We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Villa Giovanna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Giovanna
Ranked #68 of 142 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel is ideally located away from the traffic of Sorento, on a hill in a middle of lemon trees. Our room has a fantastic view on Sorrento bay and the room was very clean and had everything we needed. The prices usually in Sorrento are high and the prices for Villa Giovanna was very reasonable and we felt very welcomed. The breakfast was of good quality with loads of different choices and items varying every day

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aurelie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for Villa Giovanna
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 168 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

Sorrento is not a cheap place for accommodation so we ended up here as we needed 2 rooms for our family of 4. We stayed for 4 nights.
This place is near impossible to find - you go to the Johanna Hotel and get directions to drive down the road a bit - but you will not find a sign with a hotel name or an address anywhere. Frustrating to waste a bunch of time searching for your hotel when you have just driven through Sorrento (a nightmare in its own right).
When we checked in, we got rooms, not side by side as requested, and our kids' room smelled very musty. The night person was very friendly and helpful but the manager he called did not offer a room better than a similar room with a double bed (not 2 twins). Usually when a place makes a mistake they upgrade you, but not this one. We also asked why the hotel's website provided a higher rate than Booking.com (which we only looked at to try and get directions to our missing hotel) and they gave some lame excuse. After 2 nights, they moved our kids to a better room that still smelled a bit musty but had 2 twin beds. At the end of the day, even with the room downgrade, they did not offer a discount.
Our rooms were supposed to have bar fridges and we had to ask several times, even though they said one would be delivered soon. We only got a fridge when our kids were moved to a new room that had a fridge in it already.
The rooms are not particularly clean - cobwebs, dirt in the corners, chipped plaster, bidet did not work properly - but the beds were clean and the bathrooms were fine. We fully participate in the don't wash towels unnecessarily routine, but when our towels were soaking wet and left in the tub for replacement, they were not changed. This was the only place we stayed in our 3.5 weeks in Italy that was not up to cleanliness standards.
The shower flooded the bathroom floor, which would have been ok if the drain was functional in the floor.
Breakfast was the saving grace with an energetic cook making eggs and bacon or omelettes or whatever you wanted and a pretty good spread of typical Italian foods. We were dismayed at the lack of fruit, however, as it was readily available and local (we bought lots at the local stores).
The pool is a micro dipping pool but sitting by it and looking out at the view was relaxing.
It is a 15 minute walk to Sorrento via the trail and a sweaty 20 minute walk back.
We were surprised at the number of people burning vegetation as there was lots of smoke in the air and it really diminished the view and enjoyability of the area.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel. Watch for musty rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WithFamilyWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We booked this two weeks before we went so got a good deal, but still weren't expecting it to be half as good as it was! It's in the same bit of land as Johanna Park Hotel, which you can get regular buses to from the town centre, taking ten minutes or so. Staff couldn't have been more friendly and it had the most stunning view over a lemon grove, straight over the bay. The room's were very clean and comfortable as well as being nicely decorated, with tons of character. It had an infinity pool which looked lovely but unfortunately it being early April wasn't quite warm enough for us to brave it! It was in a very ideal location for Sorrento and had a direct train link to pompeii which was handy for us. We are planning to go back at some point and would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seasidebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here as a family in July we found this hotel to be good value, clean and friendly, it has a nice small pool and is located next to Hotel Johanna and they have a shuttle bus that gets you in to Sorrento for free they also own a great restaurant in Sorrento called La Tavola di Lucullo which I would highly recommend visiting.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

During our recent trip to Sorrento we were looking for a small villa, an affordable place that would have the Mediterranean atmosphere with great service. We found this at Villa Giovanna. A small villa on the hills around Sorrento. Relatively close to Sorrento via a bus. The bus stop is right outside the Villa. The rooms were great in size and decor. Air conditioning worked great, which is a MUST in the summer months. The staff was very helpful. They all spoke English. Ricardo, the night staff was very friendly and helpful, he even gave us bus tickets to ride into town! Karla the owner's daughter, a beautiful Italian young lady was very kind to point us where to eat in town. I loved walking around the villa with the beautiful setting on the hill side. Bright flowers decorate the outdoors. The small swimming pool was very refreshing after a long HOT day around the area. Highly recommended, specially from the price stand point and what it offers. The view of the bay is limited, but it did not matter to us.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elyuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Tucked away on a hillside above Sorrento it's a good idea to do some research into the location of Villa Giovanna before you arrive. I agree with other comments that it's best to take the bus to the Johanna Park Hotel (50 metres gentle slope up from Giovanna). The room was spacious and cool with a beautiful view to the front. Breakfast was a selection of meats (hot and cold) cheeses, bread and croissants etc. Friendly helpful service. 20-25 minute walk to Sorrento.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sjk256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We spent over an hour trying to find this hotel, the address doesn't exist and there were no signs from the road. Once we found it, I guess it was ok. The rooms appeared to be half finished and the breakfast was ok.
I think there are other places to stay in Sorrento that would be better

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L88London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio
0.6 mi away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#81 of 100 in Sorrento
96 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dania
Hotel Dania
#87 of 100 in Sorrento
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Britannia
Hotel Britannia
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
142 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casale Antonietta
Casale Antonietta
#34 of 142 in Sorrento
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Giovanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Giovanna

Address: Via Nastro Verde 23/C, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range: $73 - $505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Giovanna 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Giovanna is immersed in tranquility,surrounded by lemons and ancient olive grove.All rooms are comfortably furnished..a/c,wc,sat tv,bar.A great sea wiew,pool and good food! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Giovanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Giovanna Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing