We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most delightful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Ranked #6 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Trinity, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The most delightful hotel”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights, traveled all around the Amalfi coast and came back every night with a smile, could not wait to get to this hotel. The rooms are beautiful, we had balconies over looking the Bay of Naples on the 3rd floor.. Our breakfast every morning was supurb, the service so great . On days that we had not planned something the front desk helped us to get to some amazing places. At this hotel your in walking distance to it all. The port for the ferry to Capri, the bus station to go to Positano and spend the day. Wonderful. Every night after dinner we would walk the streets lined with shops, go into a cafe and of course have the best gelato! This was my 5th time to Italy and the second time to Sorrento and I wish I would have known about this hotel before. It is such an amazing place, beautiful, clean , the best service with a smile, I highly recommend this hotel to any and everyone. By the way if your there in the warm months the pool and deck and bar area is magnificent!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Valued guests,
We have recevied your good notes on our hotel and we thank you!
We are pleased you had a fantastic holiday at the Grand Hotel La Favorita, and we are happy you praise so much our service, our rooms, our position, our breakfast etc. etc.
We hope you would visit Sorrento for a third time and we reallly hope to welcoming you again and again.

Please accept our best regards.


Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,385
    190
    38
    10
    10
See reviews for
324
974
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights and used it as a base for visiting other places near by. The hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the train station (and where the bus from the airport to Sorrento drops you off). The hotel is modern and impressive to look at. Our room was on the third floor and had a view over the orange garden. The room was spacious and had a shower over a bath and a good range of toiletries, a pair of slippers and a dressing gown. The only slight problem in the room was the air conditioning which didn't seem to work. Breakfast had cold and hot options and there was something for everyone - cereal, cold meats, crossiants, cake items, fruit and scrambled egg, sausages, bacon. The wifi did work in the bedroom despite having read somewhere to use in communal areas. As we stayed in April the pool and rooftop were not in full use - however we were able to go up there and as the weather was warm we did use the sun loungers and had a couple of pleasant afternoons sat up there. The location is ideal as it is a short walk into town and also to the square which has the lift down to the area the ferries go from. Other positives were the welcome drink and the nibbles that come with these drinks and others we ordered in the bar, the quiet location, a good range of tv channels in English and also a printer being available for guests to use if you want to print out any bookings etc.
Staff were helpful however I did have some concern over exactly what the porter had been doing in the internet room when I went to use the computer to print out some documents....
I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshinegirly86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We have received your good comment on our hotel and we thank you.

We are pleased you remained well impressed by our modern and impressive to look at hotel, by your rooms overlooking the orange garden, by our huge breakfast and by our helpful and professional staff.
We really hope you
would come and stay by us once again.
In the meantime, please accept our best regards.


Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights as a base and couldn't have been better!

When we arrived we where immediately upgraded to a bigger room with a balcony for no reason at all. The room and hotel is clean and beautiful with it own character.

We had a complimentary drink in the lovely bar. The breakfast was the best buffet we had in all of Italy during our trip.

You are minutes away from a breathtaking view too!

Everything in this hotel is superb its a must stay in Sorrento

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dartboy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Valued guests,
We thank you for your good comment on our hotel where according to your imnpressions everything in our hotel has been superb.
We are pleased you had a wonderful stay at the Grand Hotel La Favorita, particularly appreciating its good position and its beatuful rooms.

Please do not forget to come and stay by us once again.
Please accept our best regards.


Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel is located centrally, within 5 minutes walk from Corso Italia - the main street in Sorrento - and 3 minutes walk to the sea (or actually to the high cliff over the sea). It is approx. 15 minutes walk to the train station but I would recommend a taxi if you have luggage as streets in Sorrento are not easy to navigate with heavy luggage.
All the hotel is decorated with traditional terracotta tiles (see pictures) in bright colors. The furniture is new but classic done in local traditional woodwork. It is very clean and all spaces are generous - both the huge lobby and common area on the breakfast floor and the rooms. We had a deluxe and a superior and they were both large with the deluxe being actually too large for two people. Both our rooms were on the second floor which meant that the sea view we had was just a corner of sea, past some trees and the hotel in front. If you want sea views you should make sure you get 3rd floor rooms. We did not get the chance to see the view from the top terrace as it was closed (too early in the season). All views to the hotel garden are however very nice and greatly compensate for the sea view.
Breakfast had a wide choice, mainly on the cold section. The hot section included only scramble eggs, bacon and some sausages. You have to pay extra for eggs done other way. You can however order espresso or cappuccino at not extra cost.
The only three minuses were the fact that beds are very hard (to my taste), the WiFi is very weak and there were noises from the plumbing in one of our rooms.
Sorrento is a great location to explore the Amalfi Coast (by bus or hired car), Pompei and Herculaneum (by train) and especially Capri (by boat). I understand it is very busy in high season but in March it was wonderful.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the hotel garden, regardless of floor. 3rd floor rooms if you want a sea view (of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vacanta_mare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We thank you for sharing your time with Trip Advisor to write such a good comment or on our hotel.
We are pleased you had a lovely and relaxing holiday at the Grand Hotel La Favorita particularly appreciating our hotel's good location, our spacious rooms and our lovely hotel furniture.

We hope you would come and stay once again by us and in the meantime, please accept our best regards.


Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Have just returned from the most fantastic stay in this hotel. This is the best in every respect. The quality and attention to detail is superb and the staff are to be congratulated on their professional and friendly service. The is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in in over 60 years of travelling around the world. You could not find better than this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We are greatly satisfied to receive such a good comment from a person who considers our hotel one of the best hotels has ever stayed in in over 60 years of travelling around the world.

What to say: thank you and please come and stay by us once again.

In the meantime pleaseo accept our best regards.


Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast were to be the highlight of our trip, so it is possible that our expectations were too high. The hotel is well appointed and is in quite a good location. We were pleasantly surprised by the Easter procession which marched right past the hotel at 3am but was fantastic to see up close. I would have hoped for better and more friendly service all round from this type of hotel. We were treated to a surprise Easter treat delivered tp pur room, whoch was very thoughtful. The hotel did not haveuch energy or buzz - seemed deserted, except for breakfast. The room was fine for two guests but not four. The balcony was great to have and the 4th floor veranda/patio would supreme in season. The net is when we return we will likely seek alternate accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We have received your comment on our hotel and we thank you: Eitherr positve or negative our guests' comments always represent for us an occasion to improve.
So thank you again for sharing your time with Trip Advisor.

Anyway we are really pleased you had a relaxing and impressive Easter holiday at the Grand Hotel La Favorita and we really hope you would come and stay again at our hotel.

Please accept our best regards.


Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

A Sorrento Gem.We loved the hotel. The location is perfectly located to the center of the tasso, which allows you to walk everywhere! Beautifully maintained with delicious breakfeast evey morning! The rooms are nice and spacious with intricate tile work from floor to ceiling. Breathtaking views from the balcony, yet quiet enough at night. The staff was extremely helpful, always looking to fufill our needs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveler53160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Valued guests,

We have received your comment on our hotel and we thank you!

We are really pleased to hear that you remained well impressed by our beautifully maintained hotel with its delicious breakfeast, its nice and spacious rooms with intricate tile work from floor to ceiling and its breathtaking views from the balcon.

Please do not forget to come and stay by us once again.

In the meantime please accept our best regards.

Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,066 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,997 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel La Favorita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel La Favorita

Property: Grand Hotel La Favorita
Address: Via Tasso Angolo | Piazza Vittorio Veneto, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel La Favorita 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel La Favorita is a new recently inaugurated hotel surrounded by lush Mediterranean gardens. A hidden gem situated in the heart of historical centre yet only a few steps away from the most stunning terraces of Sorrento wich offer a spectacular view of the bay of Naples and Sorrentine Peninsular.The Hotel'scomforts structure and professional staff, will ensure our guests a most enjoyable and rememberable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel La Favorita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing