We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected gem”
Review of Palazzo Abagnale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palazzo Abagnale
Ranked #31 of 139 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Hemet,Ca.USA
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Unexpected gem”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our travel agent made the reservatiosns and from the pictures on line of the modern rooms we were not sure what to expect. What a gem! The guest house is conveniently located a few hundred yards between the train/bus station and the main square Piazzo Trasso in a historic building with completly remodeld modern rooms. It was a great base to explore Pompeii, the Amalfi Coast and the beautiful town of Sorrento. The entire staff made us feel welcomed but Elio was outstanding with his Italian coffees and foods served every moning. What a delightful way to start the day. We were lucky enough to get the 3rd floor with a privatae balcony overlooking the street and enjoyed the historic Christmas parade. Our friends were on the other side and had a great ocean/courtyard view. Everything was within walking distance and the restaurants the staff recommended were great. If we go back we know we have found our second home as Elio said. Thank You all.

Room Tip: Get the 3rd floor with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank travelingman&woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allinsrl, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo Abagnale, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
We would like to pass you our utmost appreciation and thanks for issuing your very positive review regarding your recent stay at our Palazzo Abagnale and for recommending it to anyone.

We are more than glad, that we with our service and facilities could provide you a lovely stay upon your first visit to our hotel, which gave you a great impression, so that you are planning to come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    179
    43
    19
    24
See reviews for
120
337
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The rooms are very comfortable and affordable, and it is located conveniently to food, supermarkets, pharmacy, etc. It is a great base for your sojourns to the Amalfi Coast, Capri and the other attractions of the area. And the breakfast is simply divine. Elio makes a wonderful focaccia and makes you feel right at home. This is one of the best places we've ever stayed in Europe, and if we do make it back to the area, we know we're coming back here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank broncoal06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allinsrl, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo Abagnale, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
We would like to thank you for very much for your superb feedback regarding your recent stay with us , which is highly appreciated.

It makes us very happy, that we could convince you with our hospitality and service, so that you felt very pleased and you spent a fantastic holiday with us here.

We are looking forward to your returning to our resort to enjoy once again an excellent stay.

Valentina Cioffi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely stay at this small boutique hotel in Sorrento. The furnishings are smart and modern, but the service is almost old-fashioned. Staff were all courteous and happy to go out of their way to assist us. The restaurants/pizza cafes they recommended were all good. The breakfasts served each morning were really delicious and set us up for the day. One of our twin rooms was quite small, but the room I had at the top of the hotel (up a narrow set of stairs) was really comfortable. It could be hot in summer though. While a little difficult to find, the hotel was well-situated, surrounded by interesting shops, pastry cafes, etc, and walking distance from the railway station, even with suitcases on rollers. We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: I think that top bedroom would be hot in summer - I didn't need to use the heating, in January.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Beautiful rooms, superb location (5 minute walk from train station, 1 minute from main square, 1 minute from supermarket), delicious breakfast and the most amazing staff. Thank You for everything. Jacob, Danka and Marcin Chorostowscy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chorostowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allinsrl, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo Abagnale, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Jacob, Danka and Marcin,

We miss you all! It was great to have you here and to see the happiness of the little Jacob everyday!

We wait for you here again.

Kisses,
Valentina Cioffi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I spent three very wonderful nights at Palazzo Abagnale.
Everything was just perfect , from our very swish black and white suite, to super friendly and helpful staff, to the buffet breakfast (home baked focaccia and fruit loaves, and coffees to order), even the housekeeping was awesome.

If we ever make it back to Sorrento (which I hope we will one day- it is such a charming city and we ran out of time to see all that we wanted to see), we would definitely stay at the Palazzo Abagnale again.

Thank you to Elio for your super friendly service and your Italian lessons, and to the rest of the team. Your professionalism and friendliness set the hotel apart from many others that we stayed in during our travels in Europe.

Room Tip: We had a suite , so this gave us a bit of extra space and represented excellent value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allinsrl, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo Abagnale, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Cherlene,

Thank you for your wonderful words. We really enjoyed have you here with us.
Now you are part of our family and we really hope to have you here in the next future.

Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed in this place between 09/01/13 to 11/01/13. I booked for 4 people and I stayed in Green room. Room was clean and had enough space for my family.
It's near the station and really great location and breakfast was nice.
And the staff!!!! They are sooooo kind and nice.
I should go back to Sorrento :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jooseon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allinsrl, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo Abagnale, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
We really loved to have you with us! It was a big pleasure to meet you.

Thank you for your words and we really hope to have you here again in the next future.

A warm hug from all the staff of Palazzo Abagnale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed in this place between 02/01/2013 to 06/01/2013 in a so called triple room ( BLUE ROOM ) which was was small compared to the photos in the website ,the third bed was a sofa bed which was was extremely uncomfortable. We had difficulty in locating the hotel as it comprises of a number of rooms over shops on the high street accessed by a narrow staircase via which one has to carry their luggage, no lifts.We encountered an unclean room with hair on the bed sheets which my wife pointed out to the reception. No clean bedding was provided till the next morning.
The breakfast is very basic for the price.The service is atrocious as the receptionist, maids and cooks are one and the same people.The shower is dysfunctional and floods the bathroom.No toiletries are provided daily. The furniture is cheap plastic
On the final day we came to the breakfast room at 0805 hrs, the room was dark and there was nothing ready. We waited patiently for over 20 minutes but there seemed to be no urgency in serving us any breakfast despite them being aware that we had a bus to board for the airport at 0900 . We then asked Marica,Mariana and Stephana to pack us some breakfast which also fell on deaf ears.When we lost our cool we were offered 10 Euros as compensation for 3 adults which we did not accept.Mariana resorted to name calling and was extremely rude.
Surely not a hotel for families or couples . A place that is sufficient for back packers at an exorbitant cost.
The gentleman who comes in the morning is an extremely nice person and tries to help. Wifi is good. Good location.
Do not fall into the trap of booking this property as the website is a con, you will find many decent places in Sorrento for a lower price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abhijoy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allinsrl, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo Abagnale, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Abhijoy,
We are really sorry to read these words from your part.

You booked a triple standard room that is the room you get. A room of 28 metres squares equipped with TV sat, direct phone, heating, safe, minifridge. During your stay you never said nothing about the room. We could give you a free upgrade in a deluxe room.
You are complaining about the plastic furnitures. We are sorry if you do not like plastic but above all the furnitures of the famous architect and designer Philippe Starck "KARTELL" . All the furnitures are very expensive and exclusive, it is the style of our hotel.

Palazzo Abagnale is located on Corso Italia, 164, the main street of Sorrento, few metres from Tasso Square and it is clearly indicated on our entrance door. We really do not understand the difficulty of finding it.
We helped you with your bags for the first steps we have to reach the reception, than you took the elevater to go into your room.
As you can read from all the previous reviews all our guest are happy about the cleaning of the hotel and of the rooms.

We have 3 people working at the reception and 3 maids, one for the breakfast and two for the rooms.

As regards the breakfast it is very strange that you are speaking about basic breakfast since we have cold and hot milk, tea, american coffee, italian espresso, cappuccino, cereals, yogurts, differents tastes of fruit juices, differents jams, nutella, fresh croissants and paistries, fresh breads,boiled eggs, wurstel, ham, cheese, salami, italian pizza, butter, home made cakes, fresh fruits and crackers. Is it a basic berakfast? Besides you were very very happy that everyday we prepared a fresh cake and hot chocolate milk for your daughter.

At the end regarding the day of your departure, we had no electricity when you came at 08.05, but 5 minutes later all the lights were on and the breakfast was ready, in fact your daugther was eating a cake. Since you said you were in a hurry our receptionist proposed to go with her at the bar downstairs to have breakfast paying the bill for you. You refused and our maids prepared a bag for you with eggs, fruits and other thing to carry away with you, but you were so angry that you left the eggs on the reception desk and the mandarins in the stairs.

We are very happy that your room is clearly advertised on our website, the pictures are real and our website is not a con like you were saying otherwise how you can explain all the good reviews we have from all other guests?!
We are sorry that you did not like our modern style and taht you considered that Eur 60.00 per room per night for a triple room in the centre of Sorrento is expensive.

In any case we will take in consideration some of your words even if we do not agree, but of course not the offensive one.
Warm regards,
Valentina Cioffi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
787 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sorrento Flats
Sorrento Flats
#6 of 139 in Sorrento
902 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vhome
Vhome
#7 of 139 in Sorrento
199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emily Suites
Emily Suites
#14 of 139 in Sorrento
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Abagnale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Abagnale

Property: Palazzo Abagnale
Address: Corso Italia 164, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Abagnale 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Palazzo Abagnale - located in an historical building in the centre of the town. The staff will receive you at the first floor where the reception and the breakfast room are located. From the second to the third floor you’ll find the rooms, just redecorated in a contemporary style. From the classic revisited style to the Pop Art, each ambiance is characterized for elegance and love in details. All the rooms are spacious and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Abagnale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Abagnale Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing