We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central hotel”
Review of Palazzo Abagnale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palazzo Abagnale
Ranked #32 of 142 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a long drive. The hotel was clean, bright and well located just off the main square in Sorrento. Our room was on the corner of the third floor. Possibly a really nice one in the summer time. However, it rained the whole time we staying in Sorrento and the nice double doors leading onto the balcony area leaked. We had to leave a towel to soak up the water. As a consequence, the room was damp. As with seemingly all twin rooms in Italy, it had tiny twin beds. Breakfast was grand, staff were overall very friendly. Otherwise a nice place to stay for a few nights.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aislinn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
There are newer reviews for Palazzo Abagnale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 633 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

A lovely, clean, central Hotel.

The staff were very attentive and polite. Rooms were immaculate and very clean.

Breakfast was very good - fresh and plentiful.

Would highly recommend to all. A very well run, popular Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAbagnale, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo Abagnale, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Jan,
Thank you so much for your review of Palazzo Abagnale.
I am delighted to know you enjoyed your room, the location and found the breakfast delicious.
We have amazing staff members and I am happy that they made you feel welcome.
We hope to welcome you back soon,

Ciao,

Valentina Cioffi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Had a super stay at Palazzo Abagnale with my sons.

The location is super, right at the heart of town and round the corner from the train station where the Circumvesuviana will take you to Naples, Pompeii, Herculaneum and Vesuvius, and the bus will take you to Amalfi, Positano and back to the airport.

Our room was at the front of the hotel. Good double glazing meant that we were not bothered by the noisy street below. We had a small balcony with a super view of all the people passing by.

The rooms are clean and bright. Ours was white and apple green with pop art on the walls and a wall mounted telly with sky which went down well with the kids. It was very spacious and a pleasure to stay in for the week.

There was a safe, kettle, hairdrier and fridge in the room, all of which we used and found useful.

The breakfasts were included in the price and had something for all of us, from muesli to croissant to fresh fruit and yogurt to ham and cheese. Local cakes were my youngest son's favourite - he basically had cake every day for breakfast. The cappuccinos each morning were delicious.

We found this hotel to be very reasonably priced and whilst we booked through Expedia, we did not experience the issue that another reviewer has reported. We were shown straight to our room.

I would definitely recommend Palazzo Abagnale to anyone visiting Sorrento.

Most of all, though, the welcoming attitude of the staff made this a very pleasant visit. They were friendly, helpful and accommodating.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Sonic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAbagnale, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo Abagnale, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Sonic,

Thank you so much for posting a review about Palazzo Abagnale following your recent stay with us and I am pleased that it was a memorable and that you felt it was wonderful. We are very proud of our little gem.


I am pleased that you enjoyed our warm welcome and that you found the staff to be friendly helpful and professional and that you felt this made the hotel very special.



Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance at any time.

See you soon,

Valentina Cioffi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The location of this hotel is great. It is a bouquet type hotel that is nicely decorated. The staff was super friendly and helpful. We had room facing the main street Corso Italia. The hotel is close to the centre and close to the bus/train station. The only downside is if you are not paying attention you can miss the main single door to the hotel. For anyone who has difficulties walking up and down stairs it could be challenging.

Room Tip: Ask for a room face the main street
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gino830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAbagnale, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo Abagnale, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Gino,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Palazzo Abagnale.
I am delighted to know you enjoyed the room, our property, and especially our staff service,
We have amazing staff members and it is always great to hear nice comments about them.
We hope to welcome you back soon,
Warm regards,
Valentina Cioffi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The location of this hotel is superb, it's very close to the Piazza Tasso & shopping streets. The supermarket opposite is inexpensive & great for gathering picnic bits & pieces. The train station is close by too. The staff are very friendly & the breakfast offers a good range. Tea & coffee is available throughout the day. Our room for three was a huge size with a large TV, fridge & air conditioning. The towels were replaced daily & when we noticed a fault with the shower it was immediately dealt with. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: I can recommend the green 'pop' room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAbagnale, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo Abagnale, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Matt,

Thank you so much for the beautiful comment made about your experience with us.

Indeed, the guests' satisfaction is our greatest gratification.
We look forward to your next visit.

Ciao,

Valentina Cioffi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here very recently and have a mixed review to offer.

On the plus side as others have noted the location of this hotel could not be better; literally a two minute walk to the centre of town and yet surprisingly very quiet inside ( Maybe because our room was at the back ) The hotel was clean and bright.

Our bedroom ( 204) was on the second floor and decorated with a "pop art" theme quite a simple concept requiring matching just bedcovers and space age light shades but room was spacious and comfortable.

On the minus side the breakfast though free was uninspiring, and the bed was on the hard side.

The main problem was the reaction ( or lack of it) to an exceptional event. The night of our arrival there was a severe storm which caused flooding in town including as we returned to the hotel to the disconcerting sight of towels on the floor at the bottom of the stairs. We assumed being on the second floor would have meant nothing to worry about but someone had left the door to the outside stairwell open and rain water had flowed up the landing and into our room.

Finding our room under half an inch of water we went to seek help and found only a night porter who's English was limited - We all spent an hour mopping and soaking up the water and changing bedcovers.
What was so frustrating was that the guy wouldn't/couldn't call the owners and then the next day they were oblivious of what had happened, and ultimately not interested - just an apology would have been nice!

To sum up aside from the failings on the first night this is a convenient and clean place to rest your head aimed mainly at younger couples ( ie MTV on TV in the kitchen room every morning!)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAbagnale, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo Abagnale, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Frank,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback about your stay in Palazzo Abagnale.

It is true that we are in the centre and even if we are on the main street the hotel and the rooms are quite since we have special soundproof windows.

We are very astonished about your words regarding first of all the breakfast.
You define unispiring a buffet breakfast made of fresh pastries and breads ( delivered every morning ), at least 3 differen kind of homemade cakes everyday. Hot focaccia with eggs, bacon or Sorrentine tomatoes and basil. Fresh fruitsof the season, 2 kind of cereals, yogurt of mixed tastes, butter, jam, nutella, honey, biscuits, crackers and melba toast and integral bread, boiled eggs, wurstel, cheese, salami, ham, mortadella, cold and hot milk, american coffee, green tea, lemon tea, English tea and fruit tea served with slices of lemon of Sorrento.
Mineral water, red orange juice and C vitamin juice ( carrots,orange and lemon ). At the moment you can hace for FREE italian cappuccino and neapolitan espresso.
In the breakfast room there is a soft background music, but if it hurted you why you did not ask to change channel or switch off it?!
When you came in our hotel we think it was clear that arriving here you came part of the family and you could ask everything to the staff. We work hard to make the stay of our guests memorable.
As regards the bad storm in Sorrento there was a great emergency that night in the city because of the problem it caused, but it is IMPOSSIBLE that your room was full of water beacuse on your floor there are 4 rooms and nobody had problems. Even if some water was into your room it is not true taht affected the mattress and the bedcover.
The manager was downstair until midnight to watch at the situation.
We are sorry if our night guardian did not clearly understand you but you could use for free the phone into the room to call us.

When the day after the storm you came at the reception of course we said sorry when you complained about the storm and we went into the room first to check and verified that everything was in order.

When you left you said thank you and no one words about the things you wrote.

We will take in consideration all your words.

Regards,

Valentina Cioffi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We could tell immediately that the hotel was designed by women. It was one of the most nicely decorated hotels I've ever seen. We had a quad room - 4 single beds which were quite comfy. The availability of a quad saved us from having to book two rooms, thus saving us a bundle of money. The outside of the hotel is unassuming and easy to miss, but it's right near the main square of Sorrento, so its location is wonderful. The staff was so nice and helpful. We had an early appointment and they served us coffee and breakfast before it was officially open. The only downside was the steps one needs to climb to get to the registration area. No elevator is available at the street level. One of the staff volunteered to help us lug our bags up the steps, which we REALLY appreciated. Another staff member helped us to take them down and the end of our stay. I highly recommend this hotel if you can handle the steps.

Room Tip: The balcony quad room was nice. Even though we looked out over the street, it wasn't too noisy...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TekPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAbagnale, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo Abagnale, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Guests,
I want to thank you for the quick and great review that I’ve received for Palazzo Abagnale.
I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay.
We are waiting for you again as soon as possible.
Together with all the staff I send you our kindest regards,

Valentina Cioffi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#47 of 100 in Sorrento
791 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sorrento Flats
Sorrento Flats
#6 of 142 in Sorrento
919 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sorrento Town Suites
Sorrento Town Suites
#72 of 142 in Sorrento
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Emily Suites
Emily Suites
#14 of 142 in Sorrento
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Piazza Tasso B&B
Piazza Tasso B&B
#17 of 142 in Sorrento
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Room Sorrento
Sea Room Sorrento
#21 of 142 in Sorrento
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Abagnale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Abagnale

Address: Corso Italia 164, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range: $74 - $917 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Abagnale 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Palazzo Abagnale - located in an historical building in the centre of the town. The staff will receive you at the first floor where the reception and the breakfast room are located. From the second to the third floor you’ll find the rooms, just redecorated in a contemporary style. From the classic revisited style to the Pop Art, each ambiance is characterized for elegance and love in details. All the rooms are spacious and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Abagnale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Abagnale Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing