We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, room size and staff.”
Review of Palazzo Abagnale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palazzo Abagnale
Ranked #31 of 147 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 26, 2011

So close to the train station (Circumvesuviana) - just a short stroll down the main street. Right at your door step are restaurants, shops and a supermarket. Easy train or bus access to Pompeii and the Amalfi Coast. We had a large twin room, black and white theme and the largest hotel bathroom I have ever seen (third floor I think). Fantastic hotel, we would stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ranz-nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 643 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2011

Steps from Plaza Tasso. Hotel is on the 2nd floor and up. We stayed in the 'Light' room, 2nd floor overlooking the main street (lots of people watching). Room was very large and clean; same for the bathroom. The shower in this room does need a holder so you can stand under it instead of holding it. The owner, Alex, was very friendly and helpful; giving hints about what to see, the best way to see them ("go by boat instead of bus" etc.). Would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: It's above a men's clothing store. At first it was hard to find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenVenture_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Our first night they put us in a TINY room under a stairway so that the people going up looked down onto our bed - the bathroom fixtures barely worked - I think it was their "overflow room" because they had overbooked. They apologized for it ahead of time and assured us we would be moved to a nice room the next morning. The second room was much bigger and ORANGE all over - very 60's retro - even the bathroom (which worked and was modern) was blinding orange. This room faced the main street going through Sorrento, (which was one big English party) and partygoers did not quiet down till 1:00 am or so for the next two nights we were there. It was very noisy (with the AC turned off in mid September, we had to keep the doors open to the little balcony regardless of the noise). Also the bed was VERY hard - big, but like a rock. The breakfast was something to put in your tummy - like a Holiday Inn Express. Overall it was budget - ok - costing $185./night. The location suited us fine since each day we walked just four blocks to the train station to get the circumvisuvia to the archealogical sites. You can walk everywhere in Sorrento - it is safe, clean, beautiful, and full of English tourists - like Italy goes Disneyland. I might stay hear again just because of the price.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are NOISY all night. Be sure not to get the super tiny room under the stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maganista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I'm sure that if you hadn't paid very much for this hotel then it would have been perfectly adequate, however...........

We arrived at the hotel, to be told that we weren't staying in the main hotel but in a different location. This wasn't too bad, until we arrived there. The 'dependance' was basically a few rooms in what seemed like an apartment block where people lived.

There were no communal areas to sit/sunbathe/have a drink. There were no views from the windows.

I explained to 2 members of staff that I wasn't pleased with the location and that we had been mis-lead (not to mention the cost of the stay). They were not helpful at all! We also experienced other guests complaining in the same way.

I must say that the rooms were very clean, the cleaning staff very friendly and the proximity to the square was 5-10 mins walk. It just wasn't what we were expecting.

Please be warned if you are not staying in the main hotel or aren't even aware of the annexe like we weren't.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allinsrl, Public Relations Manager at Palazzo Abagnale, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2011

Dear Victoria,

We are really sorry if you are not satisfied of your stay in our place.As we explained when you were with us you ( or better ) your father booked a room in depandance, not in the main building and that room is clearly advertised on our website. Besides, before coming we had the chance to speak with your father by e mail and when he said that you would be arrived by a private car, we said to him to go directly to the address of the depandance that is 600 metres from the main building, so you would not be forced to carry your bag. For this fact, of course, it was not a surprise for you that you were not staying in the main building. The room you booked is a different standard from the classic room in Palazzo Abagnale. It has no daily cleaning and no internet, and despite this we gave you for free these services.

Besides, we neved wrote that the depandance room has sunbath, or special view from the windows or a common area.

As regards the staff, they explained to you everything when you were in Sorrento and they offerd to find for you another accomodation to make you happy, obviously, paying the depandance room since you choose a not refundable offer for your stay in Sorrento! The depandance rooms have no 24h reception but the staff answered the phone also during the night because you called just to complain another time.

Our suggestion is to be aware of what you book when you are searching for a place to stay wherever in the world.



Valentina Cioffi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

In March 2011 we had our booking at Palazzo Abagnale confirmed for four nights from 10 September. We specifically chose this B&B because our friends were getting married in Sorrento and this was where they and some of their other family members were staying.
Due to the Italian airline strikes on 6th September we were arriving in Sorrento a day early and so emailed the Palazzo Abagnale a couple of days before we were due to arrive to ask if they could accommodate for one extra night, they emailed back saying that they had made a mistake on our booking and had booked us in the wrong month and that they could no longer accommodate us! They offered to find us somewhere else to stay and insisted that it was a very busy time of year in Sorrento, panicked (as we had already missed out on four nights in Sardinia because of the strikes, and we had a wedding to attend) we asked them to go ahead and find us somewhere else to stay, but to make sure that it was the same standard as the Palazzo Abagnale, i.e modern and central.
Instead they put us in the Villa Maria, which was not central and certainly not modern. I can’t even begin to describe how disappointing this was but the most frustrating thing was their total lack of apology or sympathy for the situation. They were really rude and just didn’t care that they had almost ruined our holiday. I would advise people NOT to book here, I also met another woman in reception whose booking had also been mucked up and family of the bride and groom had been put in the Domas Apartments, even though they had booked to stay in the Palazzo Abagnale! I think they are total con artists. In the end we stayed at The Plaza, which was wonderful, although, a four night stay at the Palazzo Abagnale was going to cost us €486, whereas four nights at The Plaza was €800, so a big difference, Palazzo Abagnale refused to compensate us at all, and we even had to pay €70 for the one night we spent at the dreadful Villa Maria. AVOID DISAPPOINTMENT AND DON’T BOOK TO STAY HERE, save up a bit more and go to The Plaza!

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Aisha_Singleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allinsrl, Public Relations Manager at Palazzo Abagnale, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2011

Dear Aisha,



We are really sorry for all the situation and we apologize if your stay in Sorrento was under your expectations.

You wrote us some days before your arrival day to enquire if you could arrive on day before and we advised you of our mistake, but we told you that we could had accomodate you in a 4 stars hotel, also for the day not included in your original booking and for a lower rate. The 4 starshotel was 2 minutes walking from Palazzo Abagnale and since in the moment you wrote we knew that you were with some other guests of our guest house we told you that you could come to join us and your friends for breakfast.

You wanted something modern like Palazzo Abagnale and we tried to accomodate in the few hotels like ours, but they were fully booked. After 2 days, when, you decided to stay in the four stars hotel originally proposed, the four stars hotel was fully booked and the only room we could find was at the Hotel Villa Maria.

After the first night there you decided to leave the Hotel Villa Maria and ,cancelling your booking in Palazzo Abagnale, without any penalty, you personally booked at the Hotel Plaza.



Sorry once again for all the problem caused, sorry, but we did not about the wedding and as regards the strike and the fact that you missed your vacation in Sardegna it was, certainly,,not our fault.

Anyway, we agree to compensate you for the night spent at the Hotel Villa Maria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed in the main hotel from July 27 to leaving August 3. We were in room 302 with daughter 17, son 14 (3 of us in total). Room scrupulously clean and decorated in a modern black and white minimalist style which we all liked. Fridge had room for us to store our own drinks and snacks. Location very central, 3 mins from train and bus station, and great for walking around Sorrento in the evening. Staff very friendly and helpful. Free wifi and also use of computer in reception, both useful. We had a great holiday - thank-you ! Downsides - stairs up to reception, not a problem for us, but might be for the infirm. Pull-down 3rd bed which I slept in OK, but not the most comfortable for a week. Kids would have appreciated cable TV in the evening since all TV was in Italian ( I did point out we were in Italy after all !).

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidJC1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Great location, very affordable if you shop around, rooms are nicely decorated and bathrooms are great. New decor is great. Avoid rooms on 1st floor though, we were on this floor, same floor as reception and the Walls are thin and you can hear everything the receptionists and guests say. Annoying when you are trying to catch a siesta. Overall for location and value I would recommend for sure. Nice roof top where you can chill and watch the busy sorrento streets

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JawjeeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,034 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Room Sorrento
Sea Room Sorrento
#20 of 147 in Sorrento
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Magnolia
La Magnolia
#34 of 147 in Sorrento
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison Kalea
Maison Kalea
#9 of 147 in Sorrento
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Sorrentina
Casa Sorrentina
#16 of 147 in Sorrento
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Abagnale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Abagnale

Address: Corso Italia 164, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range: $78 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Abagnale 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Palazzo Abagnale - located in an historical building in the centre of the town. The staff will receive you at the first floor where the reception and the breakfast room are located. From the second to the third floor you’ll find the rooms, just redecorated in a contemporary style. From the classic revisited style to the Pop Art, each ambiance is characterized for elegance and love in details. All the rooms are spacious and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Palazzo Abagnale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Abagnale Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing