We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great surroundings, very well priced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Donna Sofia

Ristorante Donna Sofia
Ranked #22 of 271 Restaurants in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great surroundings, very well priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We took the free shuttle from our hotel provided by the restaurant. Wish we could have seen it by daylight as the grounds seemed beautiful. The food was very good, fresh and unbelievably well priced. The service was very charming and accommodating, they even gave me a birthday candle in my dessert (it was my birthday). Oh and did I mention all you can drink grappa? Also side note; you are in southern italy; it will take a while to get your food, it will take a while to get your bill; that is the rhythm of the land down here so just sit back, pour yourself another glass of whatever and get used to it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dgrunat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    885
    227
    83
    67
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Donna Sofia Ristorante in Sorrento Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

An outstanding restaurant off the beaten path. They have a free shuttle that picks you up and drops you off at the hotel you are staying at. The waiter was marvelous and suggested appetizers he knew everyone would like. In 5 days, we ate their twice because of the atmosphere, the quality of the food and the hospitality we received . If you are not sure what to order let the waiter suggest the entrees he's most comfortable recommending. Would definitely say it was the best restaurant we tried in Sorrento. Sofia Loren's pictures are everywhere in the restaurant. A Sofia shrine if you will.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Local secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

When the man with the fruit stand in the middle of the winding roads of the Amalfi coast suggests a restaurant, you go. And I am glad we did!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nothing special at all!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I expected maybe too much, but in reality there no evidence of Sophia Loren ever ate there. There plenty of her photos on the walls though. Very Americanized food. I would never go back there!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dream_traveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fine dining in an elegant setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were staying in Sorrento for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant. Transportation from the hotel to the restaurant was arranged by the restaurant. The ride through narrow alleys and small streets was not for the faint of heart. At the restaurant we were seated in the patio area which was lovely. The food was outstanding, the wines were expertly paired with the food and the service was solicitous while not being overbearing. This is a great place to celebrate a special occasion. If we ever return to Sorrento we will surely have an encore meal at Donna Sophia.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank clc043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Donna Sofia also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Ristorante Donna Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing