We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Not worth the view"”

Marameo Beach Restaurant
Ranked #166 of 273 Restaurants in Sorrento
Price range: $37 - $54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Il ristorante Marameo,situato sul mare, vi offre una cucina tipica mediterranea in una cornice suggestiva e romantica come quella della Costa di Sorrento. Chef accreditati garantiscono un alto livello qualitativo dei cibi.
Matawan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“"Not worth the view"”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

There is no doubt that the sun setting on the Bay of Naples is a beautiful sight. Marameo Beach Restaurant is perfectly located, however the service was very poor, the portions were tiny, and the meals were seriously over priced. They wheel around a cart of their fresh fish for the day. If you do not choose one of these fish specials, the desire for them to serve you drops to the bottom of the barrel. The food, what little of it there was, was tasty, but it certainly is not worth the view. There are many other places where you can enjoy the stunning sunset without feeling like you've been raked over the coals.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tinamarie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    52
    36
    18
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Action in day day, romance at night”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I live in Sorrento and as soon as I have some time off I love to come down here for a swim. Great service and peaceful spots in the sun. At night it turns into the most romantic location for a dinner right on the water overlooking all of the bay of Naples and the cliff of Sorrento above, peaceful and delicious food for a special dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank francescom72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good location, not worth money though”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Service good but portions were tiny! For two main courses and water each it cost the guts of 50euros. No menus were displayed outside so i did not know it was seafood only which i hate. One thing on the menu that i could stomach-ravoili. Four pieces only. We left and got a pizza from a snack bar. Lovely location and staff were friendly enough but felt uneasy throughout.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doonbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lido but service not great”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent a very enjoyable day on the lido here whilst visiting Sorrento. The sun loungers are extremely comfortable & the views are amazing both out to sea & looking back at the cliff faces of Sorrento.

The water is crystal clear, with steps down into the sea & floating sun loungers, which are great fun to navigate the first time you attempt them.

There is waiter service all day long whilst you are they which is great but sometimes we got a little fed up on being asked if we wanted anything.

When we did eventually order our lunch is took over 45 minutes to arrive & my husbands toastie with chips had to be sent back as it was cold. Really by the time his lunch finally arrived he had gone past it!

We saw people around us who appeared to go there regularly & had bought along their own snacks, drinks, etc which seemed to be acceptable.

The cost for a couple of sun loungers, towels, umbrella & table is 30 euros, so not cheap but worth splashing out on as an alternative to the hotel pool.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JosieB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale, az
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Pricest meal in Sorrento”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

When my husband gets the bill for over $130 at this restaurant, he's bound to ask who else was at dinner besides my 11 year old son and me? Let me just say that I only had one glass of wine to boot! Well, we were reeled into this tourist trap, hook line and sinker by our hotel's concierge. The $60 fish encased in salt entrée yielded about 2 ounces of fish each. Yes, the food was delicious, but seriously, even this view wasn't worth the price of this place. Delfino's was just as good and 1/2 the price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marameo Beach Restaurant also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Marameo Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing