We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, clean but.....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magi House Relais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Magi House Relais
Ranked #4 of 124 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great location, clean but.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

average rooms, Ikea styling, towels changed every other day, sheets every three days, VERY uncomfortable bed and pillows, nice terrace area, OK continental breakfast, pleasant Owner and PHENOMENAL jack of all trades assistant. Day time desk clerk needs a personality adjustment (Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde), nighttime clerk was much better. We stayed in the penthouse and the loft apartment. Watch your head if over 5 foot 10 in the penthouse suite and wear the ear plugs if staying in the apartment/loft as it is right next to the front desk and any all conversations can be heard, trust that the reciprocal is the same.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pitch328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    74
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
134
511
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Magi House was a highlight of our trip! Mariano and his staff made our stay wonderful. The rooms are beautiful and modern to meet all your needs. Magi house is in the heart of Sorrento but quiet and relaxing! Breakfasts on the terrace were delicious and wish our stay could have been longer! Hope to return soon!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TXSLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magimariano, Direttore generale at Magi House Relais, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your wonderful review! It is a pleasure for us read the happiness and satisfaction of our guests after their stay at Magi House. We do our best to make our guests feel at home.From the arrival to the departure, taking care of all.We hope to meet you again in Sorrento, we wish you all the best Magi House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was our first trip to this area of Italy and this was our first stop. We took the train and followed the hotels directions easily walking from the train to the hotel. The staff was very friendly, knowledgeable, helpful, polite, and effective. The hotel was impeccable, well decorated and secure. We stayed in the Dominova room, a wonderful room with plenty of space, lots of light from plenty of big windows, a big comfortable bed, a very nice bath, a balcony and views down two streets. The location in Sorrento is excellent and Sorrento is an excellent base for exploring the area, and the decision to stay at this hotel and Sorrento was reinforced by our travels. To top it off I left a large amount of cash in several currencies in the safe and the staff was very helpful in getting that back offering to exchange it and wire the money. Amazing. I do not know what more you could ask for or expect from a hotel.

Room Tip: I serious doubt there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank landcruisinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magimariano, Direttore generale at Magi House Relais, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest, we thank you so much for your kind review. It has been a pleasure to make your stay at Magi House impeccable. We hope to see you again in Sorrento. Best regards Magi House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Sorrento is paradise.....and Magi House is the perfect place to stay. My daughter and I "stumbled upon" this most amazing place. By far, the best accommodations we experienced on our month long adventure throughout Italia. Every detail imaginable has been attended to, the amenities rival that of any 5 star hotel I have experienced. Mariano, his lovely wife and all staff were attentive and anxious to meet all our needs. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was an excellent way to start the day with Mariano (owner) providing excellent food and gracious service. It is the perfect location, easy walking to all areas. Mariano "hooked us up" with an incredible excursion to Capri. As well as procuring reservations at many of his favorite and recommended restaurants.
The staff went above and beyond "the call of duty" by checking on trains to Napoli and Catonia.
We were "pampered and spoiled" as if we were celebrities.
Thank you all,

Carl & Kaitlyn

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NCGator1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magimariano, Direttore generale at Magi House Relais, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your fabulous review. We are delighted to have made ​​your stay with us a Paradise! Our priority is to give more information to make the stay of our guests the best of all! We hope to meet you again in Sorrento. We wish you all the best. Magi House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights as our base city while exploring the Amalfi Coast. Service was excellent, the rooms were beautiful and location was perfect. Breakfast was hands down the BEST we had in our two week stay in Italy. Mariano's wife and mom made the croissants (you MUST get these!! BEST EVER!) and pastries fresh each day and you could tell. We stayed in the Penthouse Room which was great for us but just be warned you have to walk up a few stairs to get there. Davide Gelato across the street is excellent. If you spend time in Sorrento, you should definitely stay at Magi House.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Car0linaTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magimariano, Direttore generale at Magi House Relais, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear guest, we read your wonderful review and thank you so much. We are pleased that breakfast was appreciated as it has been appreciated that the central location makes getting around without a car. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Best regards. Magi House Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at Magi House with our daughter, son in law and 3 yr old daughter for 7 days in September. Wow what an amazing place. The rooms are beautiful and tastefully decorated. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Mariano the owner serves a delicious breakfast every morning on the roof top terrace. He gave us lots of information on things to do in the area. What a great location, the room was very quiet at night, yet when you walk out the door all the great restaurants are within walking distance. We have already mentions Magi House to some of our friends who are hoping to visit the Sorrento area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sirene room Our daughter and family stayed in the Vesuvia Apartment both excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magimariano, Direttore generale at Magi House Relais, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for the excellent review you left! We are pleased that your stay with us has been excellent. We hope to welcome you again in the future. All the best. Magi House Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S. Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from a two week trip to Italy. We stayed in four cities and Magi House in Sorrento was our second stop. We stayed in the Penthouse because it was the last available room when we booked. Magi House was the most expensive of the four places we stayed but worth every Euro!!!
This hotel is a gem! The service we received from all the staff and the owner Mariano was absolutely over the top! They could not have been more helpful.
The location is perfect, you literally step out of the front door and are surrounded by fine restaurants and shops.
The room is exactly as pictured on the website and we loved having a glass of Magi House wine on our beautiful private balcony!
Please note that there are some stairs, the penthouse and sun deck where breakfast is served are on the third floor. Definitely worth the climb!
Lisa and Jim
Vermont, USA

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lstpeterrdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magimariano, Direttore generale at Magi House Relais, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest. Thanks for giving us a review so incredible.
We are pleased that our breakfast, our central location and our commitment to make you feel at home was the ingredient that made ​ better your stay with us. We hope to meet you again in the future. Many greetings Magi House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magi House Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magi House Relais

Property: Magi House Relais
Address: Via Padre Reginaldo Giuliani, 56, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magi House Relais is located in the historical centre of Sorrento, in Via Padre Reginaldo Giuliani, in one of the most characteristic "alleys" of Sorrento. A strategic position: you need neither a car nor public transportation. Walking from our relais you can go everywhere in Sorrento. The wonderful cloister of San Francesco and the Villa Comunale overlooking the sea are also located 50 meters from the entrance of the relais. Also, thanks to the new lift located in the Villa, you are only 50 meters away from the beach/port. Piazza Tasso, the main square of Sorrento, is located 100 meters away from Magi House. All of our rooms, aparments and suites are new and equipped with all the comforts that guests need for an enjoyable stay. The furnitures are extremely modern especially in our gem, the Nettuno suite, which has a private outdoor Jacuzzi on the terrace, the ideal place to spend relaxing moments with your partner or the family. If you wish to organize excursions around Sorrento, avoiding the stress of the car, the location of our relais is also strategic: Pompeii, Herculaneum and Naples can be reached by train using the Circumvesuviana line, while Positano and the Amalfi Coast can be reached by bus, leaving from the bus station located only 400 meters away. You can reach Capri and Ischia by ferry and hydrofoil that depart from the Marina Piccola, a few minutes walking distance by public elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Magi House Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magi House Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing