We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ristorante”
Review of Il Pozzo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Pozzo
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very nice, calm and friendly service, dishes are fresh, tasty. The price is okay and the waiters are fast and friendly, too. The preparing longs a bit, but the meals are very good. The music is typically italian, wunderfil mandolin and old american film-songs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reinhard p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 74 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

We booked Il Pozzo as a base whilst in Sorrento for a wedding. For this purpose it was fine, our studio apartment was clean and had everything that we needed. Real downside was that there was no outside space and very little light- only one small window looking out to lane (I realise that this is not the case with all the apartments so make sure you specify if its an issue for you). I did realise this might be a possibility but given price I wasnt too bothered, but in hindsight I wouldnt book this particular room again as it did become a bit claustriphobic and was very envious of friends sunning themselves on their verandas! It is in a very central location and very handy for our purposes, felt very secure and there was a safe for valuables in room. Free Wi-fi was great bonus. Massimo was extremely helpful on our arrival and spent alot of time with us giving useful information on the area. Great if you are just looking for a budget 'base', but I wouldnt want to stay for more than a few days, luckily what we saved on this accomodation we managed to splurge a bit more on our accomodation for 2nd week!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nmacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Perfect location in the heart of the Old Town over the restaurant. Studio with kitchenette and patio in the middle of the real Sorrento! Street noise is part of the ambiance but can be blocked out for sleeping by insulated glass. Great owners and just a few minutes away from everything!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was a wonderful place to stay. Massimo, our host, could not have been more helpful. He even brought us a jug when he realised we used instant coffee, and also helped us to extend our stay on Sorrento when we changed our plans. The studio apartment was airy and roomy, and we had heaps of space for clothes,personal belongings etc.

The apartment is on the wonderful, atmospheric old part of town, and just a two block walk from the swimming area, which is wonderful on summer. There is noise at night, but that is art of the atmosphere, and it becomes quiet early.
We had a wonderful time, and thanks for everything Massimo.



  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed early July as a couple using Sorrento as a base to see Pompeii, Almafi and Capri. We were given the studio overlooking the street.

Pros:
- LOCATION! This was the take home message for us about this place was that it was in a really good location in 'historical centre' of Sorrento which meant:
- Huge array of restaurants, nearby supermarkets, shopping
- 10 minutes to the port using the lift (1 euro pp one way) and both private and public beach and decked areas.
- 15 minutes from railway station and bus station
- Competitively priced, we booked quite a few months in advance and it was the cheapest accommodation we found online in Sorrento.
- The owner Massimo was incredibly helpful and personable and made us feel very welcome.
- Free Wi-fi - always useful!
- It had a safe and two locked doors before you reached your room, one of which was double lock door, although security wasn't an issue stuff like this reassures us.

Room for improvement?
- The room was not attended too (cleaning, new sheets or towels) during our 6 night stay which means it didn't feel very clean by the end of our stay. But please note we didn't raise this because it wasn't a massive issue for us, am sure if we did the owner would have been very responsive.
- The noise/street ambience' for others - this has been pointed out in other reviews. The window does cut out a lot of noise but I was woken up a few times during the night and early hours by enthusiastic people. This wasn't an issue for me but might be for some. Again not raised as it wasn't an issue.

Otherwise highly recommended for people who do not mind a budget, basic studio room, a perfect base to explore the rest of the region and who would use the money saved booking this place on enjoying the rest of what the region has to offer. We didn't cook, but used the fridge and made sandwiches and snacks for our day trips so this was useful.

Room Tip: Street room is nice for the atmosphere but might not be others cup of tea but if you're not in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinpin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Self contained, full kitchen (no oven).
Interior 3 star.
Therese friendly and helpful re restaurants and services in Sorrento. We did not see owners again during our 6 night stay.
The apartment had no outlook and the terrace was drab. It really needed a lick of paint and a good hose down to clean it up.
No laundry facilities.
Bathroom nice. Clean, new and fresh.
Pillows and linen need to be updated.
We absolutely loved Sorrento and as mentioned above, this is an ideal base however would not recommend or stay here again.
Accommodation over restaurant, can be noisy if doors open.
Church a few doors down, lovely to hear the choir and the bells ringing.
Location was great, very close to all restaurants, sights etc.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warners1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very comfortable, lots of storage space, amazing location.
A little noisy especially on Saturday night, but worth it. 5 minutes from sea front, 10 minutes from ferries and cruises. Walkable to railway and bus station.
Easy to self cater.
A little difficult to find. Late Rooms listed the address as Via Tasso, street name plate read Strada Tasso.
Massimo really helpful

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue62derbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tirrenia
Hotel Tirrenia
#63 of 100 in Sorrento
389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sycamore Hill
Sycamore Hill
#89 of 143 in Sorrento
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Pozzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Pozzo

Address: Via Torquato Tasso 32, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Sorrento
Price Range: $102 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Il Pozzo 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartaments "Il Pozzo” are located in the heart of the historic center of Sorrento, on the first floor of a building of 1800, ad 50 meters to the historic residence of Torquato Tasso.Ideal for any kind of excursion and central for shopping, have also the proximity of the best restaurants of the city and with different clubs (discos, pubs, piano bars, etc..)The property offers elegant mini apartments newly renovated and equipped with every comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Il Pozzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing