We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B in Sorrento”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sorrento
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Adriana Guesthouse Sorrento
Ranked #43 of 143 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Location

On a quiet street about 15 minute walk to the train and bus station with luggage. The walk to the main town centre is about 10 minutes. The villa is located in a quiet area with a school and bowling centre nearby. The Hilton is behind.

Villa

There is a small pool and loungers. Also a washing machine and yard to hang it up if necessary.

Wi-fi is only available on the ground floor at the lounge and dining area. There is a laptop that guests are welcome to use.

Rooms

We stayed in the Queen Terrace 1 on the first 2 nights, before moving to the Queen Deluxe. Another guest had booked the Queen Terrace 1 on our last night. Vittoria gave us the option of staying at the Queen Deluxe throughout, but we wanted the views and balcony from the Queen Terrace.

Queen Terrace has a nice balcony with loungers, complete with that little ‘roof’ to shelter your face. There is a lovely sea view. The room itself is huge! There is lots of space and it could probably fit another single bed comfortably.

The Queen Deluxe is a smaller room on a floor down. It was still more than comfortable for the 2 of us, and had a huge bathroom with both a shower and a tub. It could even fit a massage table as we did the in-room massage (Vittoria and Rosy are happy to call the masseuse over). There is no terrace but a small balcony.

We could hear the neighbours moving in and out of their rooms, but it was not a problem for us. I got wake-up calls from a cock in the neighbourhood crowing at 4.30 every morning; hope it gets its body clock re-timed with the seasons.

There was a decent breakfast spread with bread, cereal, cheese, ham, yogurt, fruit and biscuits. Vittoria and Rosy will help make coffee or chocolate for you.

Vittoria owns the place and Rosy helps to run it. They were helpful when we needed their advice. Last minute, they helped us book a driver for a day when we decided over breakfast to make a trip to Paestum. The driver arrived in 45 minutes. We borrowed a guide book from their well-stocked book shelf to take with us. Because of this day trip, they also helped re-arrange the massage that was booked earlier.

Villa Adriana is not centrally located, but is a pleasant walk to the main town centre. We stayed at Villa La Contessina, before moving to Villa Adriana, primarily for the sea views from the terrace. A lovely B&B to get away from it all!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juzatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 230 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

Superb, wonderful service and supreme kindness from the two Ladies of the house. You would be mad to stay anywhere else in Sorrento. Excellent light and airy room, a very fine breakfast in the morning, and an excellent situation away from the bustle of the centre of Sorrento.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubbleblowernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I think there must have been a change of management as no sign of Andrea or Valerio, but Rosy and Vittoria were very welcoming, helpful and friendly, with good English, and made efforts to give a high level of personal service.

Our room, Queen Terrace 1, had a view from the terrace over the bay and to Vesuvius, and was very spacious and clean, lots of hanging space, fridge, decent sized bathroom (but no bath, if that matters to you). Nowhere to sit on the terrace however - presumably because low season. The bed was a little on the firm side for my liking but this is obviously a matter of personal taste. Shower worked well and room was warm enough while we were there (although sunny, it dropped a bit chilly at night). Spacious guest lounge with honesty bar. Plentiful buffet breakfast with good, freshly made coffee.

They arranged parking in a secured compound nearby. We hardly used the car while there, which was probably wise, as the standard of driving in Italy was the worst I've ever seen anywhere in the world!

Town itself is pretty touristy, but we'd expected this. Would certainly recommend a B&B rather than a hotel in Sorrento, as most of the hotels seem to be used by package holiday companies with long queues at check in/out, something I always find immensely frustrating.

Spent one day on Capri, which was lovely once you got away from the crowds (recommend the walk to the Natural Arch and back to Capri town along the coast - fantastic). Though, as almost everywhere in Italy, the queue for the funicolare tickets was populated by people making an immense fuss and taking an inordinate amount of time to conduct a simple transaction - when I finally got to the booth it took about 20 seconds - and I don't speak Italian.

Took the train to Pompeii - the station is a minute's walk from the entrance. The site was amazing, absolutely fascinating, gives you a real sense of history. Take note though that away from the main drag where most visitors congregate, the peripheral areas, although very interesting, have little or no interpretation, although there is still plenty to see here and it's quieter, away from the tour groups. We relied on our Naples area guide book but it could obviously only give a very superficial picture. The town covers a much larger area than I imagined, and you can get a good view over it if you head up some steps to the building housing the toilets (it looks as if there are various concession stands outside here also during the summer) and walk down a short track alongside a hedge and turn left. It wasn't signposted but you get a good impression of the extent of the site.

We also walked up to the summit of Vesuvius from the car park above Ercolano, (which is the way the guide books send you). It's an easy walk, but I was rather dismayed to find a souvenir tat shop right on the edge of the crater. There is another road on the other side of the mountain, I don't know if it is less commercialised that side.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alchemilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Lovely home, we were made very welcome. Terrace suite was very comfortable. Family suite was great for my kids, as it was 2 rooms with a shared bathroom. Rosy and Vittoria were very helpful, especially giving advise about the surrounding area. Breakfast was continental style, with good choice. Was about 5 minute walk to centre of Sorrento, but didn't mind as we used a few calories up from eating all the lovely Italian food! We had a brilliant time.Thank you. Would definitely stay at Villa Adriana again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stickytoffeepudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful few days on the Amalfi coast. We stayed 5 nights with Andrea, Valerio and their gorgeous young daughter Mila in their fantastic guest house in Sorrrento. The house is fabulous. It is spacious with a large sitting room, breakfast area with an outside patio, swimming pool and lovely grounds. Unfortunately, as it was November, we could not use the swimming pool but I guess that gives us an ideal excuse to go back again in the summer. We stayed in Bedroom No 1 which is a very good size and extremely comfortable. It has a balcony with sun loungers and terrific views over the Bay of Naples.
Andrea and Valerio are both fluent in Italian and English, completely charming and really make you feel part of the family. Nothing is too much trouble for them. They are very knowledgeable about this area of Italy and recommended the places to visit and where best to eat in Sorrento, the Amalfi coast and Capri. They both love travelling and this was evident in how interested they were in our trip and how they did everything possible to make it such a great success. We will be back.

Room Tip: Room No 1 has balcony and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

There is a good reason why Villa Adriana gets such great reviews..it is a magical experience.From the moment you walk into the beautiful home and are greeted by Andrea,to the delicious cappucino's in the morning prepared by Val and the comfie beds in lovely decorated rooms this spot is a slice of Heaven.Plan to be treated like family by Andrea,Val and their baby daughter Mila..they are ever ready to help in booking side trips-making restaurant suggestions and anything else in between that you feel may need their attention.Their home is spotless and so comfortable you will want to stay forever.We would never stay anywhere but Villa Adriana on future trips to Sorrento!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveler5689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

There's not much more I can add to what has been said before about the Villa Adriana. We just returned from almost three weeks in Italy and spent four nights there. The accommodations were by far the best we stayed in. Valerio and Andrea are the most gracious hosts. They are so hospitable and helpful. Val greeted us each morning for breakfast and makes the best cappuccinos! Andrea was able to book us a private tour of the Amalfi Coast and we had the best day! Their home is absolutely spotless. I don't think I've ever stayed somewhere so clean. Our room was spacious and we had the most beautiful view. I can't imaging a better place to stay in Sorrento.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PoolsideBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,734 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Carolina Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,295 reviews
0 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Adriana Guesthouse Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Adriana Guesthouse Sorrento

Address: Via Sant'Antonio 14, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range: $94 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Adriana Guesthouse Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Adriana is located just minutes walk from the vibrant historic Sorrento town centre; making your stay with us quiet and relaxed yet within arms reach of all local attractions, transport and restaurants. We ensure that you are able to enjoy all the quality comforts that you would expect from any hotel but with a warm Italian home atmosphere that will make your stay with us truly unique. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Adriana Guesthouse Sorrento Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing