We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Ranked #7 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We went to Sorrento in Nov-Dec 2012 for our honeymoon. We had a wonderful stay at the hotel. The staff could converse in English and were very helpful in guiding us around Sorrento. The hotel is centrally located and is walking distance from the Marina, the town centre and the station.
The rooms were big, clean and very comfortable. Our room had an amazing view of the the sea.
The restaurant had a huge breakfast spread every morning. Excellent food!

Room Tip: Pick a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shriyansh_n_Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

We are pleased to learn that your Experience at the Grand Hotel La Favorita has been an excellent one!

Thank you for your good review on our hotel.

We are very glad to know that your honeymoon has been a very special one.

Please come and stay by us once again possibly on your 1st Wedding Anniversary.
We profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.


Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,039 - 1,045 of 1,746 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2012

You will not be disappointed! The hotel is immaculate, tasteful and beautiful, well- located, and well-run with friendly, helpful staff, generous, affordable rooms with balconies, a lovely garden, and a fabulous breakfast buffet. I stayed at Grand Hotel La Favorita for a week in Dec 2012, and although it was chilly and rainy, it was a fantastic experience staying in this charming town and walking the cobbled streets off-season. The tropical setting (orange and lemon trees laden with fruit, cyclamen, palms, cactus), views of Mt. Vesuvius and the sea, outstanding food, and warm people made it a trip to remember. It was my third trip to Italy, and staying in one town to really get to know it and feel like a local was very special. We stumbled upon a wedding and threw rice, sat next to the children’s table of a First Communion party at our restaurant, and ate at a terrific homey restaurant named La Basilica (where the walls are covered with paintings of Mt Vesuvius erupting) a short walk away www.ristorantelabasilica.com or their more upscale sister restaurant next door http://www.ristorantemuseocaruso.com
Sorrento is a great town to explore, or use as a base to visit nearby Positano and the Amalfi Coast, the castle at Vico Equense, Ercolano and other small nearby towns. Looking for a personal driver? Antonio R. at www.luxurylimosinesorrento.com was The Best for our group of 9, delightfully informative, professional and accommodating—also a great driver on those difficult narrow roads.

Room Tip: We were all on the second floor, lovely and quiet. Window shade makes it totally dark for light slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KathyandJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

How we could thank you for such an excellent review on our hotel.

We are very pleased you remained good impressed by everything concerns the Grand Hotel La Favorita from its rooms, its service, its location, its terrace etc. etc.

Please do not forget to come and stay by us once again and in the meantime please accept our Best Regards.


Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Delightful and sensual– The roof top pool area is fantastic with waiter is tuxedo serving from the bar – Same applies to the dining room – Made the mistake of joining members of Insight Vacations on the first night when they were roped into a hugely overpriced (about $70 each) meal of spaghetti and beer that involved a trudge up hill for two blocks – Used the Hotel’s dining room after that – waiters presentation and style equal to The Ritz in London - food and wine first class and very reasonably priced – Room was very nice – However with all tiled floors any sound in the corridors at night is amplified – although not a problem for us after our dinners and wine – No after effects when overindulging in the wine here – I’m told it is because of the smaller amount of preservatives than are in Australian wine – Very “feminine” design throughout – We were told the owners wife designed it

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tired-old-dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

We have been very pleased to receive such a good review as yours.

We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely time at the Grand Hotel La Favorita, enjoying its beautiful roof top area with its outhbreathing panorama and its luxury hotel's service.

We hope you would come and stay by us again in a near future and in the meantime we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.


Mario Damianop
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here on the second leg of our honeymoon. If it had been on the fist leg, we would have just stayed there the rest of the time. Such a beautiful hotel. The rooms were clean and bright, the people working there were very helpful, telling us good local restaurants to eat at, setting us up on day tours, calling taxi's for us that didn't rob us blind. Loved going up on the rooftop by the pool, having a cocktail or a cappucino. Saving our money to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. Even if you've got a view of another building, it's so peacef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsBattsNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

We received your review on our hotel and we thank you!
We are very pleased you remained good impressed by our hotel's service,by our hotel's rooms and food.

We would be pleased to welcoming you again possibly on your first Wedding Anniversary.
In the meantime, please accept our best regards.

Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here the middle of November 2012. This property held nothing back when constructed. The premises are beautiful and the location is in the heart of the old city. The problem is the noise. On November 1st the air conditioning is shut off and the heat is turned on. This means you can only have heat. The temperature was quite warm for this time of year so it was very uncomfortable without opening the balcony doors for circulation (the hotel is stuffy without air movement). Everyone was complaining because when you open the doors for air, the traffic noise is very loud. There is a school nearby and a bar with lots of activity so there is constant motorbike noise and cheering from football spectators at the bar ..either way you are going to hear it and hear it most of the night...Why not turn on the air you say,( I say) because they can't. I will bet this was great in October with the air on and the balcony doors closed at night..everything else was great.

Room Tip: Some have limited views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ft_Myers_Fl_BigBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Valued guests,

We received your comment on our hotel and we thank you!

We are pleased to read that you spent a lovely time at the Grand Hotel La Favorita , enjoying its fantastic position, in the historical centre of Sorrento and its wonderful rooms.
We are sorry for the noisy trouble you had and that came from the street and we are sorry for the airconditioning system trouble too, that, we kindly inform you, does not depend on us as the passage from cold to heated air is automatically settled.

We hope you would come and stay by us once again and in the mean time, please accept our best regards.


Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We recently spent two nights at Grand Hotel la Favorita and it was a highlight of the three weeks spent in Italy/Greece. From the moment you were greeted by the concierge, to the high quality of the rooms with exceptional views, to the outstanding breakfast...the entire experience was first class! The beauty and elegance of the entire facility is only highlighted by the professional and personable staff. The location of the hotel made it very easy to get to the boats for Capri and for touring the Amalfi Coast, but also great for walking around the streets of Sorrento. We are looking forward to a return visit!!!

Room Tip: Request a room that has a view/balcony...it is so relaxing to sit and enjoy the Bay of Napoli!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trailsend007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

We have received your review on our hotel and we thank you!
We are delighted to read that your experience at the Grand Hotel La Favorita has been a first class one.
We are pleased you remained well impressed by our excellent hotel service, by our rooms' quality and by our outbreathing panorama.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at our hotel, please accept our best regards.


Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were absolutely amazed by the beauty and elegance of this hotel as we walked into the foyer. The staff were very welcoming, helpful and friendly and they gave us a free upgrade to a deluxe room. We were once again amazed by the beautiful decor of the 2nd floor where the bar and restaurant are, just pure elegance. Our room was stunning, probably the most beautiful room I have ever stayed in in Europe with a beautiful view of the sea from the balcony. Everything was spotlessly clean and elegantly laid out, with loads of extras. The room was very large as was the bathroom where we had a jacuzzi in the large bath and a separate shower. All the furniture in the room is from the famous locally made inlaid wood which is superb and everything is just simply top quality and luxurious. The hotel is very centrally located, just minutes walk from the centre, although it is very quiet. I cannot praise the hotel enough and am looking forward to going back again. Highly recommended if you are looking for something extra special. Good value for money too.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing. 3rd floor rooms are deluxe rooms with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

How we could thank you for such a good review on our hotel as yours.

We are very pleased you had a fantastic time at the Grand Hotel La Favorita, particularly appreciating our beauty and elegance, our nice rooms and our welcoming and friendly staff.
Do not forget your promise: to come and stay by us once again.

In the meantime, please accept our best regards.


Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,579 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,436 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel La Favorita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel La Favorita

Address: Via Tasso Angolo | Piazza Vittorio Veneto, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range: $184 - $1,119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel La Favorita 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel La Favorita is a new recently inaugurated hotel surrounded by lush Mediterranean gardens. A hidden gem situated in the heart of historical centre yet only a few steps away from the most stunning terraces of Sorrento wich offer a spectacular view of the bay of Naples and Sorrentine Peninsular.The Hotel'scomforts structure and professional staff, will ensure our guests a most enjoyable and rememberable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel La Favorita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing