We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much style, too little substance.”
Review of Palazzo Abagnale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo Abagnale
Ranked #31 of 143 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The pros - hotel is right off the main square. It looks pretty. The rooms have air con. It's clean. The beds were the rock hard side of firm which is how I like them. Safe in room.

The cons. Sadly as part of a larger wedding group who had taken most of the hotel we ended up in the room behind reception which other reviewers have already pointed out is less than ideal. Too small, too noisy, and made you feel like you were in a psychiatric ward cell. Light fitting hanging from ceiling, toilet seat loose, shower door broken. As it was hanging off I was surprised the room service did not report it, we had to. Elio "fixed" it but it lasted less than 1 shower before falling off again.

Breakfast room only seats 10 to 12 at a squeeze so you need to get in early for the sparse offerings although quality was fine. Late risers found slim pickings.

Staff were friendly, although not particularly helpful. I guess it depends on who you are? Having the staff turn up at 6 and start setting up for breakfast when your room is less than 6 feet away and the sound-proofing is nil gets a bit thin when you have been up until 1.30am listening to another guests skype conversation in the "lobby/reception" and all the other guests clunking their way back from various celebrations. Our other guests said they had lovely rooms so it does seem to depend where you are put, but this is not reflected in the price charged for room 1.02.

All of Sorrento is disabled unfriendly due to steps so the hotel is not unique in being a tight squeeze up a staircase where from the 1st floor there is a lift to floors 2 and 3. No roof terrace for guests which is a real shame.

When we tried to engage the staff we got blank looks whilst they finished their conversations. If you were a cynic you might think it was because we were not asking to buy their grannies jewellery or go on one of their organised trips/eat at a friends restaurant. They loved to hang out in the lobby and talk all day and night. Which was not a great deal of fun if you wanted to catch a siesta. And remember, any noise from your room was just as audible to anyone in reception area.....

If you think Premier Inn with lots of designer fixtures and fittings then quadruple the price and take away the cooked breakfast, add a load of disturbance due to no sound insulation and no window to look out of - you have it. There are much better in the area, and there are much worse.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor rooms. Accept the inconvenience of small lift to floors 2 and 3 for better rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank budhab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 1, 2012

Dear Paul,
We are very sorry to read these words.
You were with us 3 nights and you did not say a word to us of all your unhappiness with the room, the staff and the hotel. As you said you were part of a wedding that booked almost all the rooms we have but if you said something to the reception we could have given you another room.

Besides, it is very sad to read the word "psychiatric word cell" regarding a room on the light floor of 20 metres squares with air conditioning, free wifi, flat tv, fridge and private bathroom.

What does it mean that the staff was not helpful? What did you ask without having a reply? As you can read from other reviews nobody is complaining about the staff. We do not think we forced you or insisted in buying something and it is not possible to hear the staff talking during the night since our reception closes at 9.00 pm!


Anyway we will take in consideration your words in order to improve our service.

Warm regards,

Valentina Cioffi


You complained about the absence of a roof but we never said we have one

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 200 of 637 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

After reading the outstanding reviews here on tripadvisor we decided to book our 4 days break on the 22nd June 2012 at the Palazzo Abagnale and we are so glad we did. From the moment we arrived the owner Elio welcomed us personally and showed us to our room. After reading some reviews they said steer clear of staying on the first floor because it was noisy, so when we were directed to our room on the 1st floor I aired my concerns. We were also shown another room which is one of the black and white rooms which was smaller but still very nice and he said that we could choose which room we wanted. We said we would stay with the original room, he said if we werent happy he would move us the next day ( you could not ask for anymore).. Yes it was a little noisy in the mornings and if you like to stay in bed in the mornings then ask to stay on another floor, but if you are like us and get up early, then the 1st floor is absolutely fine. The breakfast is lovely and it was my birthday whilst I was there and mama made me a birthday cake and they sung happy birthday which was a lovely suprised. This sort of special touch makes this Guest house amazing and exceptional value for money. All the staff are extremely friendly and no matter what we asked for - nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are extremely clean ( and I am particularly fussy) and fresh towels were left everyday. The rooms are cleaned everyday which I was not expecting seeing as we were only staying for a short while. There is always someone there to give you advise on where to go and the best way to get there, even down to the type of shoes to wear when we said we were visiting Pompei ( so glad he got us to change of flip flops for trainers ) . It is situated right within walking distance of the main square where there are good shops,restaurants and bars. If you turn left out of the Guest house and walk a little down the road you will find the train station which we caught to Pompei... ( great day out - a definate must).... if you walk into town a little you will find a lift down to the marina where there are sun beds, restaurants and also the port. Here is where you can catch the Jetfoil to Capri. Only get a one way ticket which is around 33Euros then you are not tied down to any times. Once you arrive on the Island use the public transport it is cheap and absolutely fine, dont waste your money on the taxi tours of 120Euros you can do it cheaper. You can get a tram up to the centre of Capri then a bus to any part of the island - we suggest Ana Capri and get the chair lifts upto the top where there are amazing views. Our time in Sorrento was magical and it was mainly down to the wonderful Guest house, Elio and his family should be proud of the service they offer to their guests and we would definatley, without fail, recommend this Hotel and intend to travel back to Sorrento in the future and stay at the Palazzo Abagnale - Thank you Elio from Mark and Annette..

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MDixon206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

If you want a hotel where you are on a first name basis with all the staff this is the place for you! You feel like family immediately because it is a small hotel, and you always feel like you are taken care of! Each time we left to go out there was someone at the desk ready with a map to direct us to where we needed or wanted to go! The staff was very helpful and saw to all our needs! Hotel Abagnale is right on Piazza Tasso which is the MAIN piazza so you are a short distance from everything! We walked everywhere we wanted to go in town and the hotel arranged several things we wanted to do that we didn't have planned by our travel agent, including a wonderful massage! They are there to serve! They definitely want to make your stay a GREAT one!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street so you can open your windows at night and not hear the street n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank michbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We have just returned from a few days at the Palazzo Abagnale attending a wedding and experienced a wonderful stay at this very pleasent, modern, clean and friendly hotel. From the minute we got there to the minute we left we were looked after to the very highest standard from the wonderful staff,even when we had to leave very early in the morning the staff made sure me and my family had a breakfast we could take with us.
highly reccommended, and only a stones throw away from the main square...........Enjoy

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dutchy930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This is only a very small hotel, but it was a superb place to stay and great value for money. Very modern decor and the rooms were spotless with lovely crisp white sheets on the bed every day and lovely big fluffy towels in the bathroom every day as well.
The hotel is only about 30 seconds walk from the main square so the location was great. I was a bit concerned that it may be a bit noisy at night but once the balcony doors were closed and the shutters too you couldn't hear a thing!
I was there with other friends for my sister's birthday and there were strawberries and a bottle of prosecco in the room for us as a welcome celebration...... Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: The black and white room and the orange room are on the front of the hotel with a balcony looking do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Have just returned from a weekend with 5 friends to celebrate a special birthday and we could not have asked for a better hotel. The rooms were massive and absolutely spotless. A great breakfast and a fantastic cappuchino to set us up for the day - the staff were great and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is in a great location and I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the hotel are probably quieter than those overlooking the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frankaren1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We were on vacation in Sorrento with our family and we chose to stay in this boutique hotel. The hotel's location is excellent, just by the city main squar, the rooms are remarkably designed and tidy, breakfast is excellent and the staff is kind and friendly.
When we will come back to Sorrento we will choose again to stay in this hotel !!!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and each room has its own uniqueness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eitan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#40 of 100 in Sorrento
409 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
808 reviews
0.0 mi away
Piazza Tasso B&B
Piazza Tasso B&B
#15 of 143 in Sorrento
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vhome
Vhome
#7 of 143 in Sorrento
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Room Sorrento
Sea Room Sorrento
#24 of 143 in Sorrento
80 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sorrento Flats
Sorrento Flats
#6 of 143 in Sorrento
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Abagnale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Abagnale

Address: Corso Italia 164, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range: $64 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Abagnale 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Palazzo Abagnale - located in an historical building in the centre of the town. The staff will receive you at the first floor where the reception and the breakfast room are located. From the second to the third floor you’ll find the rooms, just redecorated in a contemporary style. From the classic revisited style to the Pop Art, each ambiance is characterized for elegance and love in details. All the rooms are spacious and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Splitty, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Palazzo Abagnale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Abagnale Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing