We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word : WOW”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Ranked #6 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Aalst, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One word : WOW”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Location : the hotel is situated in the old center of Sorrento which is the best location ever. You are in Piazza Tasso (the main square) in under 10 min. Restaurants, shops, bars.. all at your fingertips. Plus there is a truly wonderful view of the bay just a few steps away where you can enjoy the sunset every evening (you can even sit on a bench as there is a small park right there). Location points : def. a 10 !

Rooms : I wanted a single room and most of the time what you get is a dingy room somewhere as far away as possible, with no views at all. Not at this hotel. I got a very spacious room (I thought I would need a GPS to find my way to the bathroom) with balcony and side view of the sea (I have to admint that this was an upgrade due to an overbooking the first night but I did not mind :-). Wonderful ! Bathroom was fantastic with all modcons. There is a bar right outside but the rooms are extremely well isolated (never had this anywhere else) so you don't hear a thing. There are also electronic shutters. You don't even hear anything in the rooms next door which is amazing. Cleaning is done once, sometimes twice a day. There are plenty of towels, a robe, slippers, shampoo, a nail file, etc.... very friendly cleaning lady (at least the one on my floor which was the 1st floor). There are tiles on the floor instead of carpet which is great. The bed matrass is very hard though, prob not for everyone but that's just a minor thing and I still slept well ! Airco also works very well !

Food : the hotel only offers breakfast included in the price. You can have lunch if you pay and you can book dinner on Wed and Sat on the roof top (which is really nice as it's with music.. except when there is a lot of wind!). Have to say that the price for the dinner is quite high for what you ultimately get (30 Euro not incl. drinks). We did not have lunch there as there are so many nice little restaurant to check out (try La Lanterna !). Breakfast is very good, lots of choice ! Very nice dining room and you can sit outside which you really should do.

Swimming pool : is on the rooftop and as long as there is not too much wind, it is simply wonderful ! The views are splendid. The pool is not too big and has the same depth everywhere (1m40). A little less interesting for children but then this hotel - in my opnion - is not very suitable for children.

Staff : cannot say enough. Very friendly, very helpful in all areas. I speak Italian but I noticed that they all speak English. This hotel has mainly British guests (for now).

Negatives : just one. The Internet is not FOC which it should be in such an expensive hotel. There really should be free WiFi everywhere.

On the whole, I would definetely recommend this hotel to everyone ! It is expensive but if you can afford it, then by all means do. It is one of the best I have ever stayed in (and I am not the easiest customer to please :-).

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony or seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy4665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

We received your nice review on our hotel and we would to thank you.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Hotel La Favorita and we will share all your positive impressions with all our hotel's staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in a nearest future, we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.


Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,405
    192
    38
    10
    10
See reviews for
329
987
35
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This is a perfect hotel. We requested ajoining rooms for our girls and had the whole end of the hallway that shut off just to us (204 & 205). Big rooms, big bathrooms, great view, great location. New at only 2 years old.
My parents stayed in 214 and the room was great but not as big as the ones at the end of the hallway. Breakfast is great and the place is very clean.
While in Sorrento we took a Flavor of Sorrento excursion (cooking and eatting class) and it was the best day yet.

Room Tip: Ask for end of hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy20176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Dear Sir.,

We read your positve comment on our hotel and we thank you!

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated our wonderful hotel with its peaceful and great location; our big rooms with their big bathrooms and our great and rich America buffet breakfast daily served at our restaurant.

Do not forget to come and visit us once again.

In the meantime we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.


Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

To say that this hotel is amazing is an understatement. We arrived at the hotel and enjoyed everything from the wonderful breakfast to the pool. Breathtaking views from the pool will not disappoint. This hotel was the highlight of our Italy trip. We stayed in 7 hotels and I have to say this was the best. Definitely stay here if you're given the opportunity!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jv2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Dear Sir.,

We read your positve comment on our hotel and how we could thank you for such an amazing opinion on our amazing hotel.

We are pleased you classified our hotel as the best hotel among the seven hotels you visited during your holiday in Italy.

Please do not forget to come and visit us once again.

We profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

Mr. Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from our honeymoon in Sorrento, where we stayed at the Grand Hotel La Favorita. We absolutely loved this hotel, everything from the beautiful decor, comfortable elegant rooms, the roof top pool and bar, friendly and helpful staff.... the list is endless! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and will definately book here again and recommend it highly to our friends and family. Thanks for making our honeymoon so very special!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladyv33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Dear Sir.,

We read your positive comment on our hotel as a gem of a hotel and we thank you!

We are pleased to have been able to make your honeymoon such a special honeymoon at our hotel with its beautiful decorated and comfortable rooms.

We are really happy you specified that you will be back for more and we promise that we will do our best to make your next stay a memorable one.

We profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Stayed here in room 134 for 2 blissfull weeks in july 11. Had a lovely garden view with balcony overlooking orange & lemon trees. The bedroom was spacious & nicely decorated with a lovely bathroom & was kept very clean by the maid service. Accomodation is B&B though the hotel does have a lovely rooftop restaurant with views of the sea & volcano ! Service was exceptional. Breakfast was always a delight though my wife did struggle to meet the 10 am deadline on a few occasions. Only thing I could suggest for improvement would be a tea/coffee facility in room. Highly recommended & would love to return .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D28boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Dear Sir.,

How we could thank you for such a positve comment on our hotel: a really faultless hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated our well maintened garden with its lemon and orange trees; our nicely decorated bedrooms and above all our exceptional service.

We daily try to do our best to make our guests' stay a memorable and pleasent one.

We hope you come and stay by us once and once again and in the meantime we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Spotlessly clean, generous sized room, massive comfortable bed, balcony - we had a great time. A member of staff came and rescued us when we got stuck in the Sorrento one way system (and the centre of town is closed by the police at 7pm) after a long days drive in our own car. They could not have been kinder and more helpful. Nice to see restaurant and front of house staff who take such pride in offering high quality, courteous service. We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B00Tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear Sir.,

We received your positive comment on our hotel and we thank you!

We are pleased to hear that you had a great time at our hotel and that you remained impressed by the kindness and helpfulness of our staff and by our hotel's high quality and courteous service.

We really hope you could come and stay by us once again.

In the meantime we profit of the occasion to send you oru best regards.


Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Beautiful new hotel. georgeous grounds and rooms. Still working out electrical problems in the room I stayed in, but overall, great location.
Staff were great . Close to shopping, restaurants. Great breakfast buffets. Beautiful bathrooms.
Bonus surprise -Nice rooftop pool and bar

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerimack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear Sir.,

We read your postive comment on our hotel and we thank you!

We are pleased to hear that you got in love with our fantastic hotel and that you to come back again if only to admire again its gorgeous grounds and rooms and to be helped and satisfied by its great staff.

Please, maintain your promise: be our guest once again and very soon.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and in the meantime we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.


Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,086 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,053 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel La Favorita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel La Favorita

Property: Grand Hotel La Favorita
Address: Via Tasso Angolo | Piazza Vittorio Veneto, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel La Favorita 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel La Favorita is a new recently inaugurated hotel surrounded by lush Mediterranean gardens. A hidden gem situated in the heart of historical centre yet only a few steps away from the most stunning terraces of Sorrento wich offer a spectacular view of the bay of Naples and Sorrentine Peninsular.The Hotel'scomforts structure and professional staff, will ensure our guests a most enjoyable and rememberable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel La Favorita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing