We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Casale Nunziatina
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely family holiday”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a family reunion at Casale Nunziatina with our son and his girlfriend and our second son for a week in Sept 2012. From the moment Pasquale picked us up from the train station we knew we had made a good choice of accomodation in Sorrento. A charming villa steeped in history and run by a helpful and friendly host - what more could you ask for ?
We stayed in Gardenia apartment and had everything we needed. The breakfasts outside in the garden were a joy, and the over-indulgences of the days out in the delightful surrounding villages and towns were offset by the walk from town up the cobblestone laneways - steep but not too far for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter201209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hello' Peter,
it has been very nice for us to meet you and your family which was reunited at Casale Nunziatina for a pleasant holiday ., and you liked having meals in the garden as this is a MUST when guests are at Casale Nunziatina enjoying the peace and tranquillity of the garden.
You are living so far (Australia ) , therefore it will quite unlikely wewill meet again here , but......never know.
Ciao
Pasquale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    29
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
68
97
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kapiti NZ
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed for five nights in late September. Having booked through Hostelworld, we hadn't communicated with the owners until we received an email from them a couple of weeks before we were due to arrive. This email enclosed a copy of the lodging's list of regulations most of which I had no particular particular problem with. I was however dismayed to discover that we would be provided with a towel each which would only be changed at the end of 1 week and which we were forbidden from washing either by machine or by hand. Furthermore it was stated that extra changes of linen that were requested would be charged for. As we are most certainly used to changing our towels more than once a week, we requested a change of towels during that week . Upon request we were given new bath towels but not new hand towels or tea towels but were, in the end happily not charged for this change.

We were picked up from & returned to the station by Pasquale which we certainly appreciated as the apartment is too far from the station to lug cases to & fro. As other reviewers have stated the walk up the hill whilst challenging, is certainly manageable for anyone of average fitness. What no-one has yet mentioned however, is how unpleasant that walk is when it is when it is raining as it was for the first two days of our stay. We were housebound the first day until lunchtime when the rain eased off and we took a ganble and walked into town rather than be stuck in the apartment for any longer. When we returned later that afternoon however, the rain started again as we walked back. Unfortunately, when it rains heavily the road up the hill turns into an open drain & water sluices down in an unavoidable torrent which includes leakage from some of the rather smelly manholes. Needless to say this was not a particularly pleasant experience.

The apartment itself was comfortable enough except for the absence of any armchairs. The kitchenette had basic equipment 2 saucepans & a frying pan (with badly damaged non-stick coating), dinner plates, bowls, basic cooking utensils, cutlery & cups ets. There was a 1 cup stovetop espresso, kettle, benchtop oven & gas hob, but no toaster or microwave. Generally the apartment was clean, but I was disappointed that the kitchen rubbish bin had not been washed since previous tenants & was smelly.

As other reviewers have noted, there are a lot of mosquitos around the apartment and although the apartment was equipped with insect screens on the windows it was disappointingly necessary to keep the back door closed on lovely evenings to keep the mosquitoes, flies, and resident kittens out of the apartment.

There were another couple of minor bug bears including being required to go the owners apartment to use the iron rather than being able to use it in one's own apartment, & having a used bottle refilled with water placed in the fridge as a welcome gift rather than an unopened bottle of mineral or sping water. Sorry, no welcome bowls of lemons or items of foodstuffs as other reviewers have noted. Also as the beds were only equipped with a sheet & cotten coverlet and it was getting cooler in the evenings we wereobliged to go & ask the owner for a blanket for our son's bed as there had only been a quilt left out for ours. The owner did, when asked, come & unlock a cupboard in the apartment & give us 1 blanket for his bed. Taken together, not exactly overwhelming hospitality, as others reviewers have described.

Overall I could only truthfully say that we found the accomodation average & the location at times difficult & restricting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dalmationlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We are , always, happy when our guests are providing to us suggestions to improve the quality of our services and we are also willing to hear any sort of criticism but we would appreciate that such criticism being objective and based on solid grounds. . Our guest took the liberty to write a long list of remarks to justify his disappointment . We have received ,so far about one hundred of excellent reviews therefore it would not be necessary for me provide any clarification , as attentive readers might easily discern where is the truth . Some remarks are of little interest for the readers , but some require clarifications:

1) Our facility is not an hotel where the towels and bed linen are changed daily. This is a holiday house and the regulations for such kind of facilities require a change on weekly basis. And it is exactly what we do. It is possible a more frequent change , even daily , but it is required a little fare to compensate the washing expenses. Each of our guests were provided, on arrival , with a set of three towels . They asked for and extra change after two days and it was given free of charge as admitted by our guest. The beds were provided with the blankets. Our guest required an extra blanket ,for his son, and it was supplied instantly.

2) The apartment is just 1000 meters from the main square and 900 meters from the train/bus station. . . It is neither too far nor a challenge , but within a walking range for persons normally fit. Moreover we are used to meet our guests at the train station to take their luggage at home. Being the final 500 meters slightly uphill if they are walked while raining it seems normal that they meet some flowing rain on the street.. Our guests during their 5 days stay had 2-3 raining days . They were just unlucky , unless they want blame me for the raining days.

3) The cooking utensils are more than basic and in compliance with Holiday House Regulations. Anyway the guests are always instructed that we are happy to supply any specific utensil if required. There is no microwave oven but a benchtop oven. The toaster is available. Perhaps our guest didn’t find it into the kitchen lockers..
An accurate cleaning is done before the arrival ( as admitted by the guest ) and it seem very unlikely that the small thrash bin under the kitchen was dirty. The guests are instructed to make frequent disposal of the garbage and our guest did only one time in five days. Almost the totality of our guest are used to leave the apartment in good cleaning conditions, as they find on arrival. We do not put the iron and iron plank into the apartments to avoid occupying space. To our guest was offered to (freely) use this equipment which is located into the owner’s washing room just few meters and few steps farther.
The bottle of water was left in the frigo by the previous tenant and, simply , we didn’t remove it.I guess It was a guest’s call to take it or leave it.

4) Here in Sorrento Peninsula during the summer season because of the hot temperature it may occur a wet environment if the temperature drop down . Such wet environment might cause the presence of mosquito . But this is going to happen under particular circumstances for the entire Sorrento Peninsula and not every day outside of our apartments. Infact on Tripadvisor there are many photos of our guests happily taking their meals in the garden. Again our guest has been unlucky , unless they wish to blame me for the weather conditions.
We also have four kittins which are spending much part of the day in our garden . They are absolutely not disturbing the guests trying to enter the apartments . Many guests are enchanted to watch them playing around. But if our guest don’t like the pets , we are sorry for that.


5)I thank our guest for his comments and I am sorry as our guest found our hospitality “ not exactly overwhelming “ but the tens of excellent reviews of all other guests are selfexplenatory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

It is a home with a History, hidden in a gorgeous garden brimming with vegetation and sun coloured lemons (a pile of those was waiting for us artistically laid in a vase by a careful hand of the hosts). If the aroma of freshly brewed coffee (in an authintic cafettiere provided to guests) and mornings on the sun-bathed terrace watching the local ca-T-morra (two lovely kittens) fooling around the garden, sound seductive to you, so you should stay at Casale Nunziatina!
The apartments are clean, smartly arranged and the charming italian spirit (in its best known sense) is there! When you come signore Pasquale and signora Rosa will introduce you to signora Palma who makes and sells her own tomatoes (molto buoni!), olive oil, mozzarella and even can share dry pasta in case you had no time to drop in the local supermarket (which is not far away from the apartment). Casale N. is located on a rather challenging hill. This should be taken into account if planning vacations for an elderly person for example. However this circumstance can as well be a bless as it will cut down all the hypothitical worries about another plate of delicious pasta!
Our thanks to signore Pasquale e signora Rosa for lovely ten day's vacations at Rosa apartments in September 2012.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaterinaSmirnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Caterina it has been a pleasure for us to accommodate you , and your mother ,at Casale Nunziatina and we are very happy that you liked your stay with us. We look foreward to see you again!
Pasquale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

About the apartments: Our family had an outstanding holiday here in September 2012, spending eight days in Gardenia apartment and then two nights each in Rosa and Edera apartments. We found them to be spotlessly clean (no smoking/no pets), very comfortable beds, well furnished and charming. The four self-catering apartments form the ground floor of a modern conversion of an old farmhouse which has been in the family for a very long time. Pasquale & Rosa live in a separate apartment on the first floor, so are always on hand if you need advice about anything. Nothing was too much trouble for them to make our stay as enjoyable as possible and Pasquale speaks excellent English. You do not have to chase a remote letting agent here if something goes wrong, as it will be sorted immediately. We had an excellent holiday.

Getting there: From Naples airport, we caught the hourly Autolinee Curreri coach outside the main terminal building for 10 Euros each one-way to Sorrento. You pay on the bus, which is the exception to the rule in this part of Italy (normally you have to buy tickets at a tobacconist/newsagent and timestamp them in the orange machine as you board the bus). The destination about 90 minutes later is the train station in Sorrento (which is where you also catch the same coach back to the airport at the end of your stay). We chose not to book a transfer to/from Sorrento through the airline as you will pay considerably more than 10 Euros for the privilege and a taxi cannot get you all the way to the apartment because the last 400 metres are up a narrow historic road.

Finding the apartment for the first time amongst the lemon groves is not easy, so it was pre-arranged that we call Pasquale on arrival in Sorrento to collect us and our luggage from the station. However, even his small Fiat is too wide to negotiate the last 100 metres and the only day it rained was on our arrival, so Pasquale helped us carry our luggage up the last stretch in a torrential downpour. Average fitness is required to walk up from the town and you will be in better condition by the end of the week if you walk into town each day. Yes, you will be passed by occasional scooters in the narrow section on the way up/down but they always hoot and the drivers of small cars were all patient and waited for us to walk past them or reach a passing point. Pasquale kindly gave us a lift with the baggage to the train station on our last day.

Recommended days out:
Sorrento: There are plentiful shops clustered around the very long high street (Via Corsa Italia) and in season most stay open all day although the small supermarkets close at 1300 and then reopen at 1600 to 2000 hrs. There are plenty of restaurants & cafes to eat out, especially in the old quarter of town and gorgeous views of the sea but no public beach.

Ischia: Allow 45 minutes to walk down to the harbour and buy tickets. Only one hydrofoil a day leaving Sorrento pier at 0930 hrs and returning at 1720hrs, so don’t miss it! The trip costs 40 Euros return and takes 60 minutes and was a pleasant crossing to Ischia Porto. Once there we bought tickets at the bus station by the big church for 2 Euros each way to La Mortella Gardens. Validate them in the orange machine as you board the CS1 or CS2 bus and get off when you see the “Welcome to Forio” town sign, then ask for directions on foot (short distance). Do check the website for La Mortella as they are only open 4 days a week up to the end of October. They are amongst the best gardens I have ever visited and the horticulture and plant choice is of a very high standard.

Amalfi Coast: Queue for the local blue SITA bus outside the train station after buying 24 hour return tickets at 7 Euros each from the newsagent there. Get a seat on the right hand side if you are lucky for stunning coastal views, but it is popular and the last people on have to stand for the journey. Positano is on a steep hillside so we went all the way to Amalfi which took 90 minutes, to find a beautiful cathedral and plenty of shops along tiny alleyways. Then we used the same tickets to catch another bus from the seafront terminus to go on to Ravello which is high above the coast and takes another 20 minutes. Villa Rufello (5 Euro entrance) and Villa Cimbrone (6 Euro entrance) are both a short walk from the bus stop at Ravello and both have world-famous panoramic viewpoints, although I found the number and variety of plants in their gardens disappointing compared to La Mortella on Ischia.

Pompeii: Buy your train tickets at the newsagent by the entrance to Sorrento train station. We bought two 4 Euro tickets each for the journey out and back which is more cost-effective than a 24 hour return. As you go through the turnstile to get onto the platform the ticket is timestamped for you. Sorrento is the terminus for the Circumvesuviana train so all trains go from there to Pompeii Scavi/Villa dei Misteri station. No toilets on the train, so visit the WC on the platform underpass before leaving Sorrento. Takes about half hour to get to Pompeii and there is a diagram of all the stops along the line in every carriage just like on the London Tube. There is also an electronic sign in every carriage of the name of the next stop and poster warnings about pickpockets onboard. When you get off at Pompeii Scavi, turn right and the entrance to Pompeii is 50 metres away. Entrance is 11 Euros, but you can opt to pay 20 Euros for a 3 day pass to also visit Herculaneum, Stabiae and two other sites if you want. We spent over 7 hours walking round Pompeii (although a guided tour takes 2 hours), which is utterly fascinating and we did not see all of it! Some of the houses are closed for ongoing restoration work and they seem to rotate access but there is still more than enough to see in a day. Do look out for the plaster moulds of the dead at various locations around the site.

Herculaneum: Take the Circumvesuviana train from Sorrento, also 4 Euros each way but about 40 minutes to get to Ercolano station. When you exit Ercolano station, turn right for 15 metres and then turn left down the main road for 500 metres leading to the ruins in the direction of the sea. The site has a great overview vantage point and is a fraction of the size of Pompeii but generally better preserved (covered beneath 20 metres of scalding mud, not layers of hot ash as at Pompeii). Some of the house walls are 2 or 3 stories high and some balconies have been preserved along with charred beams, window frames and even a charred bed. Some exquisite artwork survives there and reconstructed roofs to protect it from the elements. We spent 4 hours walking round but you could do it in 2.

Vico Equense: Take the Circumvesuviana train and get off about 5 stops along from Sorrento (tickets are just over 1 Euro each way) and ask for directions to the Museo Mineralogico Campano near the centre of this little town. Quite a small museum but it has outstanding exhibits (amazing minerals, mammoth hair, dinosaur eggs) and they were technical advisors for the film Jurassic Park due to their research into fossil DNA. We had a guided tour by the English-speaking Director and he let us handle lava bombs and agate geodes full of sloshing water – superb customer relations. The Tourist Information Centre about 100 metres away has the very best selection of free English language booklets and staff on duty spoke excellent English – very helpful and friendly.

Tips:
1. Avoid Capri on weekends otherwise you will rub shoulders with countless thousands of visitors and take over an hour queuing to get out of the port for a bus to Anacapri like we did. The buses from the port are few and far between (tinned sardines have more space than the standing passengers crammed into each one), but the white open-top luxury taxis are very plentiful if you can afford them. The hydrofoil from Sorrento costs 35 Euros return and the round-the-island boat trip with Laser Capri was good value for an extra 16 Euros each, but you can spend serious money on a day trip to Capri.
2. Midges were a minor irritation throughout the whole of Sorrento during our stay (Sept 2012) after comparing notes with other Brits on the flight home. However, the windows of Pasquale’s apartments were fitted with insect screens to keep them out.
3. Naples is a very busy, crowded place and best avoided unless you are really keen on museums - but we visited the Museo Archeologico Nazionale which houses the finest pieces from Pompeii and it was amazing.
Thank you Pasquale for helping us have a marvelous holiday.
MartinS & Family

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thanks for your very detailed review about your stay in Sorrento and Casale Nunziatina . Apartment GARDENIA. It will be very helpful for the other readers.Rosa and myself are very pleased to meet you and we look foreward to see you again in future.
Thanks again
Pasquale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Hello,,
You can go for it without any doubt!!! click it~ but only these people.
- Looking for extra-comfort
- Looking for crystal clear clearness
- Looking for very very safe place whatever happen around
- Don't want to put any tiny weight for eating super delicious Italian food.
(Actually you need a little walk from main street after eating, swimming, shopping or whatsoever. But My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our promenade along this exotic italian alley..)

Whatelse more to say.. try!

Room Tip: If you love books, ask them for room 'Rosa'
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aliamex y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hi , great hearing from you . A pleasure to accommodate you and your boyfriend. We are happy you liked the apartment ROSA. Looking foreward to see you again.
Ciao
Pasquale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My first visit to Casale Nunziatina for 18 months, and it is
just as I remember it. Pasquale and Rosa are very kind,
helpful hosts, and did everything they could to make the
stay perfect for us. The apartment is beautiful, clean and
comfortable, the garden is beautiful. We will definitely be
going back

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barafundler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thanks Sarah , for taking your time to write a kind review for Casale Nunziatina. We have been pleased to meet you and your friend. We do hope your return at home has been safe and and we look foreward to meet you again at Casale Nunziatina.
Ciao
Pasquale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Myself and one other friend stayed with Pasquale and Rosa in the summer at Casale Nunziatina and we loved it! The Rosa apartment was clean and spacious with a well equipped kitchen and a lovely outside area to relax, eat and enjoy the garden. Sorrento is only just down the hill, and the supermarket is very close. As you walk to Casale Nunziatina along a narrow pathway surrounded by Italian houses, fruit trees and wonderful sea views you get the feel you're on a real Italian getaway. Absolute Perfection!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thanks for your review.
Looking foreward to meet you again.
Pasquale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.6 mi away
Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio
1.1 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,350 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
540 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,106 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Casale Nunziatina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Casale Nunziatina

Property: Residence Casale Nunziatina
Address: Via San Valerio 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Residence Casale Nunziatina 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Casale Nunziatina has three double room apartments with kitchen and all the utensils for selfcatering including oven and frigo.Internal bathroom. The three apartments can accommodate 3,4,5 guests. We have also a (large ) single room apartment with cooking area and bathroom. It is ideal for two persons. All the apartments has air conditioning and heating. 300 square meters of gardean with tables, chairs , umbrellas where you can have the meals or just relaxing. The owners are living in the same building and always at hand to provide any kind of informations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Residence Casale Nunziatina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing