hotel which sadly hasn't moved with the times, so we decided to try the Favorita, having popped in for a look around last year. We were tremendously happy with the change. The hotel is perfectly situated in the town, great views from its rooftop lounge and swimming pool. The staff could not have been more helpful and upbeat. The room was light and airy and well appointed. The breakfasts, snacks and occasional dinners we had were very good. The hotel reception areas, lounges etc are stunning and welcoming. We had a great time and will be returning next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wiretours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,


We are very pleased you had a great time at the Grand Hotel La Favorita and we want to thank you for having shared your time with Trip Advisor in order to express your excellent comment on our hotel: its service, its rooms, its rooftop panorama and its food.

Do not forget to coma and stay by us once again and in the meantime pelase accept our best regards.


Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We warmly recommend La Favorita. We stayed there for a week during mid-September, partly to get away from the UK for a while, but more to do some sightseeing with our 19-year old daughter who is interested in volcanoes. The hotel offers excellent service at every level. The rooms are kept spotless, the reception staff could not be more helpful, and the restaurants are outstandingly good. Indeed we spent much of our evenings on the rooftop, either having drinks at the bar or dining at the outdoor restaurant. We especially enjoyed the company of Roberto, the restaurant manager, who was always available to give friendly advice about the food and to entertain us about life in Sorrento. Also worth mentioning that the rooftop has great views over the Bay of Naples. La Favorita is in the more historic part of town and is well placed for shopping, eating out and taking trips across the bay to Capri. We also found time to see that volcano as well as visit Pompeii and Herculaneum.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the sea, you will need a room above the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n0rman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We received your excellent review on our hotel and we want to thank you!

We are very pleased you had a lovely time at Sorrento enjoying your stay at the Grand Hotel La Favorita and enjoying as well all the excursions to the beautiful and historical places of the area: Vesuvio, Pompei, Capri etc.

We really hope you would come and stay by us again and in the meantime, please accept our best regards.


Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in May 2012. It is a beautiful hotel less than 5 minutes walk from the main square. Our room was huge, with a huge comfy bed and a huge bathroom and overlooked the garden terrace. Their is a pretty rooftop pool and garden area with a rooftop bar where you can sip your drink and look out over the sea to Vesuvious. The décor is traditional Italian with a modern twist. The main foyer is huge with plenty of white leather sofas, marble floor and a huge crystal chandelier. To get upstairs you can take the amazing mirrored lift - even the ceiling was mirrored. All staff were friendly and helpful and we got a voucher for welcome drinks when we arrived. The was a good selection for breakfast to suit the majority of tastes. I loved the tasty bread with fresh ricotta and a few beautiful green olives and cherry tomatoes. Lots of pastries and cakes for those with a sweet tooth. When we visit Sorrento again we definitely want to stay here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We have received your excellent comment on our hotel and we thank you!

We are very pleased to read that you had a marvellous stay at the Grand Hotel La Favorita enjoying our food, our service, our good location and our gorgeous roof top terrace panorama.

We really hope you would come and stay by us once again and in the mean time, please accept our best regards.


Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 99 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 890 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#7 of 99 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 2,134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 99 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 829 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#2 of 99 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 99 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel La Favorita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel La Favorita

Property: Grand Hotel La Favorita
Address: Via Tasso Angolo | Piazza Vittorio Veneto, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 99 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel La Favorita 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel La Favorita is a new recently inaugurated hotel surrounded by lush Mediterranean gardens. A hidden gem situated in the heart of historical centre yet only a few steps away from the most stunning terraces of Sorrento wich offer a spectacular view of the bay of Naples and Sorrentine Peninsular.The Hotel'scomforts structure and professional staff, will ensure our guests a most enjoyable and rememberable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel La Favorita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing