We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Il Buco

Ristorante Il Buco
Ranked #17 of 271 Restaurants in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kildare
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stumbled upon this restaurant by accident during our trip to Sorrento! Needless to say the first night we ate here we weren't dressed as well as we should have been! The restaurant is located in a kind of arch or alcove! We sat outside as the weather was lovely at night. We both ordered the scallops to start and they were cooked to perfection - just amazing! I would definitely recommend anyone going there to try them! Everything was just gorgeous - ministrone soup, steak, desserts and even the little breads! A singer came in during our meal and entertained everyone in the restaurant to add to the beautiful atmosphere of the place. It's expensive but you won't regret splashing out!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank LilyN87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,082
    269
    115
    60
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The atmosphere at Il Buco was unique and the food was okay. I wouldn't order the wine pairing dinner again, especially since we had just received our apertif drink when the first course was served. They apologized and all was well but nothing was done to make up for the wine that came later and was supposed to be "paired" with the first course but was not received until the next course. Also, the fish was overcooked and very dry. Not sure if it was an off-night but when paying $175 for 2 people, you would expect more.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cooksforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Great aperativos.. Excellent service.. Great gourmet food.. Huge wine list but easy to choose from with the proper recommendations.. One of the best restaurants we have been so far.. Not cheap but I guess it's worth it..

Helpful?
Thank UmurGuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Quite simply the best meal I've ever had!

The restaurant is beautiful, the staff were impeccable and the food was out of this world!

The wine menu was a bit daunting, it's like reading a novel... but with the help of our waiter we chose some great wine to compliment our food.

All courses (and there were many) were outstanding but the dessert was the best I've ever had. Dark chocolate tart with white chocolate dressing, pear jelly and a chocolate wafer straw. Sounds simple but tasted gorgeous!

It wasn't the cheapest meal, but it was worth every cent. I can't wait to go back!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank bartonhouse555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, Excellent service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

fancy/expensive... Great pasta and fried cheese... Also had good cod salad. The rest of the meal was just OK. Double to triple the price of other (tastier) restaurants in the same city. Nice if you want to splurge for one night. Would recommend to others with the cautions mentioned here.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Il Buco also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Ristorante Il Buco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing