We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Moderately Priced Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Ranked #39 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Moderately Priced Hotel”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Au Rivoli for one night in September. The staff at the front desk was very nice and helpful. The room and bathroom were very clean. The only concern that I had about the room was that the bed made a loud crack when I sat on it. The decor was very pleasant and I was happy that the hotel had an elevator. It is located on a quiet street in the historic district, close to stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ren60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    154
    34
    3
    5
See reviews for
107
175
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The staff was great, and the breakfast each morning was really nice. Sorrento is a fantastic town and the hotel had a great out of the way location, but yet centrally located. Huge rooms!!! Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, California
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had stayed in Sorrento for 5 nights at B&B Dolcevita a couple of weeks before and then rented a car and drove down into Calabria. Ten days later we returned the car in Sorrento and spent the night at Hotel Rivoli. We were so glad we chose it. Basically, everything is perfect. It is a block and a half from Piazza Tasso (the main Piazza in Sorrento) but out of the hustle on a little street. The glass circular stairway is amazing. The place is really tastefully done and the staff couldn't be more helpful or friendly. Great breakfast whether you're UK, Italian, French, German or American, you'll do fine. And ... it has an elevator. About a 7 minute walk from the train station and one can take walk 4 minutes from the ferry to the elevator which takes you to a block from the hotel. Or take the bus from the ferry up to Piazza Tasso.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor with easy access to the roof terrace from which the views are spectac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonobanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Staff were very friendly and helpful. The glass staircase is awesome. Was a bit scared to walk on it. Breakfast was incredible. Great central location and sweet little ancient lane way. Very romantic setting. Great place to base yourself for trips to pompei and Herculaneum. Also day trips to capri and naples. We spent one day just swimming down at the marina piccolo.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillsi50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Sorrento for 3 days in September, and I should first say, this is not enough time. We LOVED Sorrento. Hotel Au Rivoli was tucked away in one of the quaint streets off the main drag through the town. I did not plan the location out but in retrospect this was perfect as the room was quiet. We got a massive room on the second floor, and massive anything is a rarity in Italy, so we our American standards were more than pleased.
There were two women who were on duty during the day at the hotel and they were both splendid. One offered to call and make reservations at a restaurant for us that evening (yes, please!). On the other hand, there was a man who was on duty at night. He was a little off, no other way to put it nicely but we did not have any issues with him. We had a fridge in our room (not sure if all rooms do) that was perfect for storing water and fruit.
Just a tip for travelers in Italy, find a supermarket to buy water. In Sorrento, there is a supermarket half way between Piazza Tasso and the Circumvesuviana train station on Via Corso Italia where we stocked up on water.
Breakfast was exactly what we found at every other hotel in Italy - pastries, coffee, juice, fruit. The room we ate breakfast in was beautiful in the morning. There was always plenty of everything. We also used breakfast as a hydrating time, we would drink a good amount of water since we had to pay for it elsewhere.
Beyond this, the bed was extremely comfortable and we had enough pillows (a particular concern of mine) and there was space to hang our wrinkled, travel-worn clothing.
Overall, we were incredibly impressed with the location, the room size and comfort and the service of daytime staff members. A great value for a stay in Sorrento.

Room Tip: I have no idea why we got our big room, but we did get there reasonable early (4pm). Maybe this help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My Husband and I were on vacation in Sorrento and stayed six nights at the Hotel Au Rivoli. We liked the location because we were able to walk down to the marinas or enjoy the evening activities, the local restaurants and shopping. The hotel was clean and neat and included a really nice continental breakfast. Staff was extremely helpful and spoke English. We would go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryJoe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great location easy to walk around. Our room was very clean. The woman working the front desk in the mornings is not so friendly. The woman later in the afternoon was incredibly nice. When we checked out with the morning woman, I paid with euros and had to ask for a receipt. She told us it was 5 euros for the two days for tax. On the receipt it it said 4 and she charged us for a water which we didn't use. There was no mini bar and not water in the room in the first place.

Breakfast is hit and miss. First morning it was very good. Second morning we got to the breakfast room at 8. All the juice, coffee, milk, and water were gone and not replaced. No coffee so he made us some instant that was undrinkable. Not sure why this attitude at 8 am with 2 hours before breakfast was over. Went down to the front desk and asked if they could get something for us to drink. The gentleman working the breakfast room was very mad he had to replace items. The ham was so old that you could smell it before trying to eat it. He wouldn't put out anymore cheese which was gone too. We went out and found some breakfast.

Rooms facing the outside are very noisy. Bring your earplugs.

Room Tip: Check your bill. Ask for a receipt. Get to the breakfast room at 7:30 to get food. Wear earplugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luggageinhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
776 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
478 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
745 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
527 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#14 of 100 in Sorrento
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rivoli Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rivoli Sorrento

Property: Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Address: Via Santa Maria delle Grazie 16, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rivoli Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jeweler in the heart of Sorrento, Hotel Au Rivoli is situated in a beautiful building belonging to the XII century, overlooking the sea, close to Piazza Tasso, the port and the train station, where leave also the busses to reach the Amalfi Coast. It is a good starting point to make all the excursions and discover the surroundings like Pompei, Paestum, Herculaneum and the islands of Capri and Ischia.Completely renowated, all the rooms have a balcony facing the historical centre and are equipped with the best comforts. The roof garden on the terrace, offers a panoramic view of the Gulf of Naples and the Sorrento Coast.The Relais Hotel Sorrento Rivoli, Sorrento Hotel,is surrounded by some typical workshops where you can feel the flavours of Sorrento, where the famous Torquato Tasso was born.Our guest can feel the true atmosphere of the city, taste the typical dishes of the Napolitan Cuisine only walking along the narrow streets of the historical centre or having a drink on the balcony of the Hotel Rivoli.Our young and qualified team, able to advance every demand of its customers, will help you with kindness and experience to discover the Sorrentine peninsula and to leave an unforgettable memory of your tailor made holiday in Sorrento. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rivoli Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing