We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Ranked #43 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

located in the historic city center, close to shops, restaurants, circumvesuviana and harbor with trips to Naples, Capri, Positano ...
Our room was under the roof, comfortable but we had to waite to get some hot water.
Friendly reception but breakfast was just a self service with no italian word.
Fair price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 383 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel reminded me of a smaller version of La Manufacture in Paris; hip, boutique and relaxed in style. Our room was functional, comfortable and clean. The location is perfect for a short stay with on-the-doorstep access to shops, restaurants, the Circumvesuviana train (10 min walk) and the Marina Piccolo (5min walk + lift to the beach) for access to Capri and other islands. Staff were friendly, courteous and professional at all times. We stayed for 6 nights, visiting Pompeii, Herculaneum, Oplontis, relaxed around town and even hired a Vespa for a once-in-a-lifetime ride down the coast road to Positano and Amalfi. If you're looking for a good value, good service, hip hotel in a great location with a dash of modern style then this is definitely for you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My family and I went in March 2013 before the Holy Week as our start off point to go around the Amalfi coast. This hotel was PERFECT. it had a beautiful staircase and super sweet staff. our room was on the 2nd floor, it was HUGE. there was a balcony over looking the street, and when we opened what we thought was a closet, it was a sizable separate bedroom with twin beds for me and my sister. breakfast was typical italian fare with morning pastries, cheese, etc. but really, you are in italy. you just get that bite to eat and a sip of coffee and then you explore the rest of the day!

the staff even gave us maps, and a great hotel recommendation. they also helped us plan our day trip to capri. great experience. spoiled us from our other picks down the coast which were less than great compared to Au Relais Rivoli!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brokewilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the Hotel Au Rivoli. Perfect location on a quiet street. We had a suite(not sure how we had such a large room) which was spacious, quiet and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and most helpful. Continental breakfast was more than adequate. For a fair price and a nice, quiet, clean hotel in a good location this is the place!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bill-Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Au Rivoli for one night in September. The staff at the front desk was very nice and helpful. The room and bathroom were very clean. The only concern that I had about the room was that the bed made a loud crack when I sat on it. The decor was very pleasant and I was happy that the hotel had an elevator. It is located on a quiet street in the historic district, close to stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ren60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The staff was great, and the breakfast each morning was really nice. Sorrento is a fantastic town and the hotel had a great out of the way location, but yet centrally located. Huge rooms!!! Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had stayed in Sorrento for 5 nights at B&B Dolcevita a couple of weeks before and then rented a car and drove down into Calabria. Ten days later we returned the car in Sorrento and spent the night at Hotel Rivoli. We were so glad we chose it. Basically, everything is perfect. It is a block and a half from Piazza Tasso (the main Piazza in Sorrento) but out of the hustle on a little street. The glass circular stairway is amazing. The place is really tastefully done and the staff couldn't be more helpful or friendly. Great breakfast whether you're UK, Italian, French, German or American, you'll do fine. And ... it has an elevator. About a 7 minute walk from the train station and one can take walk 4 minutes from the ferry to the elevator which takes you to a block from the hotel. Or take the bus from the ferry up to Piazza Tasso.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor with easy access to the roof terrace from which the views are spectac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nonobanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
500 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
779 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#47 of 100 in Sorrento
802 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#40 of 100 in Sorrento
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rivoli Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rivoli Sorrento

Address: Via Santa Maria delle Grazie 16, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range: $123 - $717 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rivoli Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jeweler in the heart of Sorrento, Hotel Au Rivoli is situated in a beautiful building belonging to the XII century, overlooking the sea, close to Piazza Tasso, the port and the train station, where leave also the busses to reach the Amalfi Coast. It is a good starting point to make all the excursions and discover the surroundings like Pompei, Paestum, Herculaneum and the islands of Capri and Ischia.Completely renowated, all the rooms have a balcony facing the historical centre and are equipped with the best comforts. The roof garden on the terrace, offers a panoramic view of the Gulf of Naples and the Sorrento Coast.The Relais Hotel Sorrento Rivoli, Sorrento Hotel,is surrounded by some typical workshops where you can feel the flavours of Sorrento, where the famous Torquato Tasso was born.Our guest can feel the true atmosphere of the city, taste the typical dishes of the Napolitan Cuisine only walking along the narrow streets of the historical centre or having a drink on the balcony of the Hotel Rivoli.Our young and qualified team, able to advance every demand of its customers, will help you with kindness and experience to discover the Sorrentine peninsula and to leave an unforgettable memory of your tailor made holiday in Sorrento. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rivoli Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing