We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No credit cards???” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corso Italia Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Corso Italia Suites
Sorrento, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No credit cards???”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Upon arrival in Sorrento yesterday (Saturday), finally got to the Travel Agency where they check you in and take you to the nice apartment, however, was stunned to be told by the very nice Dina or Deena, that this was a cash situation, that they did not take credit cards.

Her English is good, but it's difficult to get into a debate about how I didn't expect to arrive with almost 500Euros in my pocket, so I'm very unhappy about this.

She was nice enough to let me pay on Monday, but I wonder if this misrepresentation is a scam, or just a typical business that wants to save their 2 or 3 per cent.

When I booked on line, it did say credit card, so don't know whether to make an issue of it or just go to an atm tomorrow and take out 500Euros..

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    42
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
48
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at the Corso Italia Suites for five nights. The apartments are located in the centre of Sorrento, close to the main square and train station. Our apartment was in a beautiful old building and was spotlessly clean and well equipped. Free wi-fi too. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lankytwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

The apartments are in a fantastic location, very central. There was four of us travelling to Sorrento, so we booked and paid for a 2bdm apartment online. However when we arrived they only offered us a one bedroom which was very small and would have been very uncomfortable for 4 people (3 adults and 1 child). Fortunately one of our travel companions decided not to travel to Sorrento with us so a one bdm apartment, although small, was suitable for 3 people (they did provide a refund as well). The room was clean, nicely furnished and adequately appointed. The elevator is very small and the entrance way was messy however overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay at Corso Suites again!

Room Tip: Confirm your room type
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaydarVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

These apartments are o.k., and reasonably priced, the location is right in the centre but as it's on the main road (Corso Italia) it is noisy - especially at the height of the tourist season with rowdy people going past below shouting/singing at 3 am / 4am in the morning!! But what we were really disappointed with was the entrance/stairwell up to the apartment it was disgusting! with loads or rubbish/garbage lying around at the ground floor entrance - and when we went there were two old suitcases which had been discarded! Didn't exactly fill us with confidence - but the room was o.k.

If the owners cleaned up the entrance I might recommend it, as it is don't bother - there are lots of other Apartments / B & B places that employ a cleaner!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BEY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramuro, Proprietario at Corso Italia Suites, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Customer,
I am very sorry for what has happened during your stay. With this reply I would like to inform you and our future customers, we have for more than a year a cleaning service for the garbage at 2:00 pm daily, which guarantees the cleanliness of the entrance.
We have replaced most of the windows to eliminate the noise of the road and all the windows will be changed by August 2013.
We hope that our efforts will allow our customers to spend a pleasant holiday at Corso Italia Suites.
We hope to have you again as our guest,
Sincerely
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed in suite nr 2 for 12 days in the end of September. The location is perfect and the suites are beautiful. A long french balcony along side the whole wall with, granted, a view of the Corso Italia shopping street but as a city life observer I thought it was fun and you didn´t have to go far for a unbelievable view of the bay of Napoli. It was cleaned once a week, has a little kitchen area and a little fridge all good. One thing was that me and my boyfriend slept in the master bedroom with the double bed and we had the morning light into our room if we wanted. My father in law was in the other room which was very dark and only had a window into a tiny closed of courtyard with no light. so that is one thing to keep in mind. He didn´t really care cause we spent most of our time out side anyway but I need the light so I could not have stayed in that room. Another thing was the wifi connection. It was very unstable and broke of a few times so we had to call the girls working there to reboot the whole thing. Not a big thing but a minor inconvenience as we had to do a little bit of work at night sometimes. Just keep in mind while booking. The last thing that drove me a little bit crazy was some mix-up with the bookings, they had double booked the suite the day we were leaving. We had a contract that said we had to check out a twelve o´clock but at ten we are awakened by the frantic cleaning lady that told us we were supposed to be gone. Basically kicked us out on the street at ten in the morning and I think they were lucky that we had packed our bags the night before. there was no compensation and I have to admit that as I am not a morning person :) my wrath landed on the poor girls who had of the keys and of course have nothing to do with the bookings and I here by apologize but what a mess!!!!. So all our bags were kept at the office and we sent out to roam the streets for three hours until our train left. Luckily Sorrento is a beautiful place to just stroll around in but on our last day of a two week stay it was a crappie frustrated ending to a great holiday also because this is not a cheap place to stay. Bright spots: lovely apartment in a great location, lovely staff (sorry again girls), great AC, wifi (dodgy) tv only CNN in english. Would I stay again? Probably. But maybe not in high season when the price is even higher and the chances of booking mistakes even higher.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trippatravelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

read reviews and appeared to be what we (3 males 56,22 & 16) were after, 3 single beds. Arrived at the travel agents/room managers around 430pm and all pleasant and no suprises.
Room was not cleaned from previous occupants, however manager apologised and suggested we would be be housed nearby and moved at their expense. We were happy to just get clean linen and room was cleaned the following morning, no drama.
2 B/room flat with kitchenette (oven/hotplate/sink/bar fridge) very nice and roomy, comfortable beds,lounge,ensuite to main, great view at rear, central to everything. Should have stayed here and used as base rather than stay at $$ Positano after. A supermarket (supermercato) is at top end of town so some pasta or lasagne heated up was great . Lunch was panini at the nearby 'grocery shop'. Marina Grande 'beach' not much chop but if you follow the cliffside walkway east along 'beach' you will come out on a little dirt track that takes you to a lovely rocky area for swimming/photos and jumping off rocks. Main 'beach' has the 'pay' lido ripoff !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonathan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#17 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corso Italia Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corso Italia Suites

Property: Corso Italia Suites
Address: Corso Italia, 116-106-39, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Corso Italia Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the apartments are situated on the main street of Sorrento, Corso Italia, or within 50 meters, close to the famous Piazza Tasso.The apartments are located in different buildings, recently renewed with style and equipped with all comforts. They are furnished with elegance with the floors made of marble or parquet. Wifi and A/C are included. The train station only 400 metres. Bathing establishments with sandy beaches are just 350 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Corso Italia Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing